It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
e-Books @ Library: Home
How to access, view, and download the thousands e-Books @ SMU Libraries
The Library subscribes to eBook platforms with titles from a range of publishers. Each platform allows reading online and checking out the eBooks. Usage of eBooks must comply with the Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy.
Read and download the electronic version of books on ProQuest. The ebooks cover topics like arts, business management, education, health & medicine, history & political science, law, literature & language, religion & philosophy, science & technology, and social science etc.
Library also subscribes to other eBook platforms from individual publishers or vendor that just require Internet browser and/or PDF reader to read onlineand/or download the eBooks (no checking out/borrowing). Printing, downloading and copying rules may vary.
The Institute of Southeast Asian Studies (ISEAS) eBook Collection consists of more than 400 book titles published by ISEAS from 1980 to present, with titles covering the socio-political, security and economic trends and developments in Singapore, Southeast Asia, and Asia Pacific.
Titles focus on the humanities, comparative and world studies, history, philosophy, political science, area studies on Asia, Southeast Asia, Europe, Middle East, United States of America.
Copying, downloading & printing limits: Up to 3 pages can be printed per session.
IT Pro collection provides most current and in-depth ebooks on technologies, programs and practices for elevated strategic decision-making and evaluation. The ebooks can only be viewed online by 2 users at a time.
Copying, downloading & printing limits: No downloading. Printing is limited to browser printing function.
This is the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development's (OECD) online portal of aggregated information from its various publications, including books and journals for the following subscribed themes: Economics, Development, Education, Industry and Services, Social Issues/ Migration/Health. Most of the other content can be read online. To find non-OECD information, try a keyword search.
O’Reilly Safari for Higher Education provides access to eBooks, videos, learning paths, case studies and online tutorials via intuitive learning interface across technical and business subjects. You can create your own login to experience a personalized content resource and reading functionalities.
Use this database to access book chapters from titles published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and other related publishers. It has the full text of many classic books in psychology. Use this database also to find the entries in the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.
Cover 20 subject areas across the humanities, law, social sciences, finance and economics.
Copying, downloading & printing limits: 5% or one chapter can be printed per session.
The Library Titles cover a wide range of topics, including Agriculture, Aquaculture & Food Science, Architecture & Planning, Art & Applied Arts, Business, Economics, Finance & Accounting, Chemistry, Computer Science & Information Technology, Earth, Space & Environmental Sciences, Humanities, Law & Criminology, Life Sciences, Mathematics & Statistics, Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry & Healthcare, Physical Sciences & Engineering, Psychology, Social & Behavioral Sciences and Veterinary Medicine has access to ebooks as part of the full text content in databases in Ebscohost (e.g. Business Source Complete, Political Science Complete) and Proquest Research Library. Titles can be browsed and searched in Journals.
Other than subscribed eBooks, there are also many free eBooks available.