Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The use of electronic resources must comply with the Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy and Singapore Management University Acceptable Use Policy
Key Resources for Public Policy
Overton Overton is the world’s largest searchable index of policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers with over 4.7 million documents. It collects data from 182 countries (including Singapore) and thousands of sources worldwide such as NBER, World Bank, Federal Reserve, Asian Development Bank and even Government of Singapore. See sources list
Please contact the library if you have suggestions for other policy document sources to be covered by Overton.
Overton also allows you to see which of your papers are cited or mentioned by policy documents at both an individual level or at an institutional level helping you track your influence outside academia.
Overton also classifies policy documents by UN SDGs ( Sustainable Development Goals) allowing you to filter by specific goals.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) This database indexes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports on a wide range of topics related to public policy and political science. Use PAIS to find relevant articles in political topics such as climate change, globalization, gun control, violence.
HeinOnline This database has five major library collections: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, the Philip C. Jessup Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library. These libraries are image-based and fully-searchable, enabling users to view all pages as they originally appeared in hardcopy including all charts, graphs, and photographs. Furthermore, the coverage are from the inception of each publication.
Factiva Factiva combines more than 35,000 sources from 200 countries in 26 languages. Content type includes newspapers, magazines, trade journals, blogs, podcasts, websites, and newswires like Dow Jones and Reuters. Search in English, or another language of your choice. Find listed Singapore and international companies information under Companies/Markets. Take note that downloading of content for analytics is not permitted.
Political Science Complete This database covers comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-government organizations and political theory. It provides full text for more than 500 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles. It also features over 340 full-text reference books and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
Welcome to the Public Policy Research Guide. This guide provides links to resources appropriate for public policy research. Since policy is created across subject areas, sectors and geographical areas, there may be additional resources beyond this guide that are relevant for your particular topic. When in doubt, always Ask A Librarian for suggestions on strategies and appropriate resources.