It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bloomberg provides real-time and historical pricing, indicative and fundamental data, charts and graphs on different topics, customized analytics, and market news. Use this database to obtain financial and business information, including real-time and intra-day data.
Faculty, PhD, and staff only: For online access to Bloomberg Anywhere, please sign up using the Learner Sign Up link and email us at firstname.lastname@example.org and email@example.com to activate the account. Account activation may take up to 2 working days and is for academic purposes at SMU only. As there are limited number of accounts, do click log-out when you finish your session so that others can access. You can still continue to book and access the Bloomberg terminals within the Investment Studio. This Bloomberg Anywhere subscription is temporary and will expire on December 2021.
Crunchbase is a platform for finding business information about private and public companies. Crunchbase information includes investments and funding information, founding members and individuals in leadership positions, mergers and acquisitions, news, and industry trends.
To access this database, please send an e-mail to firstname.lastname@example.org for the login details. Do not re-use login details as these will be periodically refreshed. Attempts to login in with the wrong login details will lead to locked account for 24hours.
FactSet provides data and analytics for global financial and economic markets. Use FactSet to access news and quotes, company and industry analysis and reports, screening features, and tools to analyze securities and portfolios.
Booking instructions: Book a terminal here and use the Factset computers at the Investment Studio on Level 3 . Limited to one booking per user per day. Login instructions: Click the Factset desktop shortcut on the computers first and wait for the login details to load automatically.
This database features thousands of analyst reports covering over 3,000 global companies and all industries. Reports cover equities and company performance, global and regional economics and financial strategy, foreign exchange, commodities, liquidity, and emerging markets
Coverage is from 2011 onwards, with a one week embargo.
PitchBook contains data on start-ups, their valuations and investment deals (by Private Equity firms, VCs and angel investors), along with their exits (acquisitions, IPOs, closings) for over two decades.
10 daily / 25 monthly rows of company, deal or fund data.
10 daily / 25 monthly rows of people data per user.
Journal of private equityThe Journal of Private Equity (JPE) provides research and analysis on investment in venture capital and private equity, including secondary market sales, taxation, and policy issues. JPE highlights the critical components of successful deals with detailed explanations, probing analyses, and real-life case studies. Themes covered in JPE include applying new techniques to enhance deal profitability, managing and monitoring private equity portfolios, locating opportunities and managing risk, and assessing business plans and management teams.
Entrepreneurial Finance by Janet Kiholm Smith; Richard T. Bliss; Richard L. SmithEntrepreneurial Finance: Strategy, Valuation, and Deal Structure applies the theory and methods of finance and economics to the rapidly evolving field of entrepreneurial finance. This approach reveals how entrepreneurs, venture capitalists, and outside investors can rely on academic foundations as a framework to guide decision making. Unlike other texts, this book prepares readers for a wide variety of situations and problems that stakeholders might confront in an entrepreneurial venture. Readers will find a unique and direct focus on value creation as the objective of each strategic and financial choice that an entrepreneur or investor makes. The authors specifically address the influences of risk and uncertainty on new venture success, devoting substantial attention to methods of financial modeling and contract design. Finally, the authors provide a comprehensive survey of approaches to new venture valuation, with an emphasis on applications. The book appeals to a wide range of teaching and learning preferences. To help bring the book to life, simulation exercises appear throughout the text. For those who favor the case method, the authors provide a series of interactive cases that correspond with the book chapters, as well as suggestions for published cases. Finally, the book is organized to complement the development of a business plan for those who wish to create one as they read along. Entrepreneurial Finance is most effectively used in conjunction with a companion website, http://www.sup.org/entrepreneurialfinance. On this site, Venture.Sim simulation software, spreadsheets, templates, simulation applications, interactive cases, and tutorials are available for download. For those teaching from the book, the authors also provide an invaluable suite of instructor's resources.
Publication Date: 2011-03-01
How to attract investors : a personal guide to understanding their mindset and requirements by Uffe Bundgaard-JorgensenInvestors are often looked upon as one homogeneous group of people with money ready to invest; however, this group is very diverse. In some ways, investors are like car buyers who seek common denominators in a car, such as the engine, wheels, brakes and seats, but the car they end up buying depends on personal preferences, needs and the money available. For investors the common denominator is the good business case, the ¿engine, wheels, brakes, seats¿ being a comprehensive business plan. However, which business case they will prefer in the end depends on their personal preference and financial capacity. How to Attract Investors takes the reader into the minds of the investors, addressing many of the challenges connected to investor search and negotiation and living with investors as co-owners. Even the finest skills of the brightest entrepreneurs wouldn¿t be complete without the knowledge of the investor¿s mind. This is the book that unravels it, layer by layer.
Publication Date: 2016-11-09
Mastering Private Equity: transformation via venture capital, minority investments and buyouts by Claudia Zeisberger; Michael Prahl; Bowen WhiteThe definitive guide to private equity for investors and finance professionals Mastering Private Equity was written with a professional audience in mind and provides a valuable and unique reference for investors, finance professionals, students and business owners looking to engage with private equity firms or invest in private equity funds. From deal sourcing to exit, LBOs to responsible investing, operational value creation to risk management, the book systematically distils the essence of private equity into core concepts and explains in detail the dynamics of venture capital, growth equity and buyout transactions. With a foreword by Henry Kravis, Co-Chairman and Co-CEO of KKR, and special guest comments by senior PE professionals. This book combines insights from leading academics and practitioners and was carefully structured to offer: A clear and concise reference for the industry expert A step-by-step guide for students and casual observers of the industry A theoretical companion to the INSEAD case book Private Equity in Action: Case Studies from Developed and Emerging Markets Features guest comments by senior PE professionals from the firms listed below: Abraaj * Adams Street Partners * Apax Partners * Baring PE Asia * Bridgepoint * The Carlyle Group * Coller Capital * Debevoise & Plimpton LLP * FMO * Foundry Group * Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer * General Atlantic * ILPA * Intermediate Capital Group * KKR Capstone * LPEQ * Maxeda * Navis Capital * Northleaf Capital * Oaktree Capital * Partners Group * Permira * Terra Firma