Research Data Sources: Country

CEIC Database provides time series data for the economy, industrial, finance, real estate, tourism, telecommunication and transport sectors for more than 200 countries in the world, with in-depth data for China and India.

Access: 9 concurrent users only. Remember to click LOGOUT in the menu bar when you are done.

MarketLine Advantage offers a large collection of reports and data. The content includes case studies, reports on countries, industries and companies, company news and financial deals. The Country Statistics database provides historical and forecasted macro/socio-economic and demographic data. The Market Data Analytics database contains data on various fast-moving consumer goods and includes brand share, company share, distribution channels, consumer graphics and market value/volume.

This database provides access to development indicators from the World Bank with time series data for over 220 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. The data is provided free by the World bank w.e.f 1 July 2010.

Bloomberg provides real-time and historical pricing, indicative and fundamental data, charts and graphs on different topics, customized analytics, and market news. Use this database to obtain financial and business information, including real-time and intra-day data.

Booking instructions: Book a terminal here and use the corresponding Bloomberg computer in the Investment & Data Studio at Level 3. Limited to one booking per user per day.
Login Instructions: Click on the Bloomberg icon on the desktop and login using the Bloomberg login ID & PW. Optional: Create an individual Bloomberg account.
Guides: How do I use Bloomberg, FAQs and Bloomberg Market Concepts.

Important Note: Bloomberg has ceased its extended temporary remote access service with effect from 30 June 2022. For access to Bloomberg, please visit the Investment & Data Studio.

Datastream is a financial and economic database of Refinitiv. It provides current and historical time series data on equities, bonds, indices, unit trusts, investment trusts, bonds, exchange rates, interest rates, commodities, derivatives, and economic data.

Access via Datastream alternatively via WRDS (you will need a WRDS account).

Booking instructions: Book an Eikon terminal here and use the corresponding Eikon computer in the Investment & Data Studio at Level 3. Limited to one booking per user per day.
Login instructions: Step 1 > Click the Eikon icon on the desktop and wait for the login details to load automatically. DO NOT click on the login area. Step 2 > At Excel, install the Datastream Excel add-on to access Datastream.
Guides: How do I install Datastream.

Eikon provides real-time and historical pricing, charts and graphs, customized analytics, and market news on markets such as equities, commodities, fixed income, forex.

Booking instructions: Book a terminal here and use the corresponding Eikon computer in the Investment & Data Studio at Level 3. Limited to one booking per user per day.
Login instructions: Click on the Eikon icon on the desktop and wait for the login details to load automatically. DO NOT click on the login area.
Guides: How do I use Eikon.

Sustainalytics is a leading independent provider of material environmental, social and corporate governance (ESG) ratings to investors. It provides comprehensive assessment of a company’s ESG performance within four dimensions, including preparedness, disclosure, quantitative performance and qualitative performance.

Registration is required for access to WRDS.
For undergraduates, please register for Day Pass access with your SMU email.
For faculty, staff and postgraduates, register for your individual account.

CEIC Database provides time series data for the economy, industrial, finance, real estate, tourism, telecommunication and transport sectors for more than 200 countries in the world, with in-depth data for China and India.

Access: 9 concurrent users only. Remember to click LOGOUT in the menu bar when you are done.

MarketLine Advantage offers a large collection of reports and data. The content includes case studies, reports on countries, industries and companies, company news and financial deals. The Country Statistics database provides historical and forecasted macro/socio-economic and demographic data. The Market Data Analytics database contains data on various fast-moving consumer goods and includes brand share, company share, distribution channels, consumer graphics and market value/volume.

Passport, previously known as GMID, is produced by Euromonitor. It is an integrated database providing key business intelligence on countries, markets, and consumers. It focuses on fast moving consumer goods and provides users with historical statistics, forecasts, analysis of consumer lifestyles, brand and company information, and full-text market analysis. Guide on How Do I use Passport is available.

MarketLine Advantage offers a large collection of reports and data. The content includes case studies, reports on countries, industries and companies, company news and financial deals. The Country Statistics database provides historical and forecasted macro/socio-economic and demographic data. The Market Data Analytics database contains data on various fast-moving consumer goods and includes brand share, company share, distribution channels, consumer graphics and market value/volume.

CEIC Database provides time series data for the economy, industrial, finance, real estate, tourism, telecommunication and transport sectors for more than 200 countries in the world, with in-depth data for China and India.

Access: 9 concurrent users only. Remember to click LOGOUT in the menu bar when you are done.

Datastream is a financial and economic database of Refinitiv. It provides current and historical time series data on equities, bonds, indices, unit trusts, investment trusts, bonds, exchange rates, interest rates, commodities, derivatives, and economic data.

Access via Datastream alternatively via WRDS (you will need a WRDS account).

Booking instructions: Book an Eikon terminal here and use the corresponding Eikon computer in the Investment & Data Studio at Level 3. Limited to one booking per user per day.
Login instructions: Step 1 > Click the Eikon icon on the desktop and wait for the login details to load automatically. DO NOT click on the login area. Step 2 > At Excel, install the Datastream Excel add-on to access Datastream.
Guides: How do I install Datastream.

This is the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development's (OECD) online portal of aggregated information from its various publications, including books and journals for the following subscribed themes: Economics, Development, Education, Industry and Services, Social Issues/ Migration/Health. Most of the other content can be read online. To find non-OECD information, try a keyword search.

Passport, previously known as GMID, is produced by Euromonitor. It is an integrated database providing key business intelligence on countries, markets, and consumers. It focuses on fast moving consumer goods and provides users with historical statistics, forecasts, analysis of consumer lifestyles, brand and company information, and full-text market analysis. Guide on How Do I use Passport is available.

Passport, previously known as GMID, is produced by Euromonitor. It is an integrated database providing key business intelligence on countries, markets, and consumers. It focuses on fast moving consumer goods and provides users with historical statistics, forecasts, analysis of consumer lifestyles, brand and company information, and full-text market analysis. Guide on How Do I use Passport is available.

CEIC Database provides time series data for the economy, industrial, finance, real estate, tourism, telecommunication and transport sectors for more than 200 countries in the world, with in-depth data for China and India.

Access: 9 concurrent users only. Remember to click LOGOUT in the menu bar when you are done.

MarketLine Advantage offers a large collection of reports and data. The content includes case studies, reports on countries, industries and companies, company news and financial deals. The Country Statistics database provides historical and forecasted macro/socio-economic and demographic data. The Market Data Analytics database contains data on various fast-moving consumer goods and includes brand share, company share, distribution channels, consumer graphics and market value/volume.

Passport, previously known as GMID, is produced by Euromonitor. It is an integrated database providing key business intelligence on countries, markets, and consumers. It focuses on fast moving consumer goods and provides users with historical statistics, forecasts, analysis of consumer lifestyles, brand and company information, and full-text market analysis. Guide on How Do I use Passport is available.

Bloomberg provides real-time and historical pricing, indicative and fundamental data, charts and graphs on different topics, customized analytics, and market news. Use this database to obtain financial and business information, including real-time and intra-day data.

Booking instructions: Book a terminal here and use the corresponding Bloomberg computer in the Investment & Data Studio at Level 3. Limited to one booking per user per day.
Login Instructions: Click on the Bloomberg icon on the desktop and login using the Bloomberg login ID & PW. Optional: Create an individual Bloomberg account.
Guides: How do I use Bloomberg, FAQs and Bloomberg Market Concepts.

Important Note: Bloomberg has ceased its extended temporary remote access service with effect from 30 June 2022. For access to Bloomberg, please visit the Investment & Data Studio.

MarketLine Advantage offers a large collection of reports and data. The content includes case studies, reports on countries, industries and companies, company news and financial deals. The Country Statistics database provides historical and forecasted macro/socio-economic and demographic data. The Market Data Analytics database contains data on various fast-moving consumer goods and includes brand share, company share, distribution channels, consumer graphics and market value/volume.

Passport, previously known as GMID, is produced by Euromonitor. It is an integrated database providing key business intelligence on countries, markets, and consumers. It focuses on fast moving consumer goods and provides users with historical statistics, forecasts, analysis of consumer lifestyles, brand and company information, and full-text market analysis. Guide on How Do I use Passport is available.

CEIC Database provides time series data for the economy, industrial, finance, real estate, tourism, telecommunication and transport sectors for more than 200 countries in the world, with in-depth data for China and India.

Access: 9 concurrent users only. Remember to click LOGOUT in the menu bar when you are done.

Datastream is a financial and economic database of Refinitiv. It provides current and historical time series data on equities, bonds, indices, unit trusts, investment trusts, bonds, exchange rates, interest rates, commodities, derivatives, and economic data.

Access via Datastream alternatively via WRDS (you will need a WRDS account).

Booking instructions: Book an Eikon terminal here and use the corresponding Eikon computer in the Investment & Data Studio at Level 3. Limited to one booking per user per day.
Login instructions: Step 1 > Click the Eikon icon on the desktop and wait for the login details to load automatically. DO NOT click on the login area. Step 2 > At Excel, install the Datastream Excel add-on to access Datastream.
Guides: How do I install Datastream.

FactSet provides data and analytics for global financial and economic markets. Use FactSet to access news and quotes, company and industry analysis and reports, screening features, and tools to analyze securities and portfolios.

Booking instructions: Book a terminal here and access the Investment & Data Studio FactSet terminal. Limited to one booking per user per day.
Login instructions: Click on the FactSet icon on the desktop and wait for the application to load automatically.
Guides: How do I use FactSet.

CEIC Database provides time series data for the economy, industrial, finance, real estate, tourism, telecommunication and transport sectors for more than 200 countries in the world, with in-depth data for China and India.

Access: 9 concurrent users only. Remember to click LOGOUT in the menu bar when you are done.

MarketLine Advantage offers a large collection of reports and data. The content includes case studies, reports on countries, industries and companies, company news and financial deals. The Country Statistics database provides historical and forecasted macro/socio-economic and demographic data. The Market Data Analytics database contains data on various fast-moving consumer goods and includes brand share, company share, distribution channels, consumer graphics and market value/volume.

Passport, previously known as GMID, is produced by Euromonitor. It is an integrated database providing key business intelligence on countries, markets, and consumers. It focuses on fast moving consumer goods and provides users with historical statistics, forecasts, analysis of consumer lifestyles, brand and company information, and full-text market analysis. Guide on How Do I use Passport is available.

MarketLine Advantage offers a large collection of reports and data. The content includes case studies, reports on countries, industries and companies, company news and financial deals. The Country Statistics database provides historical and forecasted macro/socio-economic and demographic data. The Market Data Analytics database contains data on various fast-moving consumer goods and includes brand share, company share, distribution channels, consumer graphics and market value/volume.

This is a labour statistics database of the International Labour Office (ILO). It contains time series data for over 200 countries on Employment, Unemployment, Hours of Work, Wages, Labour Cost, Consumer Price Indices, Occupational Injuries, Strikes and Lockouts, Household Income and Expenditure and International Labour Migration. This database includes projections up to 2030.