Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The use of electronic resources must comply with the Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy and Singapore Management University Acceptable Use Policy
Check these tools to get suggestions on journals to submit your article:
What are the journals in a subject area?
Check these tools for journals in a particular subject area or category:
Journal Citation Reports
Use this tool to evaluate the impact and influence of journals indexed by Web of Science. In Journal Citation Reports, you can view the high impact journals and the frequently cited journals in a subject category for Science and Social Sciences edition.
SCImago Journal & Country Rank
The open access SCImago Journal & Country Rank (SJR) is a portal for journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus database. It covers over 20,000 journals and over 230 countries.
Scopus Journal Metrics
This free resource gives CiteScore metrics for publications included in Scopus covering over 22,000 titles.
Looking for a publisher for your book? You might consider Wiley, Springer, SAGE, Oxford University Press, Palgrave, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Emerald.
How to get published in an academic journal: Top tips from editors. Guardian, 2015 January 3.
Robbins, S. P., et al. (2016). Publish, don’t perish!: Strategies for getting published in peer reviewed journals. Social Work Education, 35 (5), 487-494. https://doi.org/10.1080/02615479.2016.1188459
McDonnell, M. J., & Pickett, S. T. A. (2018). 10 tips for getting your journal article published. OUP Blog, February 18.
Harnad, S. (2006) Publish or perish - self archive to flourish: The green route to open access. ERCIM News No. 64 January.
Swan, A. (2012). Open Access: Impact for Researchers, Universities and Society.
Open Access Publishing
Open Access is a term used to describe electronic content that a reader can access free of charge. Open Access publications available online would include articles, preprints, conference papers, working papers, theses, books and book chapters. There are different types of Open Access:
- Green - the author can self-archive at the time of submission of the publication in an institutional repository or post it on a website. The publication can be a peer-reviewed journal publication, a peer-reviewed conference proceedings paper, grey literature (usually internal non-peer reviewed), or a monograph. The version of the publication can be the published article, author final version or pre-print (before peer review).
- Gold - the author or the author's institution can pay to publish in journals to provide free, immediate access to the articles via publisher websites
- Hybrid - authors pay an up-front fee to provide open access to their articles on journal web sites. Access to other articles in the same journal may be limited to subscribers.
Benefits of Open Access Publishing
The benefits of Open Access (OA) include:
- Increased visibility, usage and impact. If there is no open access, the only way to see academic work is to pay for subscriptions to journals or to pay for an individual article at a publisher's website. This effectively restricts access to the minority who can afford to pay for access in these ways. Thus researchers gain from the increased usage and impact of their works. The institutions of the authors also benfit from the aggregated usage and impact of their researchers and the increased presence brought by Open Access. Society also benfits from better technology transfer, better diffusion of know-how and a better-informed public.
- Links : It is possible to crosslink the publication to any research datasets and software used in producing the paper. This improves the research process by allowing other researchers to examine in depth the published work and validate or contradict the conclusions.
- Access: In the case of non-OA electronic publishing, a researcher has to access separately the databases of publications of each publisher to obtain information. For "green" open access the OAI-PMH (Open Access Initiative - Protocol for Metadata Harvesting) facility links OA repositories so that all repositories obeying the protocol can be harvested and their contents are available freely.
Provides a searchable database of publishers’ copyright and self archiving policies for pre-prints, post-prints and publisher version.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks)
OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks) promotes and supports the transition to open access for academic books by providing open infrastructure services to stakeholders in scholarly communication. We work with publishers to build a quality-controlled collection of open access books and provide services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of hosting, deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.