Skip to main content
SMU Libraries

Research Data Sources: Demography

Directory of subscribed and open access data sources.

Demography data

Please note that the list is not exhaustive and we are working on it to include more entries.

(Click the data categories below to see more information) collapse all Consumer Expenditure Passport: Look into COUNTRIES & CONSUMERS --> CONSUMERS --> Income & Expenditure --> select Consumer Expenditure in SEARCH TREE box --> Geographies. Consumer Segmentation Passport: Goto Search, look into the Category Tree --> Countries and Consumers --> Consumer Behaviour --> Consumer Segmentation --> choose data items of interest --> choose Geographies and run the search. Household Expenditure Passport: Look into COUNTRIES & CONSUMERS --> Income and Expenditure --> Consumers, select Consumer Expenditure in SEARCH TREE box --> Consumer Expenditure by Resident Households --> Geographies. MarketLine Advantage: Choose "Country Statistics" in Databases, choose indicators (Classic, Economy, Consumer Expenditure, Household Final Consumption Expenditure, Local Currency) & countries of your choice. Household Income Passport: Countries & Consumers --> Income --> select data categories related to income, eg. Annual Disposable Income, etc. Data available from the year 1990. MarketLine Advantage: Choose "Country Statistics" in Databases, choose indicators (Classic, Economy, Consumer Expenditure, Household Income, Gross, Local Currency) & countries of your choice. Life Expectancy Passport: Goto Search --> Input "life expectancy" for Filter Tree --> choose Geographies --> See Data Now or Run Search. Population MarketLine Advantage: Choose "Country Statistics" under Databases, choose relavant indicators (Classic, Demographics, Population, Population by Gender/Age Distribution/Rural/Urban/Population by Marital Status) and country. Passport Sovereign Credit Ratings Bloomberg EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts: In the database, goto Data Selection panel at the top toolbar, then choose Countries, Series (Country credit risk, Sovereign Debt risk (100=high) - S001 [Y]) and Years, finallyt view table of results. Data covers earliest to year 1997. Unemployment Rate CEIC: CEIC has quarterly unemployment rate data from 1987 under the category Singapore: Demographic and Labour Market. MarketLine Advantage: Databases --> Country Statistics --> choose country and indicators (Classic, Labor Force & Employment, Unemployment Population, Unemployment Rate). Wage MarketLine Advantage: In the database, go to Country Statistics. Choose country and indicators (Classic, Labor Force & Employment, Wages). EIU market indicators & forecasts: Use "Data Selection", choose Countries, Series (Demographics and income, Personal income, then Average wages (monthly) - AVWG [Y]) and Years. Data from year 1990. Forecast data to year 2016 us available.

 

The use of electronic resources must comply with the Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy and Singapore Management University Acceptable Use Policy