Research Guides: e-Books @ Library: Home

Introduction

This guide tries to de-mystify the various eBook complexities.

This guide was created by Yuyun Wirawati ISHAK and is maintain by Wei Xia.

eBook Platforms Cheat Sheet

eBook Platforms Cheat Sheet

e-Books at a glance

The Library subscribes to eBook platforms with titles from a range of publishers. Each platform allows reading online and checking out the eBooks. Usage of eBooks must comply with the Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy.

Proquest Ebook Central
Read and download the electronic version of books on ProQuest. The ebooks cover topics like arts, business management, education, health & medicine, history & political science, law, literature & language, religion & philosophy, science & technology, and social science etc.
more...less...
In order to download and read eBooks offline, you will need
Adobe Digital Editions installed on your computer.

Loan length for reserves ebooks: 1 day
Loan length for regular ebooks: 1-3 days

ProQuest Ebook Central ebooks are transferrable to any portable ebook reader that supports Adobe Digital Editions.

Copy and paste restrictions: 20% of the total pages of the ebook per patron. However, copy and paste permissions in excess of this are granted where allowed by the publisher.

Print restrictions: 40% of the total pages of the ebook, per patron. However, print permissions in excess of this are granted where allowed by the publisher.
EBSCOhost Audiobooks

Library also subscribes to other eBook platforms from individual publishers or vendor that just require Internet browser and/or PDF reader to read online and/or download the eBooks (no checking out/borrowing). Printing, downloading and copying rules may vary.

The Institute of Southeast Asia (ISEAS) Collection
The Institute of Southeast Asian Studies (ISEAS) eBook Collection consists of more than 400 book titles published by ISEAS from 1980 to present, with titles covering the socio-political, security and economic trends and developments in Singapore, Southeast Asia, and Asia Pacific.
SpringerLink eBooks
For access to full text from Springer books and journals. Many subject areas are covered, including Humanities & Social Sciences. For journals, access is for articles published from 1997.
ScienceDirect eBook
Titles in Handbooks in operations research and management science and Advances in experimental social psychology.
Copying, downloading & printing limits: Up to 10 pages can be printed per session.

ACLS Humanities E-book This link opens in a new window
Titles focus on the humanities, comparative and world studies, history, philosophy, political science, area studies on Asia, Southeast Asia, Europe, Middle East, United States of America.
Copying, downloading & printing limits: Up to 3 pages can be printed per session.
Skillsoft Skillport Ebooks ITPro This link opens in a new window
IT Pro collection provides most current and in-depth ebooks on technologies, programs and practices for elevated strategic decision-making and evaluation. The ebooks can only be viewed online by 2 users at a time.
Copying, downloading & printing limits: No downloading. Printing is limited to browser printing function.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
This is the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development's (OECD) online portal of aggregated information from its various publications, including books and journals for the following subscribed themes: Economics, Development, Education, Industry and Services, Social Issues/ Migration/Health. Most of the other content can be read online. To find non-OECD information, try a keyword search.
O’Reilly Safari for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
O’Reilly Safari for Higher Education provides access to eBooks, videos, learning paths, case studies and online tutorials via intuitive learning interface across technical and business subjects. You can create your own login to experience a personalized content resource and reading functionalities.
PsycBooks This link opens in a new window
Use this database to access book chapters from titles published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and other related publishers. It has the full text of many classic books in psychology. Use this database also to find the entries in the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.
Search PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO and PsycBOOKS together.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Access the full text of handbooks published by SAGE covering topics in business, psychology and the social sciences.
Copying, downloading & printing limits: Maximum 10% of each title can be printed.

Wiley Online Library
more...less...
Covers a wide range of topics, including Agriculture, Aquaculture & Food Science, Architecture & Planning, Art & Applied Arts, Business, Economics, Finance & Accounting, Chemistry, Computer Science & Information Technology, Earth, Space & Environmental Sciences, Humanities, Law & Criminology, Life Sciences, Mathematics & Statistics, Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry & Healthcare, Physical Sciences & Engineering, Psychology, Social & Behavioral Sciences and Veterinary Medicine.
Cambridge Books Online
Select titles from Cambridge University Press, primarily on social sciences.
Edward Elgar
Contain titles on discrete subjects within law, the social sciences and management.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Cover 20 subject areas across the humanities, law, social sciences, finance and economics.
Copying, downloading & printing limits: 5% or one chapter can be printed per session.

The Library Titles cover a wide range of topics, including Agriculture, Aquaculture & Food Science, Architecture & Planning, Art & Applied Arts, Business, Economics, Finance & Accounting, Chemistry, Computer Science & Information Technology, Earth, Space & Environmental Sciences, Humanities, Law & Criminology, Life Sciences, Mathematics & Statistics, Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry & Healthcare, Physical Sciences & Engineering, Psychology, Social & Behavioral Sciences and Veterinary Medicine has access to ebooks as part of the full text content in databases in Ebscohost (e.g. Business Source Complete, Political Science Complete) and Proquest Research Library. Titles can be browsed and searched in Journals.

Free e-Books

Other than subscribed eBooks, there are also many free eBooks available.

Amazon.com free eBooks
Free classics and out-of-copyright, pre-1923 books, as well as limited-time free promotional ebooks available for Kindle.
Barnes and Noble free eBooks
Use on your Nook, Nook software or Barnes & Noble eReader software or app.
Google books
To search books with full view, go to Advanced Book Search, select "Full View Only" under "Search".
Kobo