It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Understanding Japan: Home
This guide provides useful information and links to resources on Japan.
The following information have been carefully selected for your reference. Some resources may have bias perspectives. Please approach the SMU Libraries (firstname.lastname@example.org ) should you have any doubts or need clarifications.
This video gives a brief introduction and the top things to do while you are in Tokyo.
Lessons are broken down into bite-sized chunks and it feels like you’re playing a game. Duolingo is a great introduction, but it can feel like you’re learning a random mix of information, often through repetition. The more you do, the more robust your vocabulary will be.
The only way to become fluent in a new language is to speak it. Tandem is geared toward conversations with native speakers. The idea is that you can help one another learn new languages via text, audio, and video chat. The app vets you and then helps you to find a partner who shares your interests. They teach you and you teach them.
This section informs the common scams and crimes to look out for when visiting Japan.
Common Tourist Scams Learn how to protect yourself from these common scams and crimes when visiting Japan.
Crime & Security
Overall Crime and Safety Report
Find out more information on the common crime threats, areas of concerns, transportation-road safety, and even terrorism threat.
This section lists some recommended readings about Japan.
Japan by Chris RowthornLonely Planet: The world's leading travel guide publisher Lonely PlanetJapanis your passport to the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Shop and dine in electric Tokyo, explore Kyoto's stunning temples and gardens, or hike the majestic Japan Alps; all with your trusted travel companion. Get to the heart of Japan and begin your journey now! Inside Lonely Planet'sJapan Travel Guide: Colourmaps and images throughout Highlightsand itineraries help you tailor your trip to your personal needs and interests Insider tips to save time and money and get around like a local, avoiding crowds and trouble spots Essential infoat your fingertips - hours of operation, phone numbers, websites, transit tips, prices Honest reviews for all budgets - eating, sleeping, sight-seeing, going out, shopping, hidden gems that most guidebooks miss Cultural insights give you a richer, more rewarding travel experience - including history, art, architecture, literature, cuisine, sake,onsen (hot springs), customs and etiquette, language and more Free, convenient pull-out Tokyo map (included in print version), plus over 148 colour maps Covers Tokyo, Mt Fuji, Kyoto, Osaka, Kansai, the Japan Alps, Hokkaido, Northern Honshu (Tohoku), Okinawa & the Southwest Islands, Kyushu, Shikoku, and more The Perfect Choice:Lonely Planet Japan, our most comprehensive guide to Japan, is perfect for both exploring top sights and taking roads less travelled. Looking for just the highlights of Japan? Check outLonely Planet's Discover Japan, a photo-rich guide to the country's most popular attractions. Looking for a guide focused on Tokyo or Kyoto? Check outLonely Planet's Tokyo guide andKyoto guide for a comprehensive look at what each of these cities has to offer; orLonely Planet's Pocket Tokyo, a handy-sized guide focused on the can't-miss sights for a quick trip. Authors: Written and researched by Lonely Planet. About Lonely Planet:Since 1973, Lonely Planet has become the world's leading travel media company with guidebooks to every destination, an award-winning website, mobile and digital travel products, and a dedicated traveller community. Lonely Planet covers must-see spots but also enables curious travellers to get off beaten paths to understand more of the culture of the places in which they find themselves.
Call Number: Li Ka Shing Library Lifestyle Collection Level 2 DS805.2 .R693 2015
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
A Shrinking Society by Toshihiko HaraThis is the book to focus on a new phenomenon emerging in the twenty-first century: the rapidly aging and decreasing population of a well-developed country, namely, Japan. The meaning of this phenomenon has been successfully clarified as the possible historical consequence of the demographic transition from high birth and death rates to low ones. Japan has entered the post-demographic transitional phase and will be the fastest-shrinking society in the world, leading other Asian countries that are experiencing the same drastic changes. The author used the historical statistics, compiled by the Statistic Bureau, Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications in 2006 and population projections for released in 2012 by the National Institute of Population and Social Security Research, to show the past and future development of the dependency ratio from 1891 to 2060. Then, utilizing the population life table and net reproduction rate, the effects of increasing life expectancy and declining fertility on the dependency ratio were observed separately. Finally, the historical relationships among women's survival rates at reproductive age, the theoretical fertility rate to maintain the replacement level and the recorded total fertility rate (TFR) were analyzed. Historical observation showed TFR adapting to the theoretical level of fertility with a certain time lag and corresponding to women's survival rates at reproductive age. Women's increasing lifespan and survival rates could have influenced decision making to minimize the risk of childbearing. Even if the theoretical fertility rate meets the replacement level, women's views of minimizing the risk may remain unchanged because for women the cost-benefit imbalance in childbearing is still too high in Japan. Based on the findings, the author discusses the sustainability of Japanese society in relation to national finances, social security reform, family policies, immigration policies and community polices.
Call Number: This is an E-Book.
Publication Date: 2014-11-14
Japanization by William PesekAn in-depth look at Japan's economic malaise and the steps it must take to compete globally In Japanization, Bloomberg columnist William Pesek--based in Tokyo--presents a detailed look at Japan's continuing twenty-year economic slow-down, the political and economic reasons behind it, and the policies it could and should undertake to return to growth and influence. Despite new Prime Minister Shinzo Abe's promise of economic revitalization, investor optimism about the future, and plenty of potential, Japanization reveals why things are unlikely to change any time soon. Pesek argues that "Abenomics," as the new policies are popularly referred to, is nothing more than a dressed-up version of the same old fiscal and monetary policies that have left Japan with crippling debt, interest rates at zero, and constant deflation. He explores the ten forces that are stunting Japan's growth and offers prescriptions for fixing each one. Offers a skeptical counterpoint to the popular rosy narrative on the economic outlook for Japan Gives investors practical and detailed insight on the real condition of Japan's economy Reveals ten factors stunting Japan's growth and why they are unlikely to be solved any time soon Explains why most of what readers believe they know about Japan's economy is wrong Includes case studies of some of the biggest Japanese companies, including Olympus, Japan Airlines, Sony, and Toyota, among others For many investors, businesspeople, and economists, Japan's long economic struggle is difficult to comprehend, particularly given the economic advantages it appears to have over its neighbors. Japanization offers a ground-level look at why its problems continue and what it can do to change course.
Factiva have many content types includes newspapers, magazines, trade journals, blogs, podcasts, websites, and newswires like Dow Jones and Reuters. Search in English, or another language of your choice. Find listed Singapore and international companies information under Companies/Markets.
Use this database to gain access to analyst reports and forecasts for both economic and political aspects. The reports examine and explain issues shaping the countries, including the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and foreign trade and payments.
Use Business Monitor International (BMI) Research to locate SWOT analysis, risk/reward ratings, macroeconomic forecasts and brief company profiles for countries in Asia and the Middle East. Use the data and forecast feature to compare geographies and indicators to perform analysis and generate charts.
The Doing Business project provides objective measures of
business regulations for local firms in 190 economies and selected cities at the subnational level.
This section provides useful links to the Japan social media.
Japan National Tourism Organization
Acceptable Use Policy
Electronic resources (e.g., databases, datasets, e-journals, e-books and streaming audio/video) provided by the SMU Libraries are governed by license agreements that restrict use to current students, faculty and staff of SMU and the Singapore Copyright Act.