Research Guides: Research Navigator for CIS: Home

Introducing CIS

A Glimpse of CIS

Books

The Oxford Handbook of Interdisciplinarity by Robert Frodeman (Editor); Julie Thompson Klein (Editor); Roberto Carlos Dos Santos Pacheco (Editor)
ISBN: 9780198733522
Publication Date: 2017-03-26
Interdisciplinarity has become as important outside academia as within. Academics, policy makers, and the general public seek insights to help organize the vast amounts of knowledge being produced, both within research and at all levels of education. The second edition of The Oxford Handbookof Interdisciplinarity offers a thorough update of this major reference work, summarizing the latest advances within the field of inter- and transdisciplinarity. The collection is distinguished by its breadth of coverage, with chapters written by leading experts from multiple networks andorganizations. The volume is edited by respected interdisciplinary scholars and supported by a prestigious advisory board to ensure the highest quality and breadth of coverage.The Oxford Handbook of Interdisciplinarity provides a synoptic overview of the current state of interdisciplinary research, education, administration and management, and of problem solving-knowledge that spans the disciplines and interdisciplinary fields. The volume negotiates the space between theacademic community and society at large. Offering the most broad-based account of inter- and transdisciplinarity to date, its 47 chapters provide a snapshot of the state of knowledge integration as interdisciplinarity approaches its century mark. This second edition expands its coverage to discussthe emergence of new fields, the increase of interdisciplinary approaches within traditional disciplines and professions, new integrative approaches to education and training, the widening international presence of interdisciplinarity, its increased support in funding agencies and science-policybodies, and the formation of several new international associations associated with interdisciplinarity.This reference book will be a valuable addition to academic libraries worldwide, important reading for members of the sciences, social sciences, and humanities engaged in interdisciplinary research and education, and helpful for administrators and policy makers seeking to improve the use ofknowledge in society.
Controversies and Interdisciplinarity by Jens Allwood (Editor); Olga Pombo (Editor); Clara Renna (Editor); Giovanni Scarafile (Editor)
ISBN: 9027207542
Publication Date: 2020-10-15
Nowadays, the forms assumed by knowledge indicate an unhinging of traditional structures conceived on the model of discipline. Consequently, what was once strictly disciplinary becomes interdisciplinary, what was homogeneous becomes heterogeneous and what was hierarchical becomes heterarchical. When we look for a matrix of interdisciplinarity, that is to say, a primary basis or an essential dimension of all the complex phenomena we are surrounded by, we see the need to break with the disciplinary self-restraint in which, often completely inadvertently, many of us lock ourselves up, remaining anchored to our own competences, ignoring what goes beyond our own sphere of reference. However, interdisciplinarity is still a vague concept and a much demanding practice. It presupposes the continuous search for convergent theoretical perspectives and methodologies, and the definition of common spaces and languages, as well as a true dialogical and open mind of several scholars. From ethics to science, from communication to medicine, from climate change to human evolution the volume Controversies and Interdisciplinarity offers a series of original insights beyond disciplinary fragmentation for a new knowledge model.
Valuing Interdisciplinary Collaborative Research by Facer; Pahl
ISBN: 9781447331612
Publication Date: 2017-04-05
Universities are increasingly being asked to take an active role as research collaborators with citizens, public bodies, and community organisations, which, it is claimed, makes them more accountable, creates better research outcomes, and enhances the knowledge base. Yet many of these research collaborators, as well as their funders and institutions, have not yet developed the methods to 'account for' collaborative research, or to help collaborators in challenging their assumptions about the quality of this work. This book, part of the Connected Communities series, highlights the benefits of universities collaborating with outside bodies on research and addresses the key challenge of articulating the value of collaborative research in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Edited by two well respected academics, it includes voices and perspectives from researchers and practitioners in a wide range of disciplines. Together, they explore tensions in the evaluation and assessment of research in general, and the debates generated by collaborative research between universities and communities to enable greater understanding of collaborative research, and to provide a much-needed account of key theorists in the field of interdisciplinary collaborative research.
Interdisciplinary Research Journeys by Catherine Lyall; Ann Bruce; Joyce Tait; Laura Meagher
ISBN: 1474263011
Publication Date: 2015-10-22
'Interdisciplinarity' has become a rallying cry among funders and leaders of research. Yet, while the creative potential of interdisciplinary research is great, it poses many challenges. If you don't have disciplinary boundaries, how do you decide what to include or leave out? And what are the parameters for evaluating the research? This book provides a practical guide for researchers and research managers who are seeking to develop interdisciplinary research strategies at a personal, institutional and multi-institutional level. The book draws on examples from across the social and natural sciences but also offers valuable lessons for other combinations of more proximate disciplines. At a time when interdisciplinary research is increasingly centre stage in the research agenda, this book offers a crucial practical guide for researchers, research funders and managers from all backgrounds and contexts.
Case Studies in Interdisciplinary Research by Allen F. Repko; William H. Newell; Rick Szostak
ISBN: 9781412982481
Publication Date: 2011-02-07
Self-contained case studies teach students best practices in interdisciplinary research Interdisciplinary research is a burgeoning field, largely due to its ability to tackle complex problems facing humanity that extend beyond a single disciplinary perspective and require interdisciplinary thinking and research for their resolution. Case Studies in Interdisciplinary Research successfully applies the model of the interdisciplinary research process outlined by author Allen F. Repko in Interdisciplinary Research, (SAGE ©2008) to a wide spectrum of challenging research questions. Self-contained case studies, written by leaders in interdisciplinary research, and utilizing best-practice techniques in conducting interdisciplinary research shows students how to apply the interdisciplinary research process to a variety of problems.
Enhancing Communication and Collaboration in Interdisciplinary Research by Michael O′Rourke (Editor); Stephen Crowley (Editor); Sanford D. Eigenbrode (Editor); J. D. Wulfhorst (Editor)
ISBN: 1452255660
Publication Date: 2013-07-17
Enhancing Communication & Collaboration in Interdisciplinary Research, edited by Michael O′Rourke, Stephen Crowley, Sanford D. Eigenbrode, and J. D. Wulfhorst, is a volume of previously unpublished, state-of-the-art chapters on interdisciplinary communication and collaboration written by leading figures and promising junior scholars in the world of interdisciplinary research, education, and administration. Designed to inform both teaching and research, this innovative book covers the spectrum of interdisciplinary activity, offering a timely emphasis on collaborative interdisciplinary work. The book's four main parts focus on theoretical perspectives, case studies, communication tools, and institutional perspectives, while a final chapter ties together the various strands that emerge in the book and defines trend-lines and future research questions for those conducting work on interdisciplinary communication.
In Search of Lost Futures by Magdalena Kazubowski-Houston (Editor); Mark Auslander (Editor)
ISBN: 3030630021
Publication Date: 2021-02-17
In Search of Lost Futures asks how imaginations might be activated through practices of autoethnography, multimodality, and deep interdisciplinarity--each of which has the power to break down methodological silos, cultivate novel research sensibilities, and inspire researchers to question what is known about ethnographic process, representation, reflexivity, audience, and intervention within and beyond the academy. By blurring the boundaries between the past, present, and future; between absence and presence; between the possible and the impossible; and between fantasy and reality, In Search of Lost Futures pushes the boundaries of ethnographic engagement. It reveals how researchers on the cutting edge of the discipline are studying absence and grief and employing street performance, museum exhibit, anticipation, or simulated reality to research and intervene in the possible, the impossible, and the uncertain.
Methods and Interdisciplinarity by Roger Waldeck (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119681533
Publication Date: 2019-12-05
Interdisciplinarity research results from a growing need for multi-perspective methods, and knowledge on complex and multifaceted objects of study. It is not simply scientific research that involves several disciplines, but ultimately, the aim is confronting this knowledge and - if possible - articulating it coherently. Using specific examples, Methods and Interdisciplinarity categorizes the different modes of interdisciplinarity and discusses the mechanisms of hybridization between them. On the one hand, the book shows how the same issue can be treated according to various points of view from several disciplines, which can give rise to complementary or even contradictory knowledge. On the other hand, it illustrates how methods from some disciplines make it possible to articulate the qualitative or quantitative approaches of others.
Being Interdisciplinary by Alan Wilson (Contribution by)
ISBN: 1800082134
Publication Date: 2022-10-06
An accessible and enjoyable guide to interdisciplinary research from a leading academic in urban science. In Being Interdisciplinary, Alan Wilson draws on five decades as a leading figure in urban science to set out a systems approach to interdisciplinarity for those conducting research in this and other fields. He argues that most research is interdisciplinary at its base and that a systems perspective is particularly appropriate for collaboration because it fosters an outlook that sees beyond disciplines. A systems approach enables researchers to identify the game-changers of the past as a basis for thinking outside of convention, for learning how to do something new and how to be ambitious. Building on this systems focus, the book first establishes the basics of interdisciplinarity. Then, by drawing on the author's wide experience in interdisciplinary research--as a researcher in urban science, a university professor and vice-chancellor, a civil servant, and an institute director, it illustrates general principles and a framework from which researchers can build their own interdisciplinary approach. In the last section, the book tackles questions of managing and organizing research from individual to institutional scales.

Books

Global Studies Research by Pamela A. Zeiser
ISBN: 1506396283
Publication Date: 2019-08-05
Global Studies Research is a research methods textbook designed for interdisciplinary International Studies majors and their faculty. The textbook introduces interdisciplinarity, provides basic building blocks of relevant disciplinary knowledge, explains a process for integrating knowledge from multiple disciplines, and models this interdisciplinary International Studies Research Process in its presentation of the case studies.
Chapters on Interdisciplinary Research and Research Skills by Koen van der Gaast; Machiel Keestra; Laura Koenders; Steph Menken; Ger Post; Instituut voor Interdisciplinaire Studies (Other)
ISBN: 9463728252
Publication Date: 2020-08-20
This book is a special edition, compiled for to the MSc Course Research Methodologies as taught at the Faculty of Aerospace Engineering at Delft University of Technology. It is a compilation of useful chapters from several sources on how to structure, set up, carry out and write up your (thesis) research to aid you in writing your research plan. Next to that it acts as a companion during your thesis research. After introducing you to the philosophy of scientific research, subsequent chapters each contribute to the different phases of your research. The book uniquely allows for the often multi- or interdisciplinary research many of you carry out, based on the established Dutch university tradition of (semi-)independent student research, creating a thread through the process for you to follow. This edition is a collection of chapters from An Introduction to Interdisciplinary Research(2016), edited by Steph Menken and Machiel Keestra, and Academic Skills for Interdisciplinary Studies. Revised edition(2019), by Koen van der Gaast, Laura Koenders and Ger Post, published by Amsterdam University Press.
Futures of the Study of Culture by Doris Bachmann-Medick (Editor); Jens Kugele (Editor); Ansgar Nünning (Editor)
ISBN: 3110655098
Publication Date: 2020-08-10
How can we approach possible but unknown futures of the study of culture? This volume explores this question in the context of a changing global world. The contributions in this volume discuss the necessity of significant shifts in our conceptual and epistemological frameworks. Taking into account changing institutional research settings, the authors develop pathways to future cultural research, addressing the crucial concerns of the cultural and social worlds themselves. The contributions thereby utilize contact zones within a wide range of disciplines such as cultural anthropology, sociology, cultural history, literary studies, the history of science and bioethics as well as the environmental and medical humanities. Examining emerging inter- and transdisciplinary points of reference, the volume invites scholars in the humanities and social sciences to take part in a conversation about theories, methods, and practices for the future study of culture.
Collaborative Anthropology Today by Dominic Boyer (Editor); George E. Marcus (Editor)
ISBN: 9781501753343
Publication Date: 2021-01-15
As multisited research has become mainstream in anthropology, collaboration has gained new relevance and traction as a critical infrastructure of both fieldwork and theory, enabling more ambitious research designs, forms of communication, and analysis. Collaborative Anthropology Today is the outcome of a 2017 workshop held at the Center for Ethnography, University of California, Irvine. This book is the latest in a trilogy that includes Fieldwork Is Not What It Used to Be and Theory Can Be More Than It Used to Be. Dominic Boyer and George E. Marcus assemble several notable ventures in collaborative anthropology and put them in dialogue with one another as a way of exploring the recent surge of interest in creating new kinds of ethnographic and theoretical partnerships, especially in the domains of art, media, and information. Contributors highlight projects in which collaboration has generated new possibilities of expression and conceptualizations of anthropological research, as well as prototypes that may be of use to others contemplating their own experimental collaborative ventures.
Interdisciplinary Conversations by Myra Strober
ISBN: 9780804772310
Publication Date: 2010-10-01
Interest in doing, funding, and studying interdisciplinary work has built to crescendo in recent years. But despite this growing enthusiasm, our collective understanding of the dynamics, rewards, and challenges of faculty conversations across disciplines remains murky. Through six case studies of interdisciplinary seminars for faculty, Interdisciplinary Conversations investigates pivotal interdisciplinary conversations and analyzes the factors that make them work. Past discussions about barriers to interdisciplinary collaborations fixate on funding, the academic reward system, and the difficulties of evaluating research from multiple fields. This book uncovers barriers that are hidden: disciplinary habits of mind, disciplinary cultures, and interpersonal dynamics. Once uncovered, these barriers can be broken down by faculty members and administrators. While clarion calls for interdisciplinarity rise in chorus, this book lays out a clear vision of how to realize the creative potential of interdisciplinary conversations.

About the College of Integrative Studies (CIS)

"As the first of its kind in Singapore, the College of Integrative Studies’ Individualised Major will allow students to respond nimbly to industry and societal needs, by individualising their majors to engage with the needs of the future."

PROFESSOR ELVIN LIM
Dean,
College of Integrative Studies, SMU

"SMU believes in providing our students with a transformative education by nurturing a cadre of graduates who can navigate emerging fields of knowledge, possess the agility to master multiple disciplines, and adopt an integrative approach to reframing and addressing challenges.

Established in 2022, the College of Integrative Studies is SMU’s seventh School and plays a pivotal role in helping students traverse the disciplinary areas associated with the other SMU Schools – Accountancy, Business, Economics, Computing, Law and Social Sciences.

The CIS is different in that it emphasises the importance of integrating ideas and perspectives across disciplines to derive new solutions in areas related to SMU’s Strategic Priorities. The College aims to nurture graduates who will confidently navigate the inter-related issues of a complex world, find solutions beyond a single discipline or traditional paradigm, and contribute to industry and society in meaningful ways."

At the CIS, we are committed to supporting students whose aspirations cannot be achieved within the confines of conventional degree programmes, and who have a clear sense of their learning goals in service of emerging social and industry needs.

Home to full-time faculty members with postgraduate degrees from renowned universities such as the LSE, Oxford, Princeton and Yale, spanning topics such as Computer Science, Economics, Environmental History, Geography, Law, and Urban Climate, amongst others, the College seeks to cultivate an environment conducive to intellectual exploration across academic disciplines. The College will assign every undergraduate student a faculty advisor to guide them in their academic journey. In addition, every student who is keen to pursue a professional pathway is paired with an industry mentor who will provide advice on the nuances and outlook of the industry, helping the student apply their academic learning with an industry lens.
Source: CIS website.

Read more about the College of Integrative Studies (CIS) here.

News Articles

SMU students will get to pick courses for their major from 2023 under new interdisciplinary college

askST: Is SMU’s College of Integrative Studies a good choice?

Getting Started: Multidisciplinary Databases

ProQuest Databases
Databases Indexed Include:

ABI/INFORM Collection‎ (1971 - current)
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news
Subject Area(s):‎ Business , Economics

Coronavirus Research Database‎
A free health and medical research database for openly available content related to the COVID-19 outbreak.

Ebook Central‎
Multidisciplinary - e-books

ERIC‎ (1966 - current)
Education and related topics - journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs
Subject Area(s):‎ Social Sciences

J.P. Morgan Research‎ (2011 - current)
Business, Finance – analyst reports, securities research, economic information, company, product and industry information
Subject Area(s):‎ Business

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)‎ (1973 - current)
Theoretical and applied linguistics, psycholinguistics, etc. - journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers
Subject Area(s):‎ Social Sciences

PAIS Index‎ (1914 - current)
Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations - journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, microfiche, Internet material, etc.
Subject Area(s):‎ Social Sciences

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global‎
Multidisciplinary - dissertations
Subject Area(s):‎ Dissertations & Theses

PTSDpubs‎ (1871 - current)
Literature related to traumatic stress - journal articles
Subject Area(s):‎ Social Sciences

Publicly Available Content Database‎
Designed to complement other databases and collections, this database brings together or links to full text for publicly available content from a number of different sources from around the world.
Subject Area(s):‎ Unassigned

Research Library‎
Multidisciplinary subject coverage from scholarly, trade, and consumer publications
Subject Area(s):‎ Business , Social Sciences , Economics

Sociological Abstracts‎ (1952 - current)
Sociological Abstracts indexes international scholarly literature in sociology and includes companion file Social Services Abstracts

TDM Studio Unlimited‎
This product will have an account's workbenches associated with it.

Getting Started: Multidisciplinary Databases

EBSCOhost
Databases Indexed Include:

Academic Search Ultimate
OpenDissertations
Audiobook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Business Source Ultimate
Communication & Mass Media Complete
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
EconLit
Education Research Complete
E-Journals
ERIC
GreenFILE
Humanities International Complete
Political Science Complete
APA PsycArticles
APA PsycBooks
APA PsycInfo
APA PsycTests
Regional Business News
SocINDEX with Full Text
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Historical Abstracts
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (H.W. Wilson)

Current Affairs Resources

Business Times
Access and read all the latest business news from Business Times online. Subscription allows access to 7-day Archive. For earlier issues of full text articles use Factiva.
Access restrictions: 5 concurrent users.
Access requirements: Business Times is only supported by Chrome and Microsoft Edge browsers.
CloudSource OA (OER, Open Educational Resources, Open Access)
CloudSource OA provides Open Access material and digital learning objects for teaching, learning, and research, including over 40 million Open Textbooks, journal articles and readings, as well as high quality openly available teaching and educational resources (open educational resources) such as case studies, lecture notes, syllabus, activities/labs, games, and datasets for teaching and self-learning.
The Economist
Economist.com covers issues in global business and politics. The coverage includes the archive of articles published since 1997 from the print edition of The Economist magazine, and 2000 to current issues come complete with graphs, tables and pictures.
FACTIVA
Factiva combines more than 35,000 sources from 200 countries in 26 languages. Content type includes newspapers, magazines, trade journals, blogs, podcasts, websites, and newswires like Dow Jones and Reuters. Search in English, or another language of your choice. Find listed Singapore and international companies information under Companies/Markets. Take note that downloading of content for analytics is not permitted.
New York Times (NYT)
One-time registration is required using your SMU email address. After you have successfully created your account, you can access the content via website or mobile App. New York Times covers News, Editorials/Opinions-Columns/Op-Ed, Sports, Arts, Science, Styles, Home, Travel, and other features. News Archives are available from 1851.
Open Syllabus
Mapping the college curriculum across 18.7 million syllabi.
Open Syllabus is a massive non-profit archive of the main activity of higher education: teaching. It provides top-down views of the curriculum across thousands of schools to support curricular innovation, lifelong learning, and student success.
Open Syllabus works to expand the boundaries of open education. Most of its tools are free to use.
Straits Times
Access and read all the latest Singapore and international news from the Straits Times online. Subscription allows access to 7-day Archive. For earlier issues of full text articles use Factiva.
Access restrictions: 10 concurrent users.
Access requirements: Straits Times is only supported by Chrome and Microsoft Edge browsers. Please Log out after each session. To Log out: Click smu_user, select Log out. Wait for the log out to complete before closing the browser window.
Times Higher Education (THE)
Times Higher Education (THE) provides rankings, analysis and commentary on the higher education sector. it features articles on key issues in higher education ass well as the latest trends and developments. It also provides in-depth analysis and insights on the World University Rankings.
Access: Registration required for certain sections
How to Register (link to detailed info):
Click "Register" under the person icon in the top right hand side of the website
Register using your SMU email
Fill out the form with personal information, including your name, higher education status (student/professional/other) and newsletter preferences.
Wall Street Journal (WSJ)
WSJ provides current global news and probing analysis of markets, corporations, financials and technology. News archive is available up to latest 7-year.
Access requirements: One-time registration is required, using your SMU email address. After you have successfully created your account, you can access the service anywhere, across devices.
Web of Science
Use this database to identify highly cited articles in a subject area and authors who cite a specific article. Use it to search for articles using keyword and even by institution name.
Web of Science includes Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1900), Science Citation Index (from 1965), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 2008), and Book Citation Index (2005-2018)
Scopus
Scopus is an important cross-disciplinary abstract & citation database of research literature. Use Scopus to search for article level citation metrics like total cites or FWCI as well as a list of sources indexed in Scopus and their respective Journal level metrics like Citescore, SJR, and SNIP.