Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SMU Libraries

Psychology: Articles/Databases

Research guide to find articles, journals, books and websites in Psychology

What is a Database?

Databases allows you to search for scholarly journal articles, book chapters and conference papers. Some databases include the full text. Some databases are subject specific and some are very general (including all subjects).  

Search several databases when beginning your project!  There are unique references in each database you search.

See Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy.

Most databases can be accessed from off-campus. Just enter your SMU ID and Password when prompted.  

Reading Journal Literature

It can be challenging to read scholarly journal articles.  The language is dense - and it can get overwhelming quickly!  Watch the following (5 minute!) video to learn the best way to tackle journal articles.  You will learn about the best order to read articles, how to identify the main point, and strategies for taking notes.

All Psychology Databases

Tools for PsycINFO

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar Tip

If you use Google Scholar to search for articles, you can turn on Find it @ SMU Library to help you get to the full text you have access to subscribed by the Library.

See the instructions.

Citation Databases

Here are the citation databases available to the SMU Community:

Citation databases provide a way of locating bibliographic citations for highly cited articles in a field of your interest. The search results contain hyperlinks to help you retrieve the full text if available in the Library's subscribed databases or e-Journals.

The use of electronic resources must comply with the Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy and Singapore Management University Acceptable Use Policy