Political Science: Find Data

Includes statistics and selected key indicators about ASEAN and its Member States.

CEIC Database provides time series data for the economy, industrial, finance, real estate, tourism, telecommunication and transport sectors for more than 120 countries in the world, with in-depth data for China and India.

Analyst reports and forecasts for both economic and political aspects.

Provides global market indicators and forecasts covering 1990 to 5 years forward. Data is available for macroeconomic indicators, demography, income, consumer goods, financial services and labor productivity.

For data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, interest rates, international transactions, and government accounts. Data can be viewed by country, region, or world aggregate with time series for up to 30 years and is updated monthly.

Includes world and regional statistics, national data, maps, and rankings.

Includes data for economic, industry and social indicators for OECD countries. With data from core titles such as OECD Economic Outlook and OECD Economic Surveys.

Free and open access to global development data.

Includes data on development which includes policy, and also has data on government finance and social indicators.

The most comprehensive public collection of political violence and protest data for developing states. This data and analysis project produces information on the specific dates and locations of political violence and protest, the types of event, the groups involved, fatalities, and changes in territorial control. Information is recorded on the battles, killings, riots, and recruitment activities of rebels, governments, militias, armed groups, protesters and civilians.

Data and analysis on conflicts worldwide.

Annual analysis of the global conflict events, including non-violent and violent crises, wars, coup d'etats as well as peace negotiations.

Includes datasets covering COW country codes; inter-state, intra-state, non-state, and extra-state war; militarized interstate disputes; national material capabilities; alliances; contiguity; territorial change; IGOs; and bilateral trade.

The CDP’s objective is to compile, for 165 countries in the post WWII era, a more comprehensive listing, documentation, and categorization of coups for use by researchers. The project is ongoing, but variables include date, COW country code, type of coup, and multiple indicators categorizing the actors involved, means used, and outcome of the coup attempts.

Provides a list of coups by country and by country-year. They define coups as "illegal and overt attempts by the military or other elites within the state apparatus to unseat the sitting executive," and successes as episodes in which the perpetrators control power for at least 7 days.

Open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2016. Includes systematic data on more than 170,000 international terrorist incidents.

Provides data on displaced populations, political instability and violence. Maintained by Center for Systemic Peace.

Drawing from UN archival records, the IPI Peacekeeping Database presents the first publicly available database of total uniformed personnel contributions of each contributing country by month, by type (troop, police, or expert/observer) and by mission, from November 1990 to 2012.

Research project started by Paul Hensel that is collecting systematic data on contentious issues in world politics. Datasets currently include territorial claims, river claims, maritime claims, and regime claims. Supplementary datasets include colonial history, historical state names, and multilateral treaties of pacific settlement.

An open source web application to share, preserve, cite, explore, and analyze research data. Includes replication data from Paul Huth's publications, including his 1996 book, Standing Your Ground, and his 2003 book with Todd Allee, The Democratic Peace and Territorial Conflict in the Twentieth Century.

Reports the annual measure of terror inflicted upon a population, referring specifically to state-sanc­tioned killings, tor­ture, dis­ap­pear­ances and polit­ic­al im­pris­on­ment.

Source for research and data on security and conflict. SIPRI has databases on military expenditures, arms transfers, arms embargoes, and peacekeeping operations.

Datasets on organised violence and peacemaking, all of which can be downloaded for free. The data provided is one of the most accurate and well-used data-sources on global armed conflicts.

Retrieve statistical information about: trade profiles, tariff profiles, aid for trade profiles and time series.

Includes international trade data compiled by the UN.

Includes market analysis tools for data such as, trade statistics, tariffs and market requirements, foreign direct investment data, voluntary standards, and more.

Being the United Nations’ focal point for the integrated treatment of trade and development and the interrelated issues in the areas of finance, technology, investment and sustainable development, UNCTAD compiles, validates and processes a wide range of data collected from national and international sources.

The Pew Research Center is a "nonpartisan fact tank" conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis, and other empirical social science research around several broad themes. All data and reports can be browsed by topic, searched by question, and are freely downloadable. 1997-present.

Available twice yearly, in published reports or via an online analysis tool: "This tool runs a search of the Trends questions database. It is possible to look for data on specific countries or a group of countries. In addition to comparing the results of several countries for a specific question, it allows analysis of country trends . The data can be displayed as a graph, a pie chart, in an excel table or in columns.
Survey results can also be displayed on a map of the EU. The colour coding facilitates quick and easy comparisons between countries."

GSS provides a clear and unbiased perspective on what Americans think and feel about such issues as national spendi​ng priorities, crime and punishment, intergroup relations, and confidence in institutions.

A cross-national collaboration programme conducting annual surveys on diverse topics relevant to social sciences.

Includes a large archive of public opinion data, including more than 1,000 Harris Polls from as early as 1958, the National Network of State Polls collection (775 studies from more than 25 states), the Carolina Poll (1977–2005), Monmouth University Polling Institute polls (2011+), the Southern Focus Poll (1992–2001), and some USA Today polls (1984–1993).

In partnership with the International Institutions and Global Governance program at the Council on Foreign Relations, WorldOpinion.org consolidates global and U.S. public opinion covering ten major issue areas: elements of world order, international institutions, violent conflict, terrorism, nuclear proliferation, climate change, energy security, the global economy, economic development, and human rights.

Global network of social scientists studying changing values and their impact on social and political life, Use the left-hand menu under Data & Documentation to download data.

Includes data estimates for irregular migration for individual countries and Europe, explanations on the presentation and classification of estimates, and background information.

The database aims to provide comprehensive information on internal displacement worldwide. It covers all countries and territories for which IDMC has obtained data on situations of internal displacement, and provides data on situations of Internal displacement associated with conflict and generalized violence (1998-2015) and displacement associated with sudden-onset natural hazard-related disasters (2008-2015).

Provide users within and outside the ILO with relevant, timely and reliable labour statistics, to develop international standards for better measurement of labour issues and enhanced international comparability, and to help member States develop and improve their labour statistics.

Sshowcases the most current national and state-level demographic, social, and economic facts about immigrants to the United States; as well as stock, flow, citizenship, net migration, and historical data for countries in Europe, North America, and beyond.

Provides tables with recent annual series on migration flows and stocks in OECD countries.

Interactive map of refugee migrations around the world in each year since 1975. UN data is complemented by original histories of the major refugee crises of the last four decades, situated in their individual contexts.

Provides data and other information on the changing relationship between human beings and the environment.

Portal to a wealth of international and regional data on many aspects of the environment including agriculture, air quality, biodiversity, coral reefs, ecosystems, endangered and threatened species, emissions, erosion, forests, human settlements, land use, ozone, pesticides, and weather.

International data on agriculture production and fisheries, food supply and nutrition, land use and environmental topics, by country. Create online tables or download series as comma-delimited files.

Monitors and distributes information on factors that influence food production, availability, and prices in developing countries. An excellent source on food security topics. Its most recent data tool is National Basic Food Prices, which tracks domestic prices of foods staples in over 50 countries.

Detailed international data on coal, electricity, natural gas, oil, renewables, carbon dioxide emissions from fuel combustion, energy prices and taxes, energy technology research and development,world energy statistics and balances, and forecasts from energy policies.

Various international, regional, and country data on various aspects of the environment including IPPS Pollution Intensity and Abatement Cost Datasets.

Focuses on environmental issues and ecosystem/human interaction. Download selected tables and graphs from their many publications as well as spatial data for use with GIS.

Has statistical time series for Singapore, covering all areas like demographic, economic and social.

Singapore is one of the countries covered and it provides historical statistics, forecasts, analysis of consumer lifestyles, brand and company information, and full-text market analysis. Includes indepth data on population, people, households & homes, leisure & lifestyle.

The SingStat Table Builder contains statistical data series on the Singapore economy and population that users may select to build customized data tables, export these tables in different file formats or plot graphs and charts.