Research Guides: History of Science: Books

Book Catalogues

SMU Libraries Catalogue
Use this search to discover books, articles, DVDs and more at SMU Libraries. Notes that our book collection is mostly electronic - and this search is the only way to access more than 450,000 titles!
WorldCat
WorldCat is essentially the library catalogue of the world. Use this to discover resources that may not be available at SMU. Pay attention to 'subject headings' listed in the records of good books. If you click on a heading, you'll see all the relevant books in that subject area!
National Library Board (NLB) Catalogue
For books unavailable at SMU, always search the NLB Catalogue to determine availability. The Lee Kong Chian Reference Library on Victoria Street (a 5-minute walk from Li Ka Shing Library) holds an incredible collection of books related to Southeast Asian history.
Google Books
Google Books allows you to search the full text of millions of books. If you find a title you want to see more of, look the title up in SMU Libraries catalogue - or even NLB catalogue.

ACLS Humanities E-book This link opens in a new window
Humanities E-Book is a digital collection of over 5,800 full-text high-quality titles which are fully searchable. Titles focus on the Humanities, comparative and world studies, history, philosophy, political science, area studies on Asia, Southeast Asia, Europe, Middle East, United States of America. The years of publication range from 1880s to present. The collection is offered by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with other learned societies and publishers.

NASA e-books
Free e-books from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration. There is a link on this page to history-oriented e-books.

Dictionaries

Hutchinson Dictionary of Science
Publication Date: 1994
Dictionary of science and technology
Call Number: Li Ka Shing Library, Books Level 3 Q123 .C634 2003

Book archives

BooksSG
A digital collection of Singapore and Southeast's Asia print heritage
HathiTrust Digital Library
Go to the advanced search function and limit your results to "photographs & pictorial works" and/or "visual material."

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia of the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures by Helaine Selin
ISBN: 9789400739345
Publication Date: 2020
Contains approximately 1000 entries dealing in depth with the history of the scientific, technological and medical accomplishments of cultures outside of the United States and Europe.
History of Science in United States by Marc Rothenberg (Editor)
ISBN: 9780815307624
Publication Date: 2000-11-27
This Encyclopedia examines all aspects of the history of science in the United States, with a special emphasis placed on the historiography of science in America.
The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science by John L. Heilbron (Editor)
Call Number: CATION ITEMS Li Ka Shing Library, Books Level 3 Q125 .O86 2003
ISBN: 9780195112290
Publication Date: 2003-03-27
The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science is the most comprehensive one-volume resource on science from 1550 to the present. Along with chemistry, physics, and biology, the major scientific disciplines are represented in this alphabetically arranged work including astrology, ethnology, and zoology, among many others.
The Hutchinson Encyclopedia of Science (Helicon Science)
ISBN: 9781859861202
Publication Date: 2008
Scientific reference volume, designed to keep you up-to-date with the latest developments as well as providing key information on major scientists and events that have changed the course of history.
Nuclear Energy Encyclopedia by Jay H. Lehr (Series edited by); Thomas B. Kingery (Editor); Steven B. Krivit (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780470894392
Publication Date: 2011-08-30
The A-to-Z reference resource for nuclear energy information Nuclear Energy Encyclopedia: Science, Technology, and Applications is a comprehensive and authoritative reference guide written by a committee of the world's leading energy experts.
The nature of science : an A-Z guide to the laws and principles governing our universe
Call Number: Li Ka Shing Library, Books Level 3 Q121 .T74 2003
Encyclopedia of the History of Arabic Science by Roshdi Rashed
ISBN: 9780415020633
Publication Date: 1996-05-09
Encyclopedia of the History of Arabic Science documents the history and philosophy of Arabic science from the earliest times to the present day.