It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bloomberg provides real-time and historical pricing, indicative and fundamental data, charts and graphs on different topics, customized analytics, and market news. Use this database to obtain financial and business information, including real-time and intra-day data.
Faculty, PhD, and staff only: For online access to Bloomberg Anywhere, please sign up using the Learner Sign Up link and email us at firstname.lastname@example.org and email@example.com to activate the account. Account activation may take up to 2 working days and is for academic purposes at SMU only. As there are limited number of accounts, do click log-out when you finish your session so that others can access. You can still continue to book and access the Bloomberg terminals within the Investment Studio. This Bloomberg Anywhere subscription is temporary and will expire on December 2021.
Crunchbase is a platform for finding business information about private and public companies. Crunchbase information includes investments and funding information, founding members and individuals in leadership positions, mergers and acquisitions, news, and industry trends.
To access this database, please send an e-mail to firstname.lastname@example.org for the login details. Do not re-use login details as these will be periodically refreshed. Attempts to login in with the wrong login details will lead to locked account for 24hours.
FactSet provides data and analytics for global financial and economic markets. Use FactSet to access news and quotes, company and industry analysis and reports, screening features, and tools to analyze securities and portfolios.
Booking instructions: Book a terminal here and use the Factset computers at the Investment Studio on Level 3 . Limited to one booking per user per day. Login instructions: Click the Factset desktop shortcut on the computers first and wait for the login details to load automatically.
This is a financial database covering global new issues, mergers & acquisitions, corporate governance, corporate restructuring, global public finance, industry specific, securities trading and venture capital.
Booking instructions: Book a terminal here and use the SDC computers at the Investment Studio in Level 3. Limited to one booking per user per day. Login instructions: Click the SDC desktop shortcut on the terminals, and wait for the login to load automatically. When prompted, enter the Username:smu, and Project description: Type in any description you wish. Guides:How do I Use SDC.
If You Know Nothing About Venture Capital, Watch This First
Selected print books & eBooks
Angels, Dragons and Vultures by Simon AclandIn Angels, Dragons and Vultures Simon Acland shares the experience of his successful venture capital career. The book is a guide for entrepreneurs to all aspects of venture capital. Angels, Dragons and Vultures provides advice on whether to start down the venture capital road in the first place. It discusses the pros and cons of different sources of funding, suggests how to raise money successfully, and exposes the implications of different deal structures. Then it tells you how best to manage your new investors and maps out the route to a successful exit. Angels, Dragons and Vultures is essential reading for any entrepreneur who is considering raising venture capital, or who already has and wants help managing their new partner.
Call Number: U00064793G
Publication Date: 2010-10-21
Venture Capital Fund Management by Lin Hong WongWritten by a seasoned practitioner, Venture Capital Fund Management arguably provides the most comprehensive coverage of the entire professional practice of a venture capital firm. Offering in-depth explanations of concepts, practical advice on methodologies, and suggestions of best practices, this book covers topics such as venture capital fund-raising, deal sourcing and screening, due diligence, valuation, deal structuring, deal negotiation, and legal documentation, as well as the post-investment processes of monitoring, adding value, and divestment. This book also provides readers with crucial information surrounding issues that commonly affect venture capital firms, such as corporate governance, public disclosure, corporate structure, corporate qualities, fund performance measures, investor relations, tax, legal, and staffing issues. Furthermore, by applying total quality management concepts to the due diligence process, the author has created a systematic approach to effective due diligence. Venture Capital Fund Management is a comprehensive and integrated book on the venture capital investment practice and is truly an indispensable resource for both practitioners and would-be practitioners alike. The book includes information on: VC Financing, VC Organization, Raising Funds, Limited Partnership Agreement, Deal Sourcing, Non-Disclosure Agreement, Deal Log, Deal Screening, Deal Alert, Due Diligence Basics, Due Diligence of Management, Due Diligence of Marketing & the Market,
Due Diligence of Manufacturing, Due Diligence of Financial & Legal Aspects, Valuation, The Venture Capital Method,
A Spreadsheet Model for the Venture Capital Method,
Investment Securities, Deal Structuring, Term Sheet,
Deal Negotiation, Conditions Precedent, Investment Documentation, Monitoring & Adding Value, Quarterly Monitoring Report, Realizing & Recovering Value,
Fund Performance, Valuation Report, Qualities of a VC Firm, and GP's Letter to Shareholders.
The Business of Venture Capital by Mahendra RamsinghaniThe new edition of the definitive guide for venture capital practitioners--covers the entire process of venture firm formation & management, fund-raising, portfolio construction, value creation, and exit strategies Since its initial publication, The Business of Venture Capital has been hailed as the definitive, most comprehensive book on the subject. Now in its third edition, this market-leading text explains the multiple facets of the business of venture capital, from raising venture funds, to structuring investments, to generating consistent returns, to evaluating exit strategies. Author and VC Mahendra Ramsinghani who has invested in startups and venture funds for over a decade, offers best practices from experts on the front lines of this business. This fully-updated edition includes fresh perspectives on the Softbank effect, career paths for young professionals, case studies and cultural disasters, investment models, epic failures, and more. Readers are guided through each stage of the VC process, supported by a companion website containing tools such as the LP-GP Fund Due Diligence Checklist, the Investment Due Diligence Checklist, an Investment Summary format, and links to white papers and other industry guidelines. Designed for experienced practitioners, angels, devils, and novices alike, this valuable resource: Identifies the key attributes of a VC professional and the arc of an investor's career Covers the art of raising a venture fund, identifying anchor investors, fund due diligence, negotiating fund investment terms with limited partners, and more Examines the distinct aspects of portfolio construction and value creation Balances technical analyses and real-world insights Features interviews, personal stories, anecdotes, and wisdom from leading venture capitalists The Business of Venture Capital, Third Edition is a must-read book for anyone seeking to raise a venture fund or pursue a career in venture capital, as well as practicing venture capitalists, angel investors or devils alike, limited partners, attorneys, start-up entrepreneurs, and MBA students.