Public Policy: Articles & Databases

Academic Search Ultimate is a scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database. Access academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos in subject areas such as Anthropology, Ethnic and multicultural studies, General sciences, Geography, Law, Mathematics, Music, Pharmaceutical sciences, Psychology, Religion and philosophy, Science and technology, Women's studies and Zoology. It features PDF content from over 10,000 active full-text journals and magazines and more than 9,000 active full-text peer-reviewed journals. Searching of cited references is provided for more than 5,000 journals.

Asia-Studies Full-Text Online is premier database for the study of modern Asia-Pacific countries. It has thousands of full-text reports covering 55 countries for business, government, economics, and social issues.

Specific subject coverage include finance, trade, environment, human resources development, best practices in government, fisheries, tourism, education and women's studies, etc. The average study is 50 pages long, and contains statistics, research, analysis, and forecasts. Most contain statistical tables, charts, and/or graphs.

The report providers include Amcham-China, APEC, APJ, ADB, ASARC, ASPI and NCAPEC. Asia-Studies Humanities provides full text from selected journals from the Asian region. The database is updated weekly.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) is the most comprehensive Western-language bibliographical database for research on East, Southeast and South Asia. It contains nearly 900,000 records on all subjects, especially humanities and social sciences (including but not limited to art, history, language, literature, religion, anthropology, sociology, political science, and economics) pertaining to East, Southeast and South Asia. Coverage is from 1971 to the present.

Business Source Ultimate covers business topics such as marketing, management information systems, accounting, finance, banking, and economics mostly from journals. Use the Company View to find detailed company information on finances, subsidiaries, products, employees and industry specifics for more than 1.1 million of the world’s largest public and private companies. Related content includes case studies, industry profiles, SWOT analyses, articles from business journals, magazines and trade publications, market research reports, product reviews, news articles and country reports. Access over 74,000 videos from the Associated Press. It indexes Harvard Business Review from 1922.

CAJ is the most comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals in the world.
Full text contents (published from 2006 onwards) from over 1,500 Chinese journals in Series G: Politics/Military Affairs/Law, Series J: Economics & Management, Series F: Literature/History/Philosophy, and Series H: Education & Social Sciences.

Access: 5 concurrent users only

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.

Factiva combines more than 35,000 sources from 200 countries in 26 languages. Content type includes newspapers, magazines, trade journals, blogs, podcasts, websites, and newswires like Dow Jones and Reuters. Search in English, or another language of your choice. Find listed Singapore and international companies information under Companies/Markets. Take note that downloading of content for analytics is not permitted.

GreenFILE is a free research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,000,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 15,000 records.

This is the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development's (OECD) online portal of aggregated information from its various publications, including books and journals for the following subscribed themes: Economics, Development, Education, Industry and Services, Social Issues/ Migration/Health. Most of the other content can be read online. To find non-OECD information, try a keyword search.

Overton is the world’s largest searchable index of policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers with over 4.7 million documents. It collects data from 182 countries (including Singapore) and thousands of sources worldwide such as NBER, World Bank, Federal Reserve, Asian Development Bank and even Government of Singapore. See sources list

This database indexes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports on a wide range of topics related to public policy and political science. Use PAIS to find relevant articles in political topics such as climate change, globalization, gun control, violence.

This database covers comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-government organizations and political theory. It provides full text for more than 500 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles. It also features over 340 full-text reference books and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.

PubMed Central is a free full-text online database of biomedical and life sciences journal articles. It is managed by U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Sage Premier includes international, peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 350 scholarly and professional societies. Access over 900 journals published by Sage in the areas of business, economics, management, philosophy, political science, psychology, and sociology from 1999. Access over 280 journals with content back to the first volume.

Scopus is an important cross-disciplinary abstract & citation database of research literature. Use Scopus to search for article level citation metrics like total cites or FWCI as well as a list of sources indexed in Scopus and their respective Journal level metrics like Citescore, SJR, and SNIP.

SMU Libraries has access to Scopus API that can be used for text and data mining. More info here.

The Social Science Research Network is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. The Library subscribes to: Accounting Research Network (ARN), Economics Research Network (ERN), Financial Economics Network (FEN), Legal Scholarships Network (LSN), Management Research Network (MRN), Entrepreneurship Research & Policy Network (ERPN) and Corporate Governance Network (CGN).

Access to subscribed articles are restricted to SMU faculty who have registered with SSRN (see: step-by-step registration).

Use this database to identify highly cited articles on the Web of Science platform in a subject area and authors who cite a specific article, in addition to searching for relevant articles. Coverage starts from 1898 as it includes the Century of Social Sciences.

Search and access journals published by Routledge and Taylor & Francis. The full text of journals of over 1,100 journals in the Social Science and Humanities Collection are available. Subjects covered include in the Economics, Finance, Business & Industry, Area Studies, Behavioural Sciences, Politics, International Relations, Sport and Leisure Management.

Use this database to identify highly cited articles in a subject area and authors who cite a specific article. Use it to search for articles using keyword and even by institution name.
Web of Science includes Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1900), Science Citation Index (from 1965), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 2008), and Book Citation Index (2005-2018)

SMU Libraries has access to Web of Science API Lite. More info here.