Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The use of electronic resources must comply with the Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy and Singapore Management University Acceptable Use Policy
Key Resources for History of Science
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years. No other history research tool matches its scholarly standards or comprehensive coverage.
The "Find it @ SMU Libraries" button under each record can be used to retrieve the full-text article.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR gives access to an archive of the full text articles from scholarly journals, with a moving wall for current articles. Access the complete Arts & Sciences Collections I - X. The Arts & Sciences Collections includes business, economics, history, political science, language & literature, management, mathematics, sociology, statistics and Asian studies.
Welcome to the History of Science Research Guide. This guide provides links to resources appropriate for research projects focused on historical science topics. There will be additional resources, archives and collections beyond this guide that may be relevant for your particular topic. When in doubt, always Ask A Librarian for suggestions on strategies and appropriate resources.
History Research Resources
New to history research? Explore the following links to more about tips and techniques for diving into historical research.