Research Guides: Company and Industry Research: Databases for Industry Research

Industry Research

Industry research can feel overwhelming at first - with countless data sources, varying perspectives, and rapidly changing market conditions to navigate.

Effective industry research draws from multiple complementary sources, each offering unique insights:

Analyst reports provide expert interpretations and forecasts, while news and articles capture real-time developments and emerging trends. Company data reveals competitive positioning and performance metrics, and country business regulations help identify regulatory risks and opportunities. Economic indicators and financial markets data illuminate broader forces shaping industry dynamics, while market research uncovers consumer behavior trends and lifestyle shifts that drive demand.

The databases listed in our "Relevant Databases for Industry + Market Research" tab below are specifically curated to provide access to all these essential information types in one streamlined research process. This is because when you search for Industry data and insights, you'd also come across Market data and insights. (Difference between Industry and Market research). You may be required to hunt them across databases, but that's how it is!

Relevant Databases for Industry + Market Research

EIU Viewpoint
EIU Viewpoint is a macroeconomic analysis and data platform which helps to assess global dynamics that could impact business with insights into a country’s geopolitics, policies, industries, business environment and economic outlook. Data spans from 1980s to 2050 for nearly 80 countries globally as well as coverage of over 26 sectors across 6 major industries (e.g. financial services, healthcare, telecommunications & technology) and 25 core commodities (e.g. gold, nickel, crude oil, rice, coffee).

Fitch Connect
Use Fitch Connect (formerly Business Monitor International (BMI) Research) to locate SWOT analysis, risk/reward ratings, macroeconomic forecasts and brief company profiles for countries in Asia and the Middle East. Service categories include amongst others: Pharmaceuticals & Healthcare, Food & Drink, Consumer Electronics, Banking, Infrastructure, Oil & Gas, Transport, Travel and Tourism, Retail, Telecommunications and Commodities. Use the data and forecast feature to compare geographies and indicators to perform analysis and generate charts.

When you are at the landing page, select either module based on the information you want.
Fitch ratings Pro - Credit research and insights across various sectors and industries, except fundamental data.
BMI - Country risk and industry analysis focusing on macroeconomic, political, industry and operational insights

Emerging Markets Information Service
Access this database for company and industry information, macroeconomic analysis, financial markets data, merges and acquisitions, forecasts and news for over 70 countries in Asia, Australia, Europe, Latin America, Africa & the Middle East. Includes some information on private companies. Many news sources are in the local language. It also contains some analyst reports.

J.P. Morgan Research
This database features thousands of analyst reports covering over 3,000 global companies and all industries. Reports cover equities and company performance, global and regional economics and financial strategy, foreign exchange, commodities, liquidity, and emerging markets. Coverage is from 2011 onwards, with a one week embargo.

Bloomberg Professional Services
Bloomberg provides real-time and historical pricing, indicative and fundamental data, charts and graphs on different topics, customized analytics, and market news. Use this database to obtain financial and business information, including real-time and intra-day data.

Booking instructions: Book a terminal here and use the corresponding Bloomberg computer in the Investment & Data Studio at Level 3. Limited to one booking per user per day.
Login Instructions: Click on the Bloomberg icon on the desktop and login using the Bloomberg login ID & PW. Optional: Create an individual Bloomberg account.
Guides: How do I use Bloomberg, FAQs and Bloomberg Market Concepts.

Important Note: Bloomberg has ceased its extended temporary remote access service with effect from 30 June 2022. For access to Bloomberg, please visit the Investment & Data Studio.

Statista

Statistics portal covering a wide variety of topics, drawn from private and public sources of information. It contains dossiers (special theme insights), forecasts and industry reports. 170 industry sectors are covered, with additional focus on the digital market and economy. Also included are infographics, reports and results of studies from market research institutions. Includes “Research AI” feature that can extract information from reports found to generate an answer.

Capital IQ
S&P Capital IQ is a web-based platform that has private and public company information, executive profiles, industry analysis, basic commodities information, economic data, historical and future estimates, and a screening function to create lists of companies/people using various criteria.
If you encounter any issues with running the Excel Plug-In please run the batch file again.

Gartner
Use Gartner for technology intelligence, market analysis and issues on IT topics. Guide on How do I use Gartner is available.

Lloyd's List
Contains information and analysis on the global shipping industry, as well as coverage on economic shipping. Includes reports and data from Containerization International.

Passport
Passport, previously known as GMID, is produced by Euromonitor. It is an integrated database providing key business intelligence on countries, markets, and consumers. It focuses on fast moving consumer goods and provides users with historical statistics, forecasts, analysis of consumer lifestyles, brand and company information, and full-text market analysis.

Guide on How Do I use Passport is available.

Preqin Real Estate
Real Estate add-on includes intelligence on the private real estate fund industry. It provides information on all areas of the private real estate asset class, including institutional investor, fund, performance, deal and asset data.

Real Estate research data is only available through the main Preqin platform.

MarketLine Advantage
MarketLine Advantage offers a large collection of reports and data. The content includes case studies, reports on countries, industries and companies, company news and financial deals. The Country Statistics database provides historical and forecasted macro/socio-economic and demographic data. The Market Data Analytics database contains data on various fast-moving consumer goods and includes brand share, company share, distribution channels, consumer graphics and market value/volume.

WARC
WARC is a Marketing and Communications database providing resources ranging from branding to media planning & buying, adspend forecast, campaign development & tracking, audience insights, media channel intelligence and trends. SMU subscribes to these modules: WARC Strategy, WARC Media, WARC Creative and WARC Digital Consumer

Screengrabs of Industry Research

Caveat: Databases change numerous times. The following by Fitch Connect (BMI) illustrates a typical industry research - Indonesia Logistics & Freight Transport. Here, Fitch Connect organizes content into tabs: Overview, Research, Data & Forecasts, Charts, Risk Indices, and Download Packs. Overall, it provides comprehensive sector analysis with both qualitative insights and quantitative data for thorough industry research.

Explore other databases such as EMIS, Bloomberg, and Passport. A similar industry research (note the differences in industry terms) in MarketLine below:

A similar industry research in EMIS.