Frequently Used Databases for WR
Librarians have shorlisted the following 7 databases that are most relevant to WR assignments:
Highlights from Databases:
MarketLine Advantage: Case studies, reports on countries, industries and companies, company news and financial deals, and company-level SWOT analysis.
Passport: Business intelligence, historical statistics, forecasts, analysis of consumer lifestyles, brand and company information, and market analysis, such as brand shares and retail channels.
WARC: Marketing and communications resources on branding, campaign development and tracking, audience insights, and media channel intelligence and trends. The Case Study Analysis segment offers insights, analysis and lessons from award-winning campaigns.
ProQuest Databases: Multidisciplinary full-text academic articles and ebooks.
Factiva: Newspapers, magazines, newswires, company information, and industry snapshots. Source coverage includes local news sources such as The Straits Times, Channel NewsAsia, The Business Times, AsiaOne, etc.
Statista: Forecasts, industry reports, dossiers (special theme insights), and consumer insights via the Global Consumer Survey segment.
Communication and Mass Media Complete: Marketing and communications resources on broadcasting, communication arts, communication management, communication sciences, linguistics, marketing, public relations, and media.
If you require assistance in using any of these databases, ask for help from your friendly librarians!
FAQ: Database e-Access Issues
Practice self-troubleshooting:
Still having issues? Contact SMU Libraries for help!
Information Sources
General, Socio-demographic Information:
SingStat: Statistical data series on the Singapore economy and socio-demographics.
SingStat - Elderly, Youth and Sex Profile: Statistics on elderly, youth and gender.
Ministry of Culture, Community & Youth (MCCY): Initiatives and programmes in the charity, community, sports, and youth sectors, sector news and resources.
National Youth Council (NYC): Youth insights and studies such as regular surveys, polls, and longitudinal studies on youth attitudes, sentiments, life goals, and career aspirations. NYC report: The State of Youth in Singapore 2024
OneMap.sg: Population Query allows geo-targeting for specific demographics and areas in Singapore.
ADHD:
Asia Pacific Journal of Developmental Differences (APJDD) by Dyslexia Association of Singapore (DAS): Unique in addressing a range of special educational needs including dyslexia, autism, dyspraxia, dyscalculia, ADHD in the Asian context.
Dyslexia Association of Singapore (DAS): In addition to the APJDD issues published by DAS, you may also want to check out their DAS Handbooks, which is a collection of articles, essays, research, case studies and practical information for people with dyslexia, their families and for the professionals who work with them to help them embrace dyslexia.
National Mental Health and Well-being Strategy (2023) by Ministry of Health (MOH): Aims to work towards improving the mental health ecosystem where people with mental health needs can seek help without stigma and are readily supported for their recovery.
Ministry of Health (MOH): Parliamentary QA - Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder includes some statistics of ADHD in Singapore.
Building Resilience And interVEntion (BRAVE) study by Institute of Mental Health (IMH): An ongoing, important nationwide study to screen for and establish the prevalence of mental health issues in children and adolescents born between 2007 and 2016. (IMH Media Release)
Charity and Fundraising:
Ministry of Culture, Community & Youth (MCCY) Charities: Charity Portal, Commissioner of Charities (COC) Annual Report 2023, Fund-raising
National Council of Social Service (NCSS): Sustainable Philantrophy Framework, Resource Sustainability Playbook
Industry and Markets Sources:
3 innovators that are shaping the next stage of food innovation in Singapore
Roquette is reimagining local Asian dishes with healthier, more sustainable plant protein
Connecting the Little Red Dots: Singapore’s Emerging Blueprint for Future-Proof Food
Alternative protein is booming in Asia because it meets a genuine need
Protein Shift Innovation Scan study by Enterprise Singapore: A landscape study of food innovators and ecosystem partners driving the protein shift in Singapore and the Netherlands.
Relevant studies commissioned by Enterprise Singapore:
Good Food Institute: Retail trends and opportunities for plant-based products
Good Food Institute APAC: 2023 APAC State of the Industry Report
WARC Best Practices on Brand Campaigns:
Use the WARC Case Finder to search for case studies on advertising effectiveness.
Apply the Google site: search operator!
The Google site: search operator is a powerful search technique that you can use across different research topics. It helps you efficiently locate information from specific sites based on your keywords. For example, try these search strings on Google Search: