Research Guides: History of Science: Articles & Databases

Key Resources for History of Science

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years. No other history research tool matches its scholarly standards or comprehensive coverage. The "Find it @ SMU Libraries" button under each record can be used to retrieve the full-text article.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR gives access to an archive of the full text articles from scholarly journals, with a moving wall for current articles. Access the complete Arts & Sciences Collections I - X. The Arts & Sciences Collections includes business, economics, history, political science, language & literature, management, mathematics, sociology, statistics and Asian studies.

PubMed National Library of Medicine's index to biomedical journal articles. To limit to historical sources, attach the phrase "historical article" to your search. Example: "Human genome project" and "historical article".
WorldCat WorldCat is essentially the library catalogue of the world. Use this to discover resources that may not be available at SMU. Pay attention to 'subject headings' listed in the records of good books. If you click on a heading, you'll see all the relevant books in that subject area!

History of Science Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate is a scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database. Access academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos in subject areas such as Anthropology, Ethnic and multicultural studies, General sciences, Geography, Law, Mathematics, Music, Pharmaceutical sciences, Psychology, Religion and philosophy, Science and technology, Women's studies and Zoology. It features PDF content from over 10,000 active full-text journals and magazines and more than 9,000 active full-text peer-reviewed journals. Searching of cited references is provided for more than 5,000 journals.
Ebscohost has a mobile web application at http://m.ebscohost.com/

Google Scholar
Because Google Scholar searches the full text of articles, this may be a 'best bet' database for hard to find topics and information. Note that you won't have access to all content.

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years. No other history research tool matches its scholarly standards or comprehensive coverage.
The "Find it @ SMU Libraries" button under each record can be used to retrieve the full-text article.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full-text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals. It covers the arts, education, history, literature, philosophy, religion.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR gives access to an archive of the full text articles from scholarly journals, with a moving wall for current articles. Access the complete Arts & Sciences Collections I - X. The Arts & Sciences Collections includes business, economics, history, political science, language & literature, management, mathematics, sociology, statistics and Asian studies.

PubMed
National Library of Medicine's index to biomedical journal articles. To limit to historical sources, attach the phrase "historical article" to your search. Example: "Human genome project" and "historical article".

SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
Sage Premier includes international, peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 350 scholarly and professional societies. Access over 900 journals published by Sage in the areas of business, economics, management, philosophy, political science, psychology, and sociology from 1999. Access over 280 journals with content back to the first volume.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text covers a broad spectrum of sociological studies. The subjects covered include abortion, demography, political sociology, urban sociology, social psychology, sociological history and sociological research. Use SocINDEX to find relevant materials for social research and full text articles from over 350 journals, over 700 books and many conference papers.
Taylor and Francis Social Science & Humanities This link opens in a new window
Search and access journals published by Routledge and Taylor & Francis. The full text of journals of over 1,100 journals in the Social Science and Humanities Collection are available. Subjects covered include in the Economics, Finance, Business & Industry, Area Studies, Behavioural Sciences, Politics, International Relations, Sport and Leisure Management.
Wiley Social Sciences and Humanities This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of topics, including Agriculture, Aquaculture & Food Science, Architecture & Planning, Art & Applied Arts, Business, Economics, Finance & Accounting, Chemistry, Computer Science & Information Technology, Earth, Space & Environmental Sciences, Humanities, Law & Criminology, Life Sciences, Mathematics & Statistics, Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry & Healthcare, Physical Sciences & Engineering, Psychology, Social & Behavioral Sciences and Veterinary Medicine.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Use this database to identify highly cited articles in a subject area and authors who cite a specific article. Use it to search for articles using keyword and even by institution name.
Web of Science includes Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1900), Science Citation Index (from 1965), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 2008), and Book Citation Index (2005-2018)

SMU Libraries has access to Web of Science API Lite. More info here.