Research Data Sources: Data On-Demand

Data in this list are from the subscriptions/purchases by various schools, centres and institutes in SMU. They are available with conditions and limitations.

Contact us for more information if you are interested in acquiring data from the sources below for your own research.

• Arabesque S-Ray - Temperature Score provided by The Arabesque Group
  Data Type: S-Ray temperature coverage including score layer of temperature score (near term and long-term) and emissions data
  Subscription Period: 22 Feb 2021 to 22 Feb 2022
  Funded by SOA
  

• CDS and Loan CDS Data provided by Markit Group Limited
  Data Type: US Bond CDS and Bank Loan CDS Data
  Period: May 19, 2011 - May 18, 2012
  Funded by: SKBI

• CityData Regional – Asia provided by the Economist Intelligence Unit
  Data Type: Basket of goods and covers both current & historical annual pricing data in Data tool
  Subscription Period: May 19, 2021 – May 18, 2022
  Funded by LKCSB
  

• CME Data provided by Chicago Mercantile Exchange Inc
  Data Type: Historical Times and Sales of Nikkei Yen Futures (N1), Nikkei USD futures (NK), Japanese Yen (versus US$) futures (6J) and E-mini S&P traded electronically
  Temporal Coverage: Feb 2004 - Dec 2010
  Funded by: SKBI

• Collins Bartholomew provided by HarpersCollins Publishers 
  Data Type: Coverage Data © Collins Bartholomew and GSMA 2020
  Subscription Period: Dec 15, 2020 – Dec 14, 2021
  Funded by LKCSB
  

• Default & Recovery Database provided from Moody’s Analytics Singapore Pte Ltd
  Data Type: individual debt securities, both corporate and sovereign entities, and default history starting from 1920.
  Subscription Period: Mar 01 2021 through Feb 28 2022
  Funded by: SOA

• ETF Global via WRDS provided by ETF Global
  Data Type: U.S. listed exchange traded funds (ETFs) of product information on expenses, tracking index, assets under management, trading, and bid-ask spread.
  Subscription Period: Expired (Apr 29, 2020 – Apr 30, 2021)
  Funded by LKCSB

• Executive Compensation Data provided by Equilar
  Data Type: Executive Compensation Data of S&P 1500 Companies
  Temporal Coverage: 2000 - 2009
  (DVD available in Media Resources Collection, Library)
  Funded by: SOA

• FundVotes
  Data Type: Mutual Fund Votes on Management Say on Pay Resolutions, Mutual Fund Votes on Say on Pay Frequency Resolutions, Mutual Fund Details
  Temporal Coverage: Say-on-Pay resolutions and frequency for year 2013; Mutual Fund Details for 2011-2013
  Funded by: LKCSB

• Futures Data provided by TICK DATA
  Data Type: Trade Data for Australian Dollar (AD), British Pound (BP), Canadian Dollar (CD), Euro FX (EC), Japanese Yen (JY) and Swiss Franc (SF)
  Period: 30 years and 6 days
  Funded by: SKBI

• IBES Key Performance Indicators (KPI) via WRDS provided from Thomson Reuters.
  Data Type: Detail earnings estimate and forecast changes for US companies (from 1982) and non-US companies (from 1987).
  Subscription Period: Expired (Apr 29, 2020 – Apr 30, 2021)
  Funded by LKCSB

• INDSTAT 4 provided by UNIDO
  Data Type: The UNIDO Industrial Statistics Database at the 4-digit level of ISIC (INDSTAT4) contains highly disaggregated data on the manufacturing sector.
  Temporal Coverage: 1990 onwards
  Funded by: Specialized Database Funding (SDF)

• ISS Voting Analytics provided by Institutional Shareholder Services Inc.
  Data Type: R3K Company Vote Results (2003-present); ISS Vote Recs; Mutual Fund N-PX Vote Results (2003-present) and Global Company Vote results (2013- present)
  Subscription Period: Aug 25, 2020 – Aug 24, 2021
  Funded by LKCSB

• LOBSTER Database
  Data Type: High frequency limit order book data for NASDAQ traded stocks
  Temporal Coverage: Database history
  Funded by: LKCSB

• Markit
  Data Type: Security financing data for US markets
  Temporal Coverage: Whole history to 2013
  Funded by: LKCSB

• Morningstar Document Research Premium provided by Morningstar Inc
  Data Type: SEC Filings (e.g., 10-K)
  Subscription Period: Expired
  Funded by: Office of Research

• MSCI ESG Ratings Datafeeds provided by MSCI Inc.
  Data Type: ESG Ratings coverage of 14,000 companies representing more than 680,000 securities. Details of MSCI ESG Indexes from the website
  Earliest Significant Coverage: ESG index history going back since 2013.
  Geographical Coverage: Global 
  Funded by: Singapore Green Finance Centre in Q2, 2021 for one year.

• Nielsen Datasets provided by Chicago Booth
  Data Type: Consumer Panel Data (2004-2014) and Retail Scanner Data (2006-2014)
  Temporal Coverage: 2004-2014 for Consumer Panel and 2006-2014 for Retail Scanner
  Funded by: Specialized Database Funding (SDF)

• Nielsen Datasets provided by Chicago Booth
  Data Type: Consumer Panel Data (2004-Current), Retail Scanner Data (2006-Current) and Ad Intel Data (2010-2015)
  Temporal Coverage: 2004-Current for Consumer Panel, 2006-Current for Retail Scanner and 2010-2015 for Ad Intel Data
  Funded by: LKCSB

• Pinnacle database (IDX/CLC/COT/Commodity Contracts) provided by Pinnacle Data Corp
  Data Type: Historical market data/commodity futures prices/commodity contracts/COT Reports
  Temporal Coverage: Coverage varies
  Funded by: LKCSB

• Sustainalytics via WRDS provided by Sustainalytics
  Data Type: Companies’ ESG performance in these four dimensions: preparedness, disclosure, quantitative performance and qualitative performance
  Temporal Coverage: Mar 30, 2020 – Mar 31, 2022
  Funded by LKCSB

• S&P 500 Tick Data provided by Institute for Financial Markets
  Major data items: Price Data on the S&P 500 Cash Index, includes all the available historical S&P 500 tick-by-tick data
  Temporal Coverage: 1983 - 2011
  Funded by: SKBI

• Trucost’s carbon data provided from S&P Global.
  Data Type: US companies’ carbon data (Scope 1, Scope 2, and Scope 3 upstream) – all historical data until the latest year. 
  Subscription Period: Expired (Jan 13, 2020 –Jan 12, 2021)
  Funded by LKCSB

• Unfair Advantage database provided by Commodities Systems Inc
  Data Type: World Futures, Put/Call Ratios and Totals, LME Access
  Temporal Coverage: World Futures: 40 years where available; others: N.A.
  Funded by: LKCSB
  Year acquired: 2017

If the data you need for your research is neither available via Library subscription nor for free, you might want to follow the steps below.

1. Evaluate the data set

How expensive is it? Check out vendor's web site or contact the vendor directly for price. Alternatively, contact a research librarian.

Is the data useful for other SMU researchers? Can you get them to indicate their interest too?

2. Investigate if funding is available to purchase the data set

For students, check with your supervisor

For faculty, check with your department chair

 

Alternatively, contact a research librarian