Research Guides: Research and Publishing Support: Author ID

Unique Author IDs

ORCID
ORCID provides a persistent and unique identifier for researchers to use with their name as they engage in research and scholarship activities. ORCID is adopted by a wide range of publishers, funders and institutions, and can be used when submitting a paper to a journal, in citation databases such as Web of Science and Scopus to pull together the citations to your publications.
Web of Science Researcher Profiles
Create a Web of Science Researcher Profile allows you to view Citation Metrics which includes h-index based on your publications in Web of Science. It can be synced with ORCID to save time in updating multiple profiles.
Scopus Author ID
Scopus provides a unique identifier number for authors who have publications in the database. Click on Search then Authors to enter the name and find the author ID. The Scopus Author profile shows your publications, their citations, h-index based on publications found in Scopus. You can link ORCID with your Scopus profile.

Benefits of Unique Author Identifier

Accurate identification:

A system-generated unique identifier ensures your work is correctly attributed to you
Provides a way for you to list all your works in one place
Find your colleagues' work easily

Organize and Manage:

Manage your publications list and professional profile online
Make your body of work easy for others to find
Listing previous institutions in your profile helps others find you as you move throughout your career

Increase Visibility & Recognition:

Include your unique author identifier number in your email signature, CV, web pages

Measure Performance:

View metrics like times cited counts and H-index quantify your research impact
Use citing articles to show the reach of your work

Collaboration:

Searching keywords can help you find researchers in your specific field or line of interest to work with
View other researchers’ citing articles to find others in your field you may want to work with
A multi-disciplinary community online fosters collaboration around the world

How to Create an ORCID

Go to ORCID at https://orcid.org/register

Enter your name, email address and create a password.

Click on the verification email sent to your email address.

Your ORCID is created!

Next go to IRIS and connect IRIS to your ORCID and get your publications updated automatically. See Guide.

Open Researcher and Contributor ID (ORCID)

ORCID provides an identifier for individuals to use with their name as they engage in research, scholarship, and innovation activities. ORCID provides open tools that enable transparent and trustworthy connections between researchers, their contributions, and affiliations. We provide this service to help people find information and to simplify reporting and analysis.

ORCID’s vision is a world where all who participate in research, scholarship, and innovation are uniquely identified and connected to their contributions across disciplines, borders, and time..

More information on ORCID available.