Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The use of electronic resources must comply with the Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy and Singapore Management University Acceptable Use Policy
Journal Impact Factor
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) provide quantitative tools for ranking, evaluating, categorizing and comparing journals. The journal impact factor (JIF) calculated in JCR is one measure of the frequency with which the "average article" in a journal has been cited in a particular year or period. When viewing the record for a journal in JCR, the details of the derivation of the journal impact factor and other metrics are shown.
Use JCR to find out the journals in your subject area which have the high impact and view the other metrics available e.g. total cites and immediacy index.
Applications of Journal Impact Factor
Applications of journal impact factor include:
- Academic Evaluation
The impact factor can be used to provide a gross approximation of the prestige of journals in which individuals have been published. This should be done in conjunction with other considerations such as peer review, productivity and subject specialty citation rates.
- Management of Library Journal Collections
The impact factor provides the library administrator with information about journals already in the collection and journals under consideration for subscription
- Market Research for Publishers and Others
The impact factor provides quantitative evidence for editors and publishers for positioning their journals in relation to the competiton - especially in the same subject category. The data may also be useful to advertisers who are interested in evaluating the potential of a specific journal.
Database for Journal Impact Factor
Journal Citation Reports
Use this tool to evaluate the impact and influence of journals indexed by Web of Science. In Journal Citation Reports, you can view the high impact journals and the frequently cited journals in a subject category for Science and Social Sciences edition.
Free Journal Impact Sources
SCImago Journal & Country Rank
The open access SCImago Journal & Country Rank (SJR) is a portal for journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus database. It covers over 20,000 journals and over 230 countries.
Newly introduced in 2016, CiteScore is a free tool based on data from Scopus for more than 22,000 journal titles. The score is calculated based on a 3-year window and data is updated monthly. CiteScore includes more document types such as letters, editorials and conference papers. It provides metrics for conferences, and not just journals.
More Journal Ranking Sources