It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MPA (Master of Professional Accounting) Guide: 3. Learn to use Financial databases
Basic guide for masters of Professional Accounting
Bloomberg provides real-time and historical pricing, indicative and fundamental data, charts and graphs on different topics, customized analytics, and market news. Use this database to obtain financial and business information, including real-time and intra-day data.
Faculty, PhD, and staff only: For online access to Bloomberg Anywhere, please sign up using the Learner Sign Up link and email us at email@example.com and firstname.lastname@example.org to activate the account. Account activation may take up to 2 working days and is for academic purposes at SMU only. As there are limited number of accounts, do click log-out when you finish your session so that others can access. You can still continue to book and access the Bloomberg terminals within the Investment Studio. This Bloomberg Anywhere subscription is temporary and will expire on December 2021.
Datastream is a financial and economic database of Thomson Reuters. It provides current and historical time series data on equities, bonds, indices, unit trusts, investment trusts, bonds, exchange rates, interest rates, commodities, derivatives, and economic data.
Access via Datastream alternatively via WRDS (you will need a WRDS account).
S&P Capital IQ is a web-based platform that has private and public company information, executive profiles, industry analysis, basic commodities information, economic data, historical and future estimates, and a screening function to create lists of companies/people using various criteria. All SMU faculty and students can create their own account in Capital IQ.
This is a financial database covering global new issues, mergers & acquisitions, corporate governance, corporate restructuring, global public finance, industry specific, securities trading and venture capital.
Booking instructions: Book a terminal here and use the SDC computers at the Investment Studio in Level 3. Limited to one booking per user per day. Login instructions: Click the SDC desktop shortcut on the terminals, and wait for the login to load automatically. When prompted, enter the Username:smu, and Project description: Type in any description you wish. Guides:How do I Use SDC.
WRDS provides access to over 350 terabytes of data across multiple disciplines including Accounting, Banking, Economics, ESG, Finance, Healthcare, Insurance, Marketing, and Statistics. Data delivery options include a web query method, the WRDS Cloud for executing research and strategy development, and the WRDS client server using PCSAS, Matlab, and R.
Wind Financial Terminal provides data and information on Chinese financial market, covering stocks, bonds, funds, indices, warrants, commodity futures, foreign exchanges, macro industry, etc. in Mainland China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan.
Booking instructions: Book a terminal here and use the WIND computers at the Investment Studio on Level 3 . Limited to one booking per user per day. Login instructions: Click the WIND desktop shortcut on the computers first and wait for login details to load automatically. Guides:How do I use WIND.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
WRDS is an Internet-based business data research service from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. WRDS provides access to Compustat, CRSP, NYSE TAQ, I/B/E/S, Institutional (13F), Mutual Funds, Insiders Filing Data, and other important business research databases.
Faculty/Postgraduate Students/Staff: Register with WRDS for a personal account.
The following databases are available with our subscription: