Research Guides: GrabER: Jul 2022

New titles

Databases

CloudSource OA This link opens in a new window
CloudSource OA provides Open Access material and digital learning objects for teaching, learning, and research, including over 40 million Open Textbooks, journal articles and readings, as well as high quality openly available teaching and educational resources (open educational resources) such as case studies, lecture notes, syllabus, activities/labs, games, and datasets for teaching and self-learning.
FTSE Russell historical data via WRDS This link opens in a new window
FTSE Russell is a leading global index provider creating and managing a wide range of indexes, data and analytic solutions to meet client needs across asset classes, style and strategies. Covering 98% of the investable market, FTSE Russell indexes offer a true picture of global markets, combined with the specialist knowledge gained from developing local benchmarks around the world.

Registration is required for access to WRDS.
For undergraduates, please register for Day Pass access with your SMU email.
For faculty, staff and postgraduates, register for your individual account.
Philosopher's Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews published worldwide since 1940. Topics covered include aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion.
UN Comtrade This link opens in a new window
UN Comtrade (United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database) is a comprehensive source of world trade statistics. Coverage includes monthly and annual trade data reported by countries, including merchandise flows by commodity and partner country. The Premium License allows additional options to bulk download large amounts of records via API.

Registration is required for premium access to UN Comtrade.
Enter your SMU email address and click on ‘send verification code’. Please also note that the organization code field is not required when registering with your SMU email address. Further instructions can be found in the user guide.
vLexJustis This link opens in a new window
vLexJustis provides access to both vLex and Justis content which includes case law, legislation, journals, books, dockets, news, commentary, and more, spanning a wide range of jurisdictions including the United Kingdom, European Union, and Southeast Asia.

Journals

Comparative Politics is an international journal that publishes scholarly articles devoted to the comparative analysis of political institutions and behavior. It was founded in 1968 to further the development of comparative political theory and the application of comparative theoretical analysis to the empirical investigation of political issues. Comparative Politics communicates new ideas and research findings to social scientists, scholars, and students, and is valued by experts in research organizations, foundations, and consulates throughout the world.

In the pipeline

Perlego E-Textbook database (Target to start in Aug 22)

Perlego is a digital online library focusing on the delivery of academic, professional and non-fiction eBooks. It is a subscription-based service that offers users unlimited access to texts, which include a large number of textbooks to support course readings, for the duration of their subscription.

Subscribers have access to and are able to enjoy the following:

Unlimited access to over 900,000 textbooks
Over 950 topics and subtopics to choose from
Built-in study tools like annotations and highlights to improve the learning experience
Ability to read on any device (laptop, tablet, mobile)

Titles on trial

Preqin Infrastructure (co-funded by LKCSB)

New content to be added (full APAC access):

•   News
•   PC fundraising
•   Dry powder & AUM
•   Fund profile
•   Fund Managers profile
•   Fund Performance data
•   Benchmarks

Trial for the new content will start on 1 Dec 22 until 30 Dec 22. Subscription will start on 31 Dec 22, aligned with library's Preqin subscription period.

Sustainable Development Goals Online (SDGO) by Taylor & Francis

Taylor & Francis’ Sustainable Development Goals Online collection (SDGO) is a curated interdisciplinary collection of digital content mapped to the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

The SDGO includes more than 12,000 relevant book chapters and journal articles, published under the Routledge and CRC Press imprints, in an online library covering all 17 SDGs. The collection also features teaching and learning resources, including core essays, presentations, videos, case studies, teaching guides, and lesson plans.

Trial period was from 24 Mar to 22 Apr 22. Evaluation of the resource has been completed.

Changes to subscribed titles

Update on subscriptions

Change in access method:

i-law.com

Access now via individual account logins instead of ezyproxy. The following instructions has been added to A-Z.

Note: from April 2022, i-law requires email and password to access the database. For more information on accessing i-law, please refer to the following FAQ.

If you are a faculty, adjunct, UG or PG from YPHSOL, your account should be already pre-loaded into the system.

For non-YPHSOL users, as long as you are an active SMU faculty, staff, UG or PG, you are able to request for an account. Please click this link to complete the form and register your interest.

TradeWinds

Access now via individual account logins instead of ezyproxy. The following instructions has been added to A-Z.

5 concurrent users. Please use these steps to access:
1. Go to this link
2. Key in your SMU email address and click on “Create Account”
3. Fill up the details and click on “Continue”
4. An email with a verification code will be sent to the registered email address
5. Key in the verification code to complete the account creation
6. After account is created, Tradewinds can be access via http://www.tradewindsnews.com. Users just need to click on “Login” and key in their login details.

Westlaw

Access is now via SSO instead of ezyproxy. Users just need to click on the link and authenticate themselves using their SMU login credentials.

Update:

Bloomberg Professional Service

Remote access service has ceased on 30 Jun 2022. The following note has been updated in A-Z.

Important Note: Bloomberg has ceased its extended temporary remote access service with effect from 30 June 2022. For access to Bloomberg, please visit the Investment Studio.