Research Guides: Open Educational Resources: Business

Subject Areas

OER by Discipline:

Research Guides for Business:

Business Research Navigator
by Sumita Govindan Last Updated Oct 17, 2025 389 views this year
Strategy (MGMT102)
by Redzuan Abdullah Last Updated Aug 22, 2025 437 views this year
Finance & Quantitative Finance Research Navigator
by Lip Hwe Tee Last Updated Oct 17, 2025 1437 views this year
Marketing (MKTG)
by Sumita Govindan Last Updated Oct 17, 2025 1681 views this year
Corporate Communication
by Sumita Govindan Last Updated Sep 30, 2025 126 views this year

Introduction to Business by Lawrence J. Gitman; Carl McDaniel; Amit Shah; Monique Reece; Linda Koffel; Bethann Talsma; James C. Hyatt
ISBN: 9781947172548

Publication Date: 2018-09-19

Introduction to Business covers the scope and sequence of most introductory business courses. The book provides detailed explanations in the context of core themes such as customer satisfaction, ethics, entrepreneurship, global business, and managing change. Introduction to Business includes hundreds of current business examples from a range of industries and geographic locations, which feature a variety of individuals. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of business concepts, with attention to the knowledge and skills necessary for student success in this course and beyond.
Business Ethics by Stephen M. Byars; Kurt Stanberry
ISBN: 9781947172562

Publication Date: 2018-09-24

Business Ethics is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the single-semester business ethics course. This title includes innovative features designed to enhance student learning, including case studies, application scenarios, and links to video interviews with executives, all of which help instill in students a sense of ethical awareness and responsibility.
Good Corporation, Bad Corporation by Guillermo C. Jimenez; Elizabeth Pulos
ISBN: 9781942341253

Publication Date: 2016-04-04

Open SUNY Textbooks

This textbook provides an innovative, internationally oriented approach to the teaching of corporate social responsibility (CSR) and business ethics. Drawing on case studies involving companies and countries around the world, the textbook explores the social, ethical, and business dynamics underlying CSR in such areas as global warming, genetically modified organisms (GMO) in food production, free trade and fair trade, anti-sweatshop and living-wage movements, organic foods and textiles, ethical marketing practices and codes, corporate speech and lobbying, and social enterprise. The book is designed to encourage students and instructors to challenge their own assumptions and prejudices by stimulating a class debate based on each case study.
Mastering Strategic Management by Dave Ketchen , Auburn University, Jeremy Short , University of Oklahoma
BCcampus OpenEd

Mastering Strategic Management by Dave Ketchen and Jeremy Short is designed to enhance student engagement in three innovative ways. The first is through visual adaptations of the key content in the book. It is well documented that many of today’s students are visual learners. To meet students’ wants and needs (and thereby create a much better teaching experience for professors), Mastering Strategic Management contains multiple graphic concept pages in every section of every chapter of the book. (CC-BY-NC-SA)
Human Resource Management
Open Textbook Library

Most students will be managing people at some point in their careers and not necessarily in a human resource management capacity. As businesses cut back, they may outsource HR duties to outside vendors. Or, in smaller businesses, the HR department is sometimes small or non-existent, and managers from other departments have to perform their own HRM. Therefore, teaching HRM from the perspective of a general manager, in addition to an HR manager, provides more relevance to students’ careers and will give them a competitive advantage in the workplace.

This text also provides practical applications of theory relevant to today’s workplace. You won’t find discussions about “posting vacancies on a job board” or “sending memos.” In the real world, HRM leverages technology in every aspect of the job—from online training modules to technology for better managing flex-time workers and telecommuters. (CC-BY-NC-SA)
Organizational Behaviour
Open Textbook Library

Organizational Behavior is adapted from a work produced and distributed under a Creative Commons license (CC BY-NC-SA) in 2010 by a publisher who has requested that they and the original author not receive attribution. This adapted edition is produced by the University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing through the eLearning Support Initiative.

Organizational Behavior bridges the gap between theory and practice with a distinct ”experiential“ approach. (CC-BY-NC-SA)

Money and Banking by Richard E. Wright; Richard; Robert E. Wright; Vincenzo Quadrini
ISBN: 9780982043080

Publication Date: 2012

Open Textbook Library

The financial crisis of 2007-8 has already revolutionized institutions, markets, and regulation. Wright's Money and Banking V 2.0 captures those revolutionary changes and packages them in a way that engages undergraduates enrolled in Money and Banking and Financial Institutions and Markets courses.

Minimal mathematics, accessible language, and a student-oriented tone ease readers into complex subjects like money, interest rates, banking, asymmetric information, financial crises and regulation, monetary policy, monetary theory, and other standard topics. Numerous short cases, called "Stop and Think" boxes, promote internalization over memorization. Exercise drills ensure basic skills competency where appropriate. Short, snappy sections that begin with a framing question enhance readability and encourage assignment completion.
(CC-BY-NC-SA)

Principles of Marketing by Jeff Tanner, Baylor University, Mary Raymond, Clemson University
Publication Date: 2017-01-20

BCcampus OpenEd

Principles of Marketing teaches the experience and process of actually doing marketing—not just the vocabulary. It carries five dominant themes throughout in order to expose students to marketing in today’s environment: Service dominant logic, sustainability, ethics and social responsibility, global coverage, and metrics. NOTE: This book was updated on January 20, 2017. Any reviews posted before this date are based on the older edition of this textbook. (CC-BY-ND)
Beyond Lean: Simulation in Practice by Charles Standridge, Grand Valley State University
Publication Date: 2013

Open Textbook Library

This book discusses how, in a practical way, to overcome the limitations of the lean approach to transforming manufacturing systems as well as related in-plant, plant-to-plant, and plant-tocustomer logistics. The primary tools in this regard are algebra based mathematical models and computer-based systems simulation as well as the integration of these two. Concepts, methods, and application studies related to designing and operating such systems are presented. Emphasis is on learning how to effectively make design, planning, and operations decisions by using a model based analysis and synthesis process. This process places equal emphasis on building models and performing analyses. (CC-BY-NC-SA)
EMarketing by Rob Stokes; The Minds of Quirk
ISBN: 9781936126323

Open Textbook Library

eMarketing: The Essential Guide to Online Marketing is a textbook intended for third and fourth year marketing students and draws on both academic theory and practical experience. The book offers students information that is applicable to the eMarket industry by providing examples that are easily relatable. The book covers all of the important aspects of online marketing, including the areas associated with search engine marketing, affiliate marketing, web analytics and conversion optimisation, web development, online copywriting, online advertising, webPR, online reputation management, pay per click advertising, viral marketing, social media marketing, search engine optimisation, eMarketing strategy, market research, mobile marketing, crowd sourcing, and customer relationship management. The book also features summaries, learning objectives and discussion points for each chapter, as well as, a glossary and index. (CC-BY-NC-SA)