Research Guides: eAccess Troubleshooting Guide: In General

Issues and Interventions

When you try to access to any of the databases, this message will appear:

From Alma, check if the email address is still active? If the account is no longer active, user will not be able to access to any of the database. Case closed.

If Alma record shows that the account is still active, check if the user is belong to the following group:

Group	Remarks
Alumni	Alumni can only access to selective eResources via T17 at LKS Library level 3. If user tried to login from a personal laptop or any other terminal, user will see this error message. For a list of databases that Alumni can access, please click here.
Graduating students	Usually for students who are graduating, their accounts may expire 1 week before the expiry date shown in Alma record. If the graduating student still needs to access databases, they can check with their school admin and request for extension which will be subjected to their school's approval.
New students / staff / faculty	For new students, once they have activated their new accounts, it will take another 2-3 working days for IITS to activate their account in order to access to library e-resources. For new staff and faculty, if their account is still not activated after they have started work 2-3 days, please email to library@smu.edu.sg directly for assistance.
Contract or temp staff	Please email to library@smu.edu.sg for help as it could be due to policy restriction.

When you try to access to any of the databases, this message will appear:

This message will appear when user is no longer active in SMU, therefore, Single Sign-On (SSO) failed at the point of authentication. If you believe this is an error or user is still active, please write in to library@smu.edu.sg to request for investigation.

If the user trying to access to any of the databases but see the following message instead:

"We are sorry, unfortunately your access has been suspended, this may be due to unintentional excessive data usage. Please contact the library to have your access restored."

Please contact Dino for help directly. The user account has been blocked from using our databases due to possible massive downloading or using multiple IP addresses to access our databases within a short period of time.

Usually this error cannot be replicated; only the user who feedback will keep getting this error message but not others who are using another laptop.

Try to clear "cache and cookies" or use "Private Mode". If still unable to solve the problem, try another browser.

This message appears when you are trying to access our library website at library.smu.edu.sg:

Please try again a few minutes later. Your IP address might be having some issue and was blocked temporary.