It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Understanding Thailand: Home
This guide provides useful information and links to resources on Thailand.
The following information have been carefully selected for your reference. Some resources may have bias perspectives. Please approach the SMU Libraries (firstname.lastname@example.org ) should you have any doubts or need clarifications.
This introduction video brings you around Thailand - when to go and the top things to do while you're in Thailand.
Understand more about the cultural etiquette in Thailand.
Cultural Dos and Don’ts
Following a few simple rules of Thailand etiquette will not only prevent you from accidentally offending someone, doing so will set you apart from the tourists. Thailand is known as the “Land of Smiles” -- but the famous Thai smile has many meanings. Although Thai people are very forgiving of infractions, particularly when committed by farang (foreigners), observing these basic dos and don'ts will keep them smiling.
Return a wai: The wai is Thailand's prayer-like gesture with the hands together in front and head slightly bowed. To not return a wai is considered impolite.
Show respect to monks: You will encounter many monks in places such as Chiang Mai -- treat them with respect.
Remove your shoes: As in many Asian cultures, removing your shoes before entering a temple or visiting someone's home is essential.
Don't point: Pointing at someone is considered rude in many cultures, particularly so in Thailand.
Don't disrespect the king: Never disrespect the king or images of the king, this includes currency -- his picture appears on the Thai baht.
Smile: The "Thai smile" is famous, essential to Thailand etiquette, and Thai show it whenever they can. Always return someone's smile.
Read more to understand the various Thailand culture, customs and etiquette.
Basic Conversational Language
Some phrases in Thai that are handy to know when visiting Thailand.
Remember male need to end the sentence with kráp, and for a female with kâ.
sà-baai-dii mǎi (How are you?)
khàawp-khun (Thank you)
... yù thîi-nâi (Where is…?)
Yin-dii thîi dâi rúu-jàk (Nice to meet you)
thâo-rài (How much?)
Láaew jooe-gan (See you later)
Lessons are broken down into bite-sized chunks and it feels like you’re playing a game. Duolingo is a great introduction, but it can feel like you’re learning a random mix of information, often through repetition. The more you do, the more robust your vocabulary will be.
The only way to become fluent in a new language is to speak it. Tandem is geared toward conversations with native speakers. The idea is that you can help one another learn new languages via text, audio, and video chat. The app vets you and then helps you to find a partner who shares your interests. They teach you and you teach them.
This section lists some recommended readings about Thailand.
Discover Thailand by Austin BushLonely Planet: The world's leading travel guide publisher Lonely Planet's Discover Thailand is your passport to the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Listen to monks chant in a Bangkok temple, indulge in a beachfront Thai massage on a coral-fringed island, or trek through the jungle to see elephants and gibbons; all with your trusted travel companion. Discover the best of Thailand and begin your journey now! Inside Lonely Planet's Discover Thailand: Full-colourmaps and images throughout Highlightsand itineraries help you tailor your trip to your personal needs and interests Insider tips to save time and money and get around like a local, avoiding crowds and trouble spots Essential infoat your fingertips - hours of operation, phone numbers, websites, transit tips, prices Honest reviews for all budgets - eating, sleeping, sight-seeing, going out, shopping, hidden gems that most guidebooks miss Cultural insightsgive you a richer, more rewarding travel experience - customs, history, art, music, architecture, politics, religion, environment, wildlife, cuisine Free, convenient pull-out Bangkok map (included in print version), plus over 40 colour maps CoversBangkok, Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, Northern Thailand, Ko Samui, Gulf Coast, Phuket, Andaman Coast and more The Perfect Choice:Lonely Planet's Discover Thailand, our easy-to-use guide, filled with inspiring and colorful photos, focuses on Thailand's most popular attractions for those looking for the best of the best. Looking for a comprehensive guide that recommends both popular and offbeat experiences, and extensively covers all the country hasto offer? Check outLonely Planet's Thailand guide. Looking for a guide for Bangkok or Phuket? Check out Lonely Planet's Bangkokguide for a comprehensive look at all the cityhas to offer; orLonely Planet's Pocket Bangkokor Phuket, handy-sized guides focused on the can't-miss sights for a quick trip. Authors:Written and researched by Lonely Planet, China Williams, Austin Bush, Tim Bewer, Mark Beales, David Eimer, Celeste Brash and Adam Skolnick. About Lonely Planet:Since 1973, Lonely Planet has become the world's leading travel media company with guidebooks to every destination, an award-winning website, mobile and digital travel products, and a dedicated traveller community. Lonely Planet covers must-see spots but also enables curious travellers to get off beaten paths to understand more of the culture of the places in which they find themselves.
Call Number: Li Ka Shing Library Lifestyle Collection Level 2 DS563 .D57 2014
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
THAILAND'S ISLANDS AND BEACHES 10 by Mark Beales#1 best-selling guide to Thailand's islands and beaches* Lonely Planet Thailand's Islands and Beaches is your passport to the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Swim with sea life in crystal-clear coves, laze in hammocks under limestone peaks, or motorcycle along curved bays; all with your trusted travel companion. Get to the heart of Thailand and begin your journey now! Inside Lonely Planet Thailand's Islands and Beaches Travel Guide: Colour maps and images throughout Highlights and itineraries help you tailor your trip to your personal needs and interests Insider tips to save time and money and get around like a local, avoiding crowds and trouble spots Essential info at your fingertips - hours of operation, phone numbers, websites, transit tips, prices Honest reviews for all budgets - eating, sleeping, sight-seeing, going out, shopping, hidden gems that most guidebooks miss Cultural insights give you a richer, more rewarding travel experience - history, politics, peoples, lifestyle, economy, religion, arts, the sex industry in Thailand, cuisine, environment, wildlife, environmental issues Free, convenient pull-out Bangkok map (included in print version), plus over 65 maps Covers Bangkok, Phuket, Northern Andaman Coast, Ko Chang, Eastern Seaboard, Hua Hin, Southern Gulf, Ko Samui, Lower Gulf, Ko Phi-Phi, Southern Andaman Coast and more The Perfect Choice: Lonely Planet Thailand's Islands and Beaches is our most comprehensive guide to the country's island and beach getaways. Looking for more coverage? Check out Lonely Planet Thailand for a comprehensive look at what the whole country has to offer; or Discover Thailand, a photo-rich guide to the country's most popular attractions. Looking for a guide focused on Phuket or Bangkok? Check out Pocket Phuket or Pocket Bangkok, handy-sized guides focused on the can't-miss sights for quick city visits. Authors: Written and researched by Lonely Planet. About Lonely Planet: Since 1973, Lonely Planet has become the world's leading travel media company with guidebooks to every destination, an award-winning website, mobile and digital travel products, and a dedicated traveller community. Lonely Planet covers must-see spots but also enables curious travellers to get off beaten paths to understand more of the culture of the places in which they find themselves. *Source: Nielsen BookScan. Australia, UK and USA
Call Number: Li Ka Shing Library Lifestyle Collection Level 2 DS563 .T453 2016
Publication Date: 2016-07-19
Thailand's Economic Recovery by Cavan Hogue (Editor)Thailand is a society in political, economic and social transition. Change is happening to varying degrees - at the national level and at the regional level where there are contrasting issues. Changes are positive, some are negative. This book looks at the various aspects of change as it impacts on business and the lives of the people.
Call Number: Li Ka Shing Library Books Level 4 HC445 .T453 2006
Democracy and National Identity in Thailand by Michael Kelly ConnorsThis book seeks to illuminate how Thai elites have used democracy as an instrument for order and discipline. Drawing on interviews, numerous Thai language sources, and critical theory, the author reveals a remarkable adaptation of the idea of democracy in the Thai context. Connors shows how elites have drawn on Western political theory to design projects to create modern citizens. He argues that it is possible to see the idea and practice of elite liberal democracy in Thailand, and elsewhere, as a key ideological resource in the project of securing hegemony over undisciplined populations. In this perspective the ideas of civil society, civic virtue, social capital and democracy itself are all part of the weaponry deployed in an effort to create 'good citizens', who act as guardians of the elite defined common good.
Call Number: Li Ka Shing Library Books Level 3 JQ1749.A5 C66 2003
Factiva have many content types includes newspapers, magazines, trade journals, blogs, podcasts, websites, and newswires like Dow Jones and Reuters. Search in English, or another language of your choice. Find listed Singapore and international companies information under Companies/Markets.
Use this database to gain access to analyst reports and forecasts for both economic and political aspects. The reports examine and explain issues shaping the countries, including the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and foreign trade and payments.
Use Business Monitor International (BMI) Research to locate SWOT analysis, risk/reward ratings, macroeconomic forecasts and brief company profiles for countries in Asia and the Middle East. Use the data and forecast feature to compare geographies and indicators to perform analysis and generate charts.
The Doing Business project provides objective measures of
business regulations for local firms in 190 economies and selected cities at the subnational level.
This section provides useful links to the Thailand social media.
Tourism Authority of Thailand
Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Kingdom of Thailand
Acceptable Use Policy
Electronic resources (e.g., databases, datasets, e-journals, e-books and streaming audio/video) provided by the SMU Libraries are governed by license agreements that restrict use to current students, faculty and staff of SMU and the Singapore Copyright Act.