It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research and Publishing Support: Citation Count
Research guide for information resources on citation count, journal impact, author identification, publishing, rankings and statistical analysis of publications
A citation count refers to the number of times a research work such as a journal article is cited by other works. It is considered as a reflection on the quality of the work, the assumption being that important or influential works will be cited more often than others.
An increasing number of databases include the citation count, a select list is given below. However, one needs to be aware that this count is not a true number of the times an article is cited because the citing article must be in the database for counts to be accurate.
Covers comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-government organizations and political theory. See a sample record with Times Cited in This Database.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It covers many titles in the areas of Science, Social Sciences, Computer Science, and Technology. It includes peer-review journals, trade magazines, conference proceedings, books and book chapters from 1996 and selected data prior to 1995.
SciVal can be used to view research performance and to benchmark with peers and peer institutions, using a range of metrics. You need to register for an account to use SciVal. The data for the metrics in SciVal comes from Scopus.
Use this database to identify highly cited articles in a subject area and authors who cite a specific article. Use it to search for articles using keyword and even by institution name.
Web of Science includes Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1900), Science Citation Index (from 1965), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 2008), and Book Citation Index (2005-2018)
Google Scholar tracks the number of times an article is cited in their wide range of publications included. Login with your SMU email account and follow the steps complete your profile and to include your publications. Do check the publications related to your profile. A citation report is then created.