Open Access Resources for Law: Private International Law

Regulation (EU) No 1215/2012 of the European Parliament and of the council of 12 December 2012 on jurisdiction and the recognition and enforcement of judgments in civil and commercial matters.

Index to more than 2000 multilateral treaties, with links to the full text, where available.

All the conventions and the Principles on Choice of Law are on the Hague Conference website, in English or French; status information is given for the conventions. The pre-1945 Hague conventions are available under 'The "old" conventions', but in French only.

Portal provided by UNIDA, the Association pour l'Unification du Droit en Afrique; l'Unification du Droit en Afrique. Includes English translation of the original treaty, implementing rules and uniform acts, news about OHADA's works, background information and more.

OHADA Journal Officiel, special issue, 24 November 2016: has English translations of the 1993 OHADA Treaty, its 2008 amending treaty, eight uniform laws and the Arbitration Rules of the Commons Court of Justice and Arbitration; the special issue is available on the OHADA website.

Since 1975, the Organization of American States has carried out harmonization work by means of its Inter-American Specialized Conferences on Private International Law, referred to by the Spanish acronym 'CIDIP'. CIDIP conventions, model laws and other instruments are available on the OAS website, with status information for the conventions. The Conventions can also be found in the UN Treaty Series.

United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL) conventions and model laws are published in its Yearbook. The conventions and model laws are also reproduced on the Texts and Status page of the UNCITRAL website, together with status information for conventions, travaux préparatoires, bibliographies and other information. Case law on UNCITRAL instruments is available in the CLOUT database on the UNCITRAL website.

Includes various Conventions and Instruments in the following areas: Agency, Capital Markets, Commercial Contracts, Contract Farming, Cultural Property, Factoring, Franchising, International Sales, International Will, Leasing, Security Interests, Transnational Civil Procedure, Transport.

Contains the entire UN Treaty Series and League of Nations Treaty Series.

Regulation (EC) No 593/2008 of the European Parliament and of the council of 17 June 2008 on the law applicable to contractual obligations (Rome I).

Regulation (EC) No 864/2007 of the European Parliament and of the council of 11 July 2007 on the law applicable to non-contractual obligations (Rome II).

Council Regulation (EC) No 2201/2003 of 27 November 2003 concerning jurisdiction and the recognition and enforcement of judgments in matrimonial matters and the matters of parental responsibility, repealing Regulation (EC) No 1347/2000

Council Regulation (EC) No 2201/2003 of 27 November 2003 concerning jurisdiction and the recognition and enforcement of judgments in matrimonial matters and the matters of parental responsibility, repealing Regulation (EC) No 1347/2000.

Information on international commercial law hosted by the University of Tromsø and Pace University School of Law.

This extensive bibliography lists known articles, books, research, and working papers on ICSID, investment law and treaties, and international investment dispute resolution.

Database of cases held before the World Bank's International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID).

On the Legal Information Instittue (LII)

Organized alphabetically, by organization, topic, ibrary cataogues, repositories, statistics, terminology dabases.

The Global Women’s Leadership Project has created a clearing house of information on laws that govern women’s status in the family, as the first phase of the UN Women’s Family Law database.This is one of the first efforts to map the panoramic sweep of laws that regulate a woman’s role in the family and society. The first phase of the database covers the 54 African countries; the 19 civil law countries in Latin America* and 32 states of Mexico; the 51 independent states of Europe; Israel; India; and Pakistan. The research on the Middle East is ongoing.

The Court of Justice of the European Free Trade Association States (more commonly known as the EFTA Court) is a supranational judicial body responsible for the three EFTA members who are also members of the European Economic Area (EEA): Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.
As members of the EEA, the three countries have access to the internal market of the European Union. Consequently, they are subject to a number of European laws. Enforcement of these laws would normally be carried out by the European Court of Justice (ECJ), however there were legal difficulties in giving Union institutions powers over non-members so the EFTA Court was set up to perform this role instead of the ECJ. Wikipedia

EUR-Lex provides direct free access to European Union law. Here you can consult the Official Journal of the European Union as well as the treaties, legislation, case-law and legislative proposals.

Provides access to legal knowledge in the EU.

Based in Geneva, Switzerland, with a further office in Singapore, the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center was established in 1994 to offer Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) options for the resolution of international commercial disputes between private parties. Developed by leading experts in cross-border dispute settlement, the arbitration, mediation and expert determination procedures offered by the Center are widely recognized as particularly appropriate for technology, entertainment and other disputes involving intellectual property. Since 2010 the Center has an office at Maxwell Chambers in Singapore.

ACICA was established in 1985.

The Australian Commercial Disputes Centre (ACDC) is an independent, not-for-profit organisation committed to advancing a positive approach to conflict by delivering quality Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) education and training.

An independent non-profit organisation with a public mission and supported by multinational business, law firms and public sector organisations. CEDR work in the UK and internationally tocut the cost of conflict and create a world of choice and capability in conflict prevention and resolution.

Launched in July 2017, the Community Justice and Tribunals System, part of the State Courts of Singapore, offers parties the convenience of filing and managing claims online. It also provides for electronic negotiation, offering the possibility of settlements without the matter going to court.

The Resolution Institute is the largest dispute resolution membership organisation across Australia and New Zealand.

"ICSID is an autonomous international institution established under the Convention on the Settlement of Investment Disputes between States and Nationals of Other States (the ICSID or the Washington Convention) with over one hundred and forty member States. The Convention sets forth ICSID's mandate, organization and core functions. The primary purpose of ICSID is to provide facilities for conciliation and arbitration of international investment disputes."

Provides list of links to international arbitral conventions, treaties, and principles. Provides comprehensive list of national arbitration laws. Provides comprehensive list of links to international, regional, and national arbitral institutions.

ICC deals with resolving various international disputes from straightforward sales contracts to intellectual property matters, joint ventures, share purchase arrangements or state-financed construction projects.

The International Institute for Conflict Prevention and Resolution (CPR) is a non-profit think tank that combines a decades-old heritage of thought leadership with the innovation of its diverse and collaborative membership to offer the most cutting edge dispute resolution services and resources available.

Database on international trade law. Information on commercial arbitration, mediation, conciliation, expertise centres and other alternative dispute resolution centers or services including the full text of their rules and model clauses.

The LCIA is one of the world’s leading international institutions for commercial dispute resolution. The LCIA provides efficient, flexible and impartial administration of arbitration and other ADR proceedings, regardless of location, and under any system of law.
Incxludes Challenge Decision Database.

Established in 1899 to facilitate arbitration and other forms of dispute resolution between states, the PCA has developed into a modern, multi-faceted arbitral institution perfectly situated to meet the evolving dispute resolution needs of the international community.
Includes cases and founding conventions:
- 1899 Convention for the Pacific Settlement of International Disputes
- 1907 Convention for the Pacific Settlement of International Disputes

The aim of the SCMA is to provide a framework for maritime arbitration which is responsive to the needs of the maritime community. The SCMA has members from all sectors of the maritime community and from all countries. There is no distinction in the class of members or their entitlement based on the sector of the maritime community - all sectors are treated equally as all sectors are users of SCMA

The Singapore Institute of Arbitrators is an independent professional body established in 1981. Many of our members are practising professionals from a wide spectrum of diversified backgrounds.

Commenced operatons in 1991.

Launched on 5 January, 2015 to deal with international commercial dispute resolution.
Includes hearings and judgments

The SMC is dedicated to promoting the amicable and fair settlement of disputes. It aims to create an environment in which people can work together to find enduring solutions to conflicts and tensions created by human interactions. It contributes to the building of a harmonious society, and a thriving business community, by broadening awareness of, and providing access to, constructive means of dispute resolution.

The TADM helps help employees and employers manage employment disputes, or self-employed persons manage payment-related disputes.
Unresolved disputes after mediation at TADM may be referred to the Employement Claims Tribunals (ECT) part of the State Courts Singapore.

The United States Institute of Peace (USIP) provides the analysis, training and tools that help to prevent, manage and end violent international conflicts, promote stability and professionalize the field of peacebuilding.

The Knowledge Tab includes various databases such as:
- WIPO Lex - IP Laws and Treaties
- WIPO Administered Treaties
- PATENTSCOPE

includes the organisation's conventions, explanatory reports and other documentation.

Provides list of links to international arbitral conventions, treaties, and principles. Provides comprehensive list of national arbitration laws. Provides comprehensive list of links to international, regional, and national arbitral institutions.

Covers the work of the Inter-American Specialized Conferences on Private International Law (CIDIP); includes the text of OAS conventions and other instruments.

This largely francophone organization was established in 1993. Its founding text is the Treaty on the Harmonisation of Business Law in Africa ('OHADA Treaty'), signed on 17 October 1993 in Port-Louis, Mauritius (revised by a subsequent treaty adopted in Quebec, Canada, on 17 October 2008). OHADA produces uniform laws for its member states, such as the Uniform Act relating to General Commercial Law and the Uniform Act on Arbitration.

Includes the Commission's conventions, model laws and working documents

Provides the organization's conventions, model laws, proceedings and other documentation.
UNIDROIT (formally, the International Institute for the Unification of Private Law; French: Institut international pour l'unification du droit privé)

The Knowledge Tab includes various databases such as:
- WIPO Lex - IP Laws and Treaties
- WIPO Administered Treaties
- PATENTSCOPE

Includes documents, data and resources tab.

Published by Pace Law School, this comprehensive CISG research resource includes the text of the treaty, legislative history material, cases interpreting the treaty, and scholarly writings on the treaty. The section “legal materials organized by CISG article” provides an article-by-article arrangement of case law, legislative history material, and scholarly writings. The “UNCITRAL Digest Cases Plus Added Cases” page provides digests of case law beyond what is available in the 2012 UNCITRAL Digest.

"[S]ystem for collecting and disseminating information on court decisions and arbitral awards relating to the Conventions and Model Laws that have emanated from the work of the Commission." The purpose of the system is to promote international awareness of the legal texts formulated by the Commission and to facilitate uniform interpretation and application of those texts.

Includes the Commission's conventions, model laws and working documents.

Database of cases and bibliographic references on the UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts and the UN Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG) – two of the most important international instruments for the regulation of international commercial transactions.

The United States Court of International Trade, established under Article III of the Constitution, has nationwide jurisdiction over civil actions arising out of the customs and international trade laws of the United States.

Documents Online provides access to the official documentation of the World Trade Organization. The database contains over 140,000 documents in the three official languages from 1995 onwards and is updated daily. All WTO documents are posted in PDF and WORD format. The application provides a descriptive catalogue record for every document stored in the archive. It is possible to consult all of these documents online and also to download selected documents from the site.
•The GATT module provides access to the official documents issued under the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT).

Leading legal database on international child abduction law offered by HCCH.