It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Understanding Taiwan: Home
This guide provides useful information and links to resources on Taiwan.
The following information have been carefully selected for your reference. Some resources may have bias perspectives. Please approach the SMU Libraries (firstname.lastname@example.org ) should you have any doubts or need clarifications.
This introduction video brings you around Taiwan - when to go and the top things to do while you're in Taiwan.
Learn more about the complex political situation on the island of Taiwan. Both the Republic Of China (ROC) and the People Republic of China (PRC) claim to be the legitimate government of China. The current situation is stuck in a stalemate with the two ways of resolving the dispute (unification and independence).
Understand more about the cultural etiquette in Taiwan.
Cultural Dos and Don’ts
Taiwanese are very polite in both the way they speak and how they treat other people. However, it's good to know the following DOs an DON'T's in Taiwan from a cultural point of view.
Do not point at the moon - apparently, your ears will fall off or bleed.
Refrain from crossing the pedestrian crossing - it's quite dangerous as the vehicles may or may not stop for you.
Don't talk about death and politics - both topics are very sensitive to Taiwanese culture, they should not be brought up at all.
Stay on the right of the escalator - it differs from Singapore culture which is staying on the left of the escalator.
Tipping is not required in restaurants - there are service charges included in the bill.
Never wear sandals/flip-flop to formal events - deemed to be a lower status.
Not necessarily to bow - a handshake will be fine.
Remove footwear before entering someone house - a sign of respect.
Receiving gifts - kindly reject two to three times before accepting, if not they view you as a greedy person.
Basic Conversational Language
Some phrases in Chinese that are handy to know when visiting Taiwan.
ni-hao-ma? (How are you?)
xie-xie (Thank you)
... zai na-ni? (Where is…?)
gao-xing-he-ni-jian-mian (Nice to meet you)
duo-sao (How much?)
Lessons are broken down into bite-sized chunks and it feels like you’re playing a game. Duolingo is a great introduction, but it can feel like you’re learning a random mix of information, often through repetition. The more you do, the more robust your vocabulary will be.
The only way to become fluent in a new language is to speak it. Tandem is geared toward conversations with native speakers. The idea is that you can help one another learn new languages via text, audio, and video chat. The app vets you and then helps you to find a partner who shares your interests. They teach you and you teach them.
This section informs the common scams and crimes to look out for when visiting Taiwan.
Common Tourist Scams Learn how to protect yourself from these common scams and crimes when visiting Taiwan.
Crime & Security
Overall Crime and Safety Report
Find out more information on the common crime threats, areas of concerns, transportation-road safety, and even terrorism threat.
Insights to Taipei
This National Geographic's Megacities-Taipei documentary explores the past, present and future of Taiwan's capital, Taipei also known as "Asia's little tiger".
This section lists some recommended readings about Taiwan.
Lonely Planet - Taiwan by Robert Kelly#1 best-selling guide to Taiwan* Lonely Planet Taiwanis your passport to all the most relevant and up-to-date advice on what to see, what to skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Walk into a Chinese painting at marble-walled Taroko Gorge, take a scenic climb up Snow Mountain, or soak in a spa at one of Taiwan's myriad hot springs, all with your trusted travel companion. Get to the heart of Taiwan and begin your journey now! Inside Lonely Planet's Taiwan Travel Guide: Colourmaps and images throughout Highlightsand itineraries show you the simplest way to tailor your trip to your own personal needs and interests Insider tips save you time and money, and help you get around like a local, avoiding crowds and trouble spots Essential infoat your fingertips - including hours of operation, phone numbers, websites, transit tips, and prices Honest reviews for all budgets - including eating, sleeping, sight-seeing, going out, shopping, and hidden gems that most guidebooks miss Cultural insights give you a richer and more rewarding travel experience - including customs, history, religion, art, architecture, politics, landscapes, wildlife, and cuisine Over 60 maps Coverage of Taipei, Beitou, Danshui, Northern Taiwan, Hsinchu, Taroko National Park, Taitung, Alishan National Scenic Area, Chiayi, Changhua, Lukang, Southern Taiwan,Tainan, Kaohsiung, Taiwan's Islands, and more Authors: Written and researched by Lonely Planet, Robert Kelly and Chung Wah Chow. About Lonely Planet:Started in 1973, Lonely Planet has become the world's leading travel guide publisher with guidebooks to every destination on the planet, as well as an award-winning website, a suite of mobile and digital travel products, and a dedicated traveller community. Lonely Planet's mission is to enable curious travellers to experience the world and to truly get to the heart of the places they find themselves in. TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Awards 2012 and 2013 winner in Favorite Travel Guide category 'Lonely Planet guides are, quite simply, like no other.' -New York Times 'Lonely Planet. It's on everyone's bookshelves; it's in every traveller's hands. It's on mobile phones. It's on the Internet. It's everywhere, and it's telling entire generations of people how to travel the world.' - Fairfax Media (Australia) *Best-selling guide to Taiwan. Source: Nielsen BookScan. Australia, UK and USA
Call Number: Li Ka Shing Library Lifestyle Collection Level 2 DS798.965 .K45 2014
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
Taiwan Art and Civilisation by Hsiu-Huei WangTaiwan's specific situation in Asia is the source of its thorn past. Situated in the South East of China, Taiwan was at the crossroads of many maritime routes and squeezed between its neighbors, China and Japan. After centuries of foreign occupation, Taiwan has a unique history. Taiwan, Art and Civilization sheds light on Taiwan's beautiful scenery as well as its colorful history in the form of a true initiatory trip. Through magnificent illustrations, Taiwan reveals its secret beauty, its fauna and flora intertwined with its unique architecture. Home of the traditional and the modern, the gorgeous island is also the home of a very dynamic artistic scene. One thus fully grasps why the Portuguese named her Ilha Formosa, beautiful island.
Call Number: This is an E-Book.
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Why Taiwan Matters by Shelley RiggerWritten by a leading expert on Taiwan, Why Taiwan Matters offers a comprehensive and engaging introduction to a country that exercises a role in the world far greater than its tiny size would indicate. Shelley Rigger explains how Taiwan became such a key global player, highlighting economic and political breakthroughs so impressive they have been called "miracles." She links these accomplishments to Taiwan's determined society, vibrant culture, and unique history. Drawing on arts, economics, politics, and international relations, Rigger explores Taiwan's importance to China, the United States, and the world. Considering where Taiwan may be headed in its wary standoff with China, she traces how the focus of Taiwan's domestic politics has shifted to a Taiwan-centered strategy. All readers interested in Asia and international affairs, as well as travelers to the region, will find this an accessible and entertaining overview, replete with human interest stories and colorful examples of daily life in Taiwan.
Call Number: Li Ka Shing Library Books Level 4 DS799.625 .R54 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-29
Perverse Taiwan by Howard Chiang (Editor); Yin Wang (Editor)Host of the first gay pride in the Sinophone world, Taiwan is well-known for its mushrooming of liberal attitudes towards non-normative genders and sexualities after the lifting of Martial Law in 1987. Perverse Taiwanis the first collection of its kind to contextualize that development from an interdisciplinary perspective, focusing on its genealogical roots, sociological manifestations, and cultural representations. This book enriches and reorients our understanding of postcolonial queer East Asia. Challenging a heteronormative understanding of Taiwan's past and present, it provides fresh critical analyses of a range of topics from queer criminality and literature in the 1950s and 1960s to the growing popularity of cross-dressing performance and tongzhi(gay and lesbian) cinema on the cusp of a new millennium. Together, the contributions provide a detailed account of the rise and transformations of queer cultures in post-World War II Taiwan. By instigating new dialogues across disciplinary divides, this book will have broad appeal to students and scholars of Asian studies and queer studies, especially those interested in history, anthropology, literature, film, media, and performance.
Factiva have many content types includes newspapers, magazines, trade journals, blogs, podcasts, websites, and newswires like Dow Jones and Reuters. Search in English, or another language of your choice. Find listed Singapore and international companies information under Companies/Markets.
Use this database to gain access to analyst reports and forecasts for both economic and political aspects. The reports examine and explain issues shaping the countries, including the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and foreign trade and payments.
Use Business Monitor International (BMI) Research to locate SWOT analysis, risk/reward ratings, macroeconomic forecasts and brief company profiles for countries in Asia and the Middle East. Use the data and forecast feature to compare geographies and indicators to perform analysis and generate charts.
The Doing Business project provides objective measures of
business regulations for local firms in 190 economies and selected cities at the subnational level.
This section provides useful links to the Taiwan social media.
Tourism Bureau, Republic of China (Taiwan)
Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Republic of China (Taiwan)
Acceptable Use Policy
Electronic resources (e.g., databases, datasets, e-journals, e-books and streaming audio/video) provided by the SMU Libraries are governed by license agreements that restrict use to current students, faculty and staff of SMU and the Singapore Copyright Act.