Research Guides: Research Data Sources: Economy

Economy data

Please note that the list is not exhaustive and we are working on it to include more entries.

(Click the data categories below to see more information) collapse all Commodity Price EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts Datastream EIU market indicators & forecasts: Choose “Commodities” --> choose Series (Yearly/Quarterly indicators, Prices) and Years --> search. Datastream: Look into the Commodity category, choose your data type and run the request. Company Identifiers CRSP/Compustat Merged Database via WRDS Bloomberg CRSP/Compustat Merged Database via WRDS: Goto CRSP --> Annual Update --> Stock/Security Files --> Monthly Stock File, do a full database search or use company names to search for Cusip, Ticker, Trading Symbol and other identifiers as you wish. Bloomberg Consumer Expenditure Passport Passport: Look into COUNTRIES & CONSUMERS --> CONSUMERS --> Income & Expenditure --> select Consumer Expenditure in SEARCH TREE box --> Geographies. Consumer Products Passport MarketLine Advantage Passport: Goto Search --> Look into the entries under Industries in the Category Tree, and choose items of interest --> choose Geographies and run the search. MarketLine Advantage: Goto Market Data Analytics under Databases --> choose the product of interest from the Sector box --> choose Country and run the search. Or goto Country Statistics under Databases --> choose Countries --> look into Consumers/Consumer Durables under Classic indicators, and run the search. Consumer Segmentation Passport Passport: Goto Search, look into the Category Tree --> Countries and Consumers --> Consumer Behaviour --> Consumer Segmentation --> choose data items of interest --> choose Geographies and run the search. CPI CEIC MarketLine Advantage EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts CEIC: Choose Global Database --> country --> Inflation --> Consumer Price Index. Note: different countries might have slightly different selection path. MarketLine Advantage EIU market indicators & forecasts GDP CEIC MarketLine Advantage CEIC: Choose "Country Statistics" under Databases, choose country and indicators (Classic, Economy, GDP) MarketLine Advantage GINI Index Passport MarketLine Advantage Passport: Goto Search --> Use "Gini Index" for Filter Tree --> choose Geographies --> Run Search. Look into the articles returned and "View Statistics". MarketLine Advantage: Use Databases --> Market Data Analytics --> Choose country --> Choose indicators. Government Bond Yield CEIC Datastream CEIC: Choose the country of interest, the time series data can be found under: Interest and Foreign Exchange Rates (Global database) or Government & Other Securities (Daily database). Datastream: Use Time Series Request --> Series Selection: Bond Indices & CDS, use the Explorer to choose the wanted series. Click Datatype Mnemonic Picker, search for yield. Choose the appropriate time period. Change the Freq if necessary. Submit your request. Gross Capital Formation OECD OECD: Goto OECD iLibrary --> Statistical --> search: Gross Capital Formation. Household Expenditure Passport MarketLine Advantage Passport: Look into COUNTRIES & CONSUMERS --> Income and Expenditure --> Consumers, select Consumer Expenditure in SEARCH TREE box --> Consumer Expenditure by Resident Households --> Geographies. MarketLine Advantage: Choose "Country Statistics" in Databases, choose indicators (Classic, Economy, Consumer Expenditure, Household Final Consumption Expenditure, Local Currency) & countries of your choice. Household Income Passport MarketLine Advantage Passport: Countries & Consumers --> Income --> select data categories related to income, eg. Annual Disposable Income, etc. Data available from the year 1990. MarketLine Advantage: Choose "Country Statistics" in Databases, choose indicators (Classic, Economy, Consumer Expenditure, Household Income, Gross, Local Currency) & countries of your choice. Industry Information MarketLine Advantage MarketLine Advantage: Directly search with the name of industry of interest, look into any of the result entries, check out the panels contains industry statistics, ie. Market Data, Market Segmentation, Macroeconomic Indicators, Market Outlook. Industry Statistics MarketLine Advantage CEIC MarketLine Advantage: Use Databases --> Market Data Analytics -->choose Country --> choose industry indicators in "Sector". CEIC Inflation Rate Passport Passport: Go for Search --> expand Economy and Finance under Countries and Consumers --> set filter properly (Inflation) --> Run Search. Narrow down the results by select an entry in the "by Statistics" filter on the left of the result page. Interest Rate of Government Bond Datastream Datastream: Use Datastream Excel Add-In, submit a time-series request, then follow this path to select series: Bond indices & CDS > Bond indices & CDS Explorer > Market analysis by source > Datastream > Benchmark > click the country > Select 10 year > Select the appropriate Mnemonic, Yield–Interest (Mnemonic is IY) for datatype. Select the year and frequency then click the Submit button. LIBOR Datastream Bloomberg Datastream: Datastream --> Interest Rates --> Search for UK Interbank. Bloomberg: Bloomberg --> BBAM. Outbound Investment CEIC CEIC: Choose Global Database --> country --> Investment --> other submenu items. Note: different countries might have slightly different selection path. Country Risk Rating EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts EIU market indicators & forecasts: Choose "Data Selection", choose Countries, Series (Country credit risk, select an data item in the sub list) and Years. Trade (domestic, international) EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts MarketLine Advantage Passport CEIC EIU market indicators & forecasts: Choose "Data Selection", choose Countries, Series (Macroeconomic indicators, International Trade and the data item you need) and Years. MarketLine Advantage: Goto Country Statistics. Choose country and indicators (Classic, Economy, Trade, Exports/Imports). Passport CEIC Treasury Bill Returns CEIC Datastream CEIC: Goto Global Database --> select country of interest --> Interest and Foreign Exchange Rates --> Treasury Bill and Government Securities Rates. Datastream: Look into Data Category --> Bonds & convertibles, or Interest rates, or Bond Indices & CDS --> Enter Series: treasury bill --> Find Series. Unemployment Rate CEIC MarketLine Advantage CEIC: CEIC has quarterly unemployment rate data from 1987 under the category Singapore: Demographic and Labour Market. MarketLine Advantage: Databases --> Country Statistics --> choose country and indicators (Classic, Labor Force & Employment, Unemployment Population, Unemployment Rate). Wage MarketLine Advantage EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts MarketLine Advantage: In the database, go to Country Statistics. Choose country and indicators (Classic, Labor Force & Employment, Wages). EIU market indicators & forecasts: Use "Data Selection", choose Countries, Series (Demographics and income, Personal income, then Average wages (monthly) - AVWG [Y]) and Years. Data from year 1990. Forecast data to year 2016 us available. Weighted Average Cost of Capital (WACC) Bloomberg Bloomberg: In Bloomberg, you can find weighted average cost of capital by typing WACC <GO>.