|
|
|||||
|
EndNote Desktop |
EndNote Online |
Mendeley |
Zotero |
RefWorks |
|
|
Do I have to pay? |
Free for SMU users. Click here for details on installation. |
Free for SMU users. Sign up for an account with Web Of Knowledge here Find out how to use EndNote Online in this research guide. EndNote Basic (less features) is available freely. |
Free for basic account, some cost for more online storage. |
Free for basic account, some cost for more online storage space. |
Yes (can request 30-day trial) |
|
Is it web-based? |
No. |
Yes. For SMU users, EndNote Online account can be synced with EndNote Desktop libraries. |
Yes. Also available as Mendeley Desktop, which can be synced with online account. |
Yes. Zotero for Firefox is the web-based version of Zotero. |
Yes. No desktop program |
|
Needs installation? |
Yes. Works with Windows & Mac OS X. |
No. Fully online. |
No. But Medeley Desktop requires installation and works with Windows, Mac OS X & Linux. |
No. But Zotero Standalone requires installation and works with Windows, Mac OS X & Linux. |
No |
|
Word processor compatibility? |
Yes. Powerful formatting and customization features in MS Word; also works with OpenOffice and LaTex through BibTex. |
Yes. Requires installation of Cite While You Write plug-in to be used with MS Word. |
Yes. Installation of citation plugin required for Mendeley Desktop if you want to insert citations into word processor. Works with MS Word and OpenOffice |
Yes. Installation of Word Processor Plugin required. Works with MS Word, Word for Mac, LibreOffice and OpenOffice. |
Yes. Installation of “write-n-cite” software required for use with MS Word in both Windows and Mac
All other word processing programs use a slightly different software (One Line/Cite View) instead. |
|
Import citations from databases? |
Yes. Supports direct export from most databases. Able to export multiple citations at a time. |
Yes. Direct export from specific databases. Able to export multiple citations at a time. |
No. Direct export not supported, but can use Mendeley Web Import browser plugin. |
Yes. Direct export from specific databases. Able to export multiple citations at a time. |
Yes. Direct import available for many databases. Multiple reference importing available. |
|
Grabbing citation from web pages |
No. |
Yes. Use Capture Reference bookmarklet for all browsers, or the Firefox Extension (installation required). |
Yes, with Mendeley Web Import browser plugin (save as bookmarket). |
Yes. Chrome or Safari users can install the Zotero Connector or Bookmarklet. |
Yes. Available via RefGrab-it, a separate module. |
|
Automatic citation extraction from PDFs with DOI? |
Yes. Matches DOI on first page of PDF with CrossRef for citations. Automatically attaches PDF to record created. |
No. |
Yes, for Mendeley Desktop. Matches DOI with CrossRef for citations. Attaches PDF to record created. |
Yes, for Zotero Standalone. Matches DOI with CrossRef for citations. Attaches PDF to record created. |
No |
|
Automatic citation extraction from PDFs without DOI? |
No. |
No. |
Able to obtain some metadata for PDFs without DOI. |
Able to obtain citation details of PDFs without DOI by matching with Google Scholar for metadata. |
No |
|
Storage capacity? |
Unlimited local storage. |
EndNote Online - Unlimited; 5GB attachment. EndNote Basic (Free Version) - 50K references; 2GB attachments. |
Unlimited local storage and data syncing; 2 GB free Mendeley web space (larger plans available for purchase) |
Unlimited local storage and data syncing; 300MB free Zotero file syncing (larger syncing plans available for purchase. |
Unlimited |
|
Search Full-text PDFs? |
Yes. Able to search for annotated notes as well. |
No. |
Yes, for Mendeley Deskop. Highlights the words you are searching for in the PDF. |
Search using Adobe features in PDF itself. |
No |
|
Annotate and highlight PDFs? |
Yes. |
No. |
Yes. |
No. |
No |
|
Social networking? |
No. |
Yes, you can create groups to share your EndNote libraries. |
Yes. Private groups (limited to 3 members for free account, larger group plans available for purchase) Invite-only groups and Open groups cannot share file attachments. |
Yes. Has 3 categories of groups, same as Mendeley. All available for free. |
Available via RefShare, a separate add-on module. |
|
Generate bibliography with different citation style? |
Yes. In txt, rtf, html, xml formats. |
Yes. In txt, rtf, html, xml formats. |
Use the citation plugin to create a bibliography. |
Yes. In txt, rtf, html, xml formats. |
Yes. Also has create-your-own style. |
|
Can import records to other citation software? |
Yes. Import option includes RIS, BibTeX, Tab-Delimited, etc. |
Yes. Import option includes RIS, BibTeX, Tab-Delimited. |
Yes. Supports BibTeX, EndNote XML, RIS, etc. |
Yes. Supports various file types, including RIS and BibTeX. |
Yes. Supports RIS and specific import filters for different citation programs etc. |
|
Can export records to other citation software? |
Yes. In txt, rtf, html, xml formats with a variety of export styles. |
Yes. Options include BibTeX, RIS, Tab Delimited. |
Yes. Options include BibTeX, RIS and EndNote XML. |
Yes. BibTeX, RIS, etc. |
Yes. Tab Delimited; XML; RIS, BibTex and RefWorks Tagged |
|
Mobile version? |
No. |
iPad App; Costs US$9.90 |
Free iPad & iPhone App. |
Free ZotPad iPad & iPhone App. |
Yes. Available with RefMobile, available via the Refworks site. |
|
Support/Help? |
Help manual from Help Tab in software. Responsive User Forum Research Guide by SMU Library Training videos from EndNote YouTube channel Training classes by SMU Library |
Help manual from Help Tab in software. Responsive User Forum Research Guide by SMU Library Training videos from EndNote YouTube channel |
Help manual from Help Tab in software. |
Help manual from Help Tab in software. |
Reference Guides/Manuals, Tutorials, Email/Telephone Support, Training, Webinars. |