The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics by
Written by a team of leading political scientists, the Concise Dictionary of Politics contains more than 1,700 entries, including new materials on topics such as NGOs, butterfly ballots, decentralization, ethnic cleansing, and direct action. Covering political thinkers, institutions, and concepts, the dictionary has an international perspective. Appendices list the political leaders of a range of countries and international institutions.
Routledge Dictionary of Politics by
This dictionary is the essential guide to politics, its terminologies, ideologies and institutions. Providing authoritative and up-to-date information that is invaluable to both students and general readers, it includes: well over 500 extensive definitions an understanding of the basics of political thought and theory clear, no-nonsense coverage of complex ideologies and dogmas succinct definitions of highly specialized and technical terms. Previously published by Penguin, this third edition has been extensively revised and updated with many new entries.
The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World by
Will the end of superpower rivalry bring greater international harmony--or more volatile and dangerously unpredictable conflicts? Where two massive spheres of influence once divided the globe, now regional conflicts erupt into scenes of tragedy and confusion. In Africa, the new Europe, Asia, and the Americas, nations chart a bold course toward democracy. But they cannot break free of old divisions, as ethnic nationalism emerges amidst economic devastation. Indeed, nations everywhere, however powerful, are buffeted on every side. Their sovereignty is checked by the global economy as well as powerful regional economic and political blocs. At a time of exceptional ferment, Oxford is pleased to present the most authoritative, timely, in-depth reference available for understanding the people, nations, conflicts, movements, institutions, and issues that dominate the world political stage. Edited by a team of eminent political scientists, The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World provides readers the depth of coverage, the historical contexts, and the richness of interpretation needed to come to terms with today's volatile international scene. Drawing on the insights of nearly 500 authors from more than 40 countries, the volume provides comprehensive coverage of international affairs and domestic politics throughout the world. Articles discuss virtually every nation in the world, and include extensive information on institutions, political parties, leaders, and the sources of political mobilization and conflict. The volume also includes biographies of more than seventy-five political leaders and thinkers who have shaped the contemporary political world, and detailed discussions of critical historical developments and events, concepts, international law, and organizations. For example, there is a biography of Richard M. Nixon by Garry Wills and one of Winston Churchill by Martin Gilbert; an essay on development and underdevelopment by Claude Ake; an article on human rights by Aryeh Neier; coverage of such subjects as Hiroshima, sovereignty, and the International Court of Justice by Richard Falk. Todd Gitlin writes on the New Left, Anthony Lake on the Vietnam War, and Robert B. Reich on deindustrialization. Charlotte Bunch examines feminism, and Zhores A. Medvedev explains Chernobyl. The Companion also presents major interpretive essays treating seminal contemporary themes such as ethnicity, nationalism, war, gender and politics, and environmentalism, essays that offer readers a deeper, more substantial understanding of headlines day after day. Drawn from a wide range of disciplines, including political science, economics, women's studies, law, anthropology, history, and business, the contributors to the volume provide factual information, new insights, and fresh interpretations as they consider the critical political developments of the twentieth century. The Oxford Companions have long been respected for their lively and informative presentation of the finest scholarship. (Harper's has called the "the best reference books in the language.") The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World maintains this high standard in an accessible, timely, thought-provoking, and comprehensive reference that captures the complexity, vitality, and endless fascination of contemporary world affairs.
Guide to Countries of the World by
This A-Z guide provides a wealth of information for every country in the world. Each entry gives a brief history and outlines contemporary social, economic, political and religious issues. In addition, for each country there is a clear map and a quick-reference fact box containing data and statistics including languages, population, GDP, capital city, life expectancy, and more. The inclusion of at least one web link for every country is a new feature to thisedition and web links are conveniently accessible via the Guide to Countries of the World companion website. Invaluable supplementary material includes detailed indicator tables showing income and poverty,health and population etc, and list of international organizations, such as the EU and the African Union, with essential information about these groupings.Revised and fully up to date with the latest key facts, this accessible guide is ideal for students and teachers of geography, politics, economics, world religions, and world history at all levels, as well as anyone wanting a home reference book to accompany an atlas.
Handbook of Political Theory by
`This volume combines remarkable coverage and distinguished contributors. The inclusion of thematic, conceptual, and historical chapters will make it a valuable resource for scholars as well as students' - Professor George Klosko, Department of Politics, University of Virginia This major new Handbook provides a definitive state-of-the-art review to political theory, past and present. It offers a complete guide to all the main areas and fields of political and philosophical inquiry today by the world's leading theorists. The Handbook is divided into five parts which together serve to illustrate: - the diversity of political theorizing - the substantive theories that provide an over-aching analysis of the nature/or justification of the state and political life - the political theories that have been either formulated or resurgent in recent years - the current state of the central debates within contemporary political theory - the history of western political thought and its interpretations - traditions in political thought outside a western perspective. The Handbook of Political Theory marks a benchmark publication at the cutting edge of its field. It is essential reading for all students and academics of political theory and political philosophy around the world.
Handbook of Party Politics by
'This thoughtful and wide-ranging review of parties and party research contains contributions from many of the foremost party scholars and is a must for all library shelves' - Richard Luther, Keele University 'The study of political parties has never been livelier and this genuinely international Handbook - theoretically rich, comparatively informed, and focused on important questions - defines the field. This volume is both an indispensable summary of what we know and the starting point for future research' - R K Carty, University of British Columbia 'Political parties are ubiquitous, but their forms and functions vary greatly from regime to regime, from continent to continent, and from era to era. The Handbook of Party Politics captures this variation and richness in impressive ways. The editors have assembled an excellent team, and the scope of the volume is vast and intriguing' - Kaare Strom, University of California, San Diego Political parties are indispensable to democracy and a central subject of research and study in political science around the world. This major new handbook is the first to comprehensively map the state-of-the-art in contemporary party politics scholarship. The Handbook is designed to: - provide an invaluable survey of the major theories and approaches in this dynamic area of study and research - give students and researchers a concise 'road map' to the core literatures in all the sub-fields of party related theorizing and research - identify the theories, approaches and topics that define the current 'cutting edge' of the field. The Handbook is comparative in overall approach but also addresses some topics to be addressed in nationally or regionally specific ways. The resulting collaboration has brought together the world's leading party theorists to provide an unrivalled resource on the role of parties in the pressing contemporary problems of institutional design and democratic governance today.
The SAGE Handbook of Nations and Nationalism by
The SAGE Handbook of Nations and Nationalism gives readers a critical survey of the latest theories and debates and provides a glimpse of the issues that will shape their future. Its three sections guide the reader through the theoretical approaches to this field of study, its major themes - from modernity to memory, migration and genocide - and the diversity of nationalisms found around the globe. The overall aim of this Handbook is to relate theories and debates within and across a range of disciplines, illuminate themes and issues of central importance in both historical and contemporary contexts, and show how nationalism has impacted upon and interacted with other political and social forms and forces. This book will provide a much-needed resource for scholars in international relations, political science, social theory, and sociology.
The SAGE Handbook of Conflict Communication by
First Edition winner of the 2007 Distinguished Book Award from the Communication & Social Cognition Division of the National Communication Association. The means to express conflict is through communication (verbal and nonverbal messages); likewise, the means to manage and address conflict is through communication. The Second Edition of the award-winning The SAGE Handbook of Conflict Communication emphasizes constructive conflict management from a communication perspective which places primacy in the message as the focus of conflict research and practice. Editors John G. Oetzel and Stella Ting-Toomey, along with expert researchers in the discipline, have assembled in one resource the knowledge base of the field of conflict communication; identified the best theories, ideas, and practices of conflict communication; and provided the opportunity for scholars and practitioners to link theoretical frameworks and application tools. Key Features: Examines conflict in multiple contexts: Rather than focusing on a single context, the Handbook's four parts focus on contexts in which conflict occurs - conflict in relationships and families, conflict at work, conflict in communities, and conflict in international/intercultural situations - and includes an understanding of how each context impacts the others. Integrates research and practice: The art and science of conflict are blended together by integrating research and practice so that practitioners and scholars know both the theoretical explanations of conflict as well as the skills needed to address conflict. Offers a thorough review of literature: This book assembles the knowledge base of the field of conflict communication in one volume. A thorough review of literature provides access to a vast amount of research. Since culture shapes the way we view and communicate about conflict, a strong emphasis is placed on cultural diversity.
The Oxford Handbook of Comparative Politics by
The Oxford Handbooks of Political Science is a ten-volume set of reference books offering authoritative and engaging critical overviews of the state of political science. Each volume focuses on a particular part of the discipline, with volumes on Public Policy, Political Theory, Political Economy, Contextual Political Analysis, Comparative Politics, International Relations, Law and Politics, Political Behavior, Political Institutions, and Political Methodology. The project as a whole is under the General Editorship of Robert E. Goodin, with each volume being edited by a distinguished international group of specialists in their respective fields. The books set out not just to report on the discipline, but to shape it. The series will be an indispensable point of reference for anyone working in political science and adjacent disciplines. The Oxford Handbook of Comparative Politics offers a critical survey of the field of empirical political science through the collection of a set of chapters written by forty-seven top scholars in the discipline of comparative politics. Part I includes chapters surveying the key research methodologies employed in comparative politics (the comparative method; the use of history; the practice and status of case-study research; the contributions of field research) and assessing the possibility of constructing a science of comparative politics. Parts II to IV examine the foundations of political order: the origins of states and the extent to which they relate to war and to economic development; the sources of compliance or political obligation among citizens; democratic transitions, the role of civic culture; authoritarianism; revolutions; civil wars and contentious politics. Parts V and VI explore the mobilization, representation and coordination of political demands. Part V considers why parties emerge, the forms they take and the ways in which voters choose parties. It then includes chapters on collective action, social movements and political participation. Part VI opens up with essays on the mechanisms through which political demands are aggregated and coordinated. This sets the agenda to the systematic exploration of the workings and effects of particular institutions: electoral systems, federalism, legislative-executive relationships, the judiciary and bureaucracy. Finally, Part VII is organized around the burgeoning literature on macropolitical economy of the last two decades.
The Oxford Handbook of Political Theory by
The Oxford Handbooks of Political Science is a ten-volume set of reference books offering authoritative and engaging critical overviews of the state of political science. This volume, The Oxford Handbook of Political Theory, provides comprehensive and critical coverage of the lively and contested field of political theory, and will help set the agenda for the field for years to come. Long recognized as one of the main branches of political science, political theory has in recent years burgeoned in many different directions. Forty-five chapters by distinguished political theorists look at the state of the field, where it has been in the recent past, and where it is likely to go in future. They examine political theory's edges as well as its core, the globalizing context of the field, and the challenges presented by social, economic, and technological changes.