Research Guides: Company and Industry Research: Databases for Market Research

Databases for Market Research

This segment contains the curated databases suitable for market research.

The strongest market research draws from multiple types of sources - primary data (surveys, interviews, focus groups), secondary sources (industry reports, government statistics, academic studies), and tertiary sources (market databases, trade publications). We'd recommend using authoritative, peer-reviewed, and recently published sources while being critical of potential bias in commercial research.

Recommended Databases

MarketLine Advantage
MarketLine Advantage offers a large collection of reports and data. The content includes case studies, reports on countries, industries and companies, company news and financial deals. The Country Statistics database provides historical and forecasted macro/socio-economic and demographic data. The Market Data Analytics database contains data on various fast-moving consumer goods and includes brand share, company share, distribution channels, consumer graphics and market value/volume.

Passport
Passport, previously known as GMID, is produced by Euromonitor. It is an integrated database providing key business intelligence on countries, markets, and consumers. It focuses on fast moving consumer goods and provides users with historical statistics, forecasts, analysis of consumer lifestyles, brand and company information, and full-text market analysis.

Guide on How Do I use Passport is available.

Statista

Statistics portal covering a wide variety of topics, drawn from private and public sources of information. It contains dossiers (special theme insights), forecasts and industry reports. 170 industry sectors are covered, with additional focus on the digital market and economy. Also included are infographics, reports and results of studies from market research institutions. Includes “Research AI” feature that can extract information from reports found to generate an answer.

EIU Viewpoint
EIU Viewpoint is a macroeconomic analysis and data platform which helps to assess global dynamics that could impact business with insights into a country’s geopolitics, policies, industries, business environment and economic outlook. Data spans from 1980s to 2050 for nearly 80 countries globally as well as coverage of over 26 sectors across 6 major industries (e.g. financial services, healthcare, telecommunications & technology) and 25 core commodities (e.g. gold, nickel, crude oil, rice, coffee).

WARC
WARC is a Marketing and Communications database providing resources ranging from branding to media planning & buying, adspend forecast, campaign development & tracking, audience insights, media channel intelligence and trends. SMU subscribes to these modules: WARC Strategy, WARC Media, WARC Creative and WARC Digital Consumer