Research Guides: Company and Industry Research: Financial Information and Others

Company Financial and Other Analyses

The following databases offer company details and their financial information. Databases such as Capital IQ can provide:

Financial statement
Stock performance and volume
Valuation and estimates
Business segments
Company ownerships
Investor activism
M&A details
IPO details
and many more

Some databases such as MarketLine provide company-level SWOT analysis, others like CrunchBase will give details of investments size (funding) for start-ups.

Company Financial (Peer Comparison) Analysis by Orbis.

Emerging Markets Information Service
Access this database for company and industry information, macroeconomic analysis, financial markets data, merges and acquisitions, forecasts and news for over 70 countries in Asia, Australia, Europe, Latin America, Africa & the Middle East. Includes some information on private companies. Many news sources are in the local language. It also contains some analyst reports.
Capital IQ
S&P Capital IQ is a web-based platform that has private and public company information, executive profiles, industry analysis, basic commodities information, economic data, historical and future estimates, and a screening function to create lists of companies/people using various criteria.
If you encounter any issues with running the Excel Plug-In please run the batch file again.
MarketLine Advantage
MarketLine Advantage offers a large collection of reports and data. The content includes case studies, reports on countries, industries and companies, company news and financial deals. The Country Statistics database provides historical and forecasted macro/socio-economic and demographic data. The Market Data Analytics database contains data on various fast-moving consumer goods and includes brand share, company share, distribution channels, consumer graphics and market value/volume.
Crunchbase
Crunchbase is a platform for finding business information about private and public companies. Crunchbase information includes investments and funding information, founding members and individuals in leadership positions, mergers and acquisitions, news, and industry trends.

To access this database, please fill up this form -- https://forms.office.com/r/ksXauSGNAu for the login details.
Do not re-use login details as these will be periodically refreshed.
Attempts to login in with the wrong login details will lead to locked account for 24hours.
Bloomberg Professional Services
Bloomberg provides real-time and historical pricing, indicative and fundamental data, charts and graphs on different topics, customized analytics, and market news. Use this database to obtain financial and business information, including real-time and intra-day data.

Booking instructions: Book a terminal here and use the corresponding Bloomberg computer in the Investment & Data Studio at Level 3. Limited to one booking per user per day.
Login Instructions: Click on the Bloomberg icon on the desktop and login using the Bloomberg login ID & PW. Optional: Create an individual Bloomberg account.
Guides: How do I use Bloomberg, FAQs and Bloomberg Market Concepts.

Important Note: Bloomberg has ceased its extended temporary remote access service with effect from 30 June 2022. For access to Bloomberg, please visit the Investment & Data Studio.
Orbis
Use Orbis to find, analyse and compare over 400 million public and private companies. The database also contains industry research, financials and corporate ownership information.
Orbis is also now available from the WRDS platform.
How do I filter/search for private companies?
Search by: Official > Standardised Legal Form