Research Guides: Finance &amp; Quantitative Finance Research Navigator: Find Financial Data

Which database do I use?

Cheat sheet
Where to find what? Guide to SMU business databases.
WRDS datasets by concept
Wharton Research Data Services is a platform that provides researchers access to datasets. Link
Major Finance Resources Cheat Sheet

See what databases to use for different types of business or financial information

Finance databases

Bloomberg Professional Services This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg provides real-time and historical pricing, indicative and fundamental data, charts and graphs on different topics, customized analytics, and market news. Use this database to obtain financial and business information, including real-time and intra-day data.

Booking instructions: Book a terminal here and use the corresponding Bloomberg computer in the Investment & Data Studio at Level 3. Limited to one booking per user per day.
Login Instructions: Click on the Bloomberg icon on the desktop and login using the Bloomberg login ID & PW. Optional: Create an individual Bloomberg account.
Guides: How do I use Bloomberg, FAQs and Bloomberg Market Concepts.

Important Note: Bloomberg has ceased its extended temporary remote access service with effect from 30 June 2022. For access to Bloomberg, please visit the Investment & Data Studio.
BoardEx via WRDS This link opens in a new window
BoardEx has in-depth profiles of over 380,000 business leaders, mainly in Europe and North America. It covers over 15,000 publicly quoted companies and major private entities at board and executive management levels. Geographical coverage of companies includes North America 8,000, UK 2,600, Europe 2,500, Australasia 700, India 225, rest of world 900. Data is updated daily and quality assured by about 300 research analysts. Data coverage is from 1997.

In addition to individual profiles, BoardEx maps the business networks and connections among these business leaders, not only via their employment but also education, clubs, charities and memberships.

For more information of BoardEx via WRDS can be found here.
Registration is required for access to WRDS.
For undergraduates, please register for Day Pass access with your SMU email.
For faculty, postgraduates, and staff, register for your individual account.
Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
S&P Capital IQ is a web-based platform that has private and public company information, executive profiles, industry analysis, basic commodities information, economic data, historical and future estimates, and a screening function to create lists of companies/people using various criteria.
If you encounter any issues with running the Excel Plug-In please run the batch file again.
Datastream
Datastream is a financial and economic database of Refinitiv. It provides current and historical time series data on equities, bonds, indices, unit trusts, investment trusts, bonds, exchange rates, interest rates, commodities, derivatives, and economic data.

Access via Datastream alternatively via WRDS (you will need a WRDS account).

Booking instructions: Book an Eikon terminal here and use the corresponding Eikon computer in the Investment & Data Studio at Level 3. Limited to one booking per user per day.
Login instructions: Step 1 > Click the Eikon icon on the desktop and wait for the login details to load automatically. DO NOT click on the login area. Step 2 > At Excel, install the Datastream Excel add-on to access Datastream.
Guides: How do I install Datastream.
Eikon This link opens in a new window
Eikon provides real-time and historical pricing, charts and graphs, customized analytics, and market news on markets such as equities, commodities, fixed income, forex.

Booking instructions: Book a terminal here and use the corresponding Eikon computer in the Investment & Data Studio at Level 3. Limited to one booking per user per day.
Login instructions: Click on the Eikon icon on the desktop and wait for the login details to load automatically. DO NOT click on the login area.
Guides: How do I use Eikon.
J.P. Morgan Research This link opens in a new window
This database features thousands of analyst reports covering over 3,000 global companies and all industries. Reports cover equities and company performance, global and regional economics and financial strategy, foreign exchange, commodities, liquidity, and emerging markets
Coverage is from 2011 onwards, with a one week embargo.
Preqin This link opens in a new window
Preqin provides data and information on the private equity asset class and includes: fund information, fund manager profiles, performance analysis, buyout deals analysis and investor intelligence.

Access via Preqin alternatively via WRDS (you will need a WRDS account).
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
WRDS provides access to over 350 terabytes of data across multiple disciplines including Accounting, Banking, Economics, ESG, Finance, Healthcare, Insurance, Marketing, and Statistics. Data delivery options include a web query method, the WRDS Cloud for executing research and strategy development, and the WRDS client server using PCSAS, Matlab, and R.

Registration is required for access to WRDS.

Register for your individual account or obtain a Day Pass access with your SMU email.
Wind Financial Terminal This link opens in a new window
Wind Financial Terminal provides data and information on Chinese financial market, covering stocks, bonds, funds, indices, warrants, commodity futures, foreign exchanges, macro industry, etc. in Mainland China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan.

Booking instructions: Book a terminal here and access the Investment & Data Studio WIND Financial Terminal. Limited to one booking per user per day.
Login instructions: Click on the WIND icon on the desktop and wait for the application to load automatically.
Guides: How do I use WIND.

How Do I Use...

How do I use Bloomberg
by Lip Hwe Tee Last Updated Oct 23, 2024 3358 views this year
How do I use Eikon
by Lip Hwe Tee Last Updated Aug 13, 2024 312 views this year
How do I use S&P Capital IQ
by Sumita Govindan Last Updated Oct 15, 2024 265 views this year
How do I use MarketLine Advantage
by Sumita Govindan Last Updated Aug 16, 2022 55 views this year
How do I use Passport (formerly GMID)
by Sumita Govindan Last Updated Oct 29, 2021 153 views this year

Researching Private Companies?

Private companies are not legally required to disclose company information and financial data. It may be difficult to locate the information you require, especially financial information, if you are researching private companies.

The following resources may be able to provide limited information.

Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority Singapore (ACRA)
For Singapore companies only. On the home page, click "Buy information" under E-Services to continue the purchase transaction.
Company Websites
Company websites may have updated or exclusive information on the private companies you are researching.

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window Capital IQ covers 3 types of privates companies: Private companies with public debt, private equity firms, and private corporations.
Crunchbase This link opens in a new window Crunchbase is a platform for finding business information about private and public companies. Crunchbase information includes investments and funding information, founding members and individuals in leadership positions, mergers and acquisitions, news, and industry trends.
To access this database, please fill up this form -- https://forms.office.com/r/ksXauSGNAu for the login details. Do not re-use login details as these will be periodically refreshed. Attempts to login in with the wrong login details will lead to locked account for 24hours.
Emerging Markets Information Service This link opens in a new window EMIS provides some key financial data of private companies, but not corporate family tree.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
PitchBook This link opens in a new window Please Note: SMU Libraries no longer have subscription to Pitchbook. You can use Crunchbase for similar content. PitchBook contains data on start-ups, their valuations and investment deals (by Private Equity firms, VCs and angel investors), along with their exits (acquisitions, IPOs, closings) for over two decades. Download limits: 10 daily / 25 monthly rows of company, deal or fund data. 10 daily / 25 monthly rows of people data per user.
Orbis This link opens in a new window Use Orbis to find, analyse and compare over 400 million public and private companies. The database also contains industry research, financials and corporate ownership information. Orbis is also now available from the WRDS platform. How do I filter/search for private companies? Search by: Official > Standardised Legal Form

Finance & Quantitative Finance Research Navigator: Find Financial Data

Which database do I use?

Finance databases

How Do I Use...

Researching Private Companies?

User Manuals for Finance databases