It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How do I Locate Case Law?: Home
Guide to locating case law within the Library's collection.
This guide gives you a short explanation on how to search for cases using case names and case citations, and to also find out which database you should use when locating case law in different jurisdictions.
LawNet is the primary legal database for Singapore.
Lexis and Westlaw are the main databases containing most of, but not limited, to UK case materials and international journals.
LawNetThis database provides online access to Singapore Legislation, Case Law, Secondary materials, Parliamentary Reports and Treaties. It also provides access to the UK Law Reports (ICLR) and the Weekly Law Reports. Select Legal Research menu tab to start your search.
97 concurrent users. Remember to logout before leaving LawNet.
NOTE: JustCite is no longer available through LawNet. Please search for JustCite from the A-Z Database listing to access.
WestlawThomson Reuters Westlaw - This is an online legal research service which provides a unique collection of legal and regulatory information by combining materials from renowned information providers such as Sweet & Maxwell, Carswell and West Group. The collection includes case law, legislation, law reviews, treaties, and directories.
50 concurrent users. Step 1 Check [I agree] --> Step 2 Click on [Go].
To access non-US materials, click on International Materials before performing a search.
This English language database contains the full text of all Malaysian cases and federal acts. New bills, acts, subsidiary acts and amending acts are listed as they become available. The database provides links to a number of free legal directories. These include the Malaysian legal professional email directory and the Malaysian Bar Council Directory.
2 concurrent users. To login, you are only required to click on the "Sign in button" at the top right hand corner of the screen. Leave the username and password as it is.
ChinalawinfoChinalawinfo.com provides access to Chinese & English-language versions of all the relevant documents for legal research in China. The database provides access to China's legislation, case law, gazettes, selected journals and legal news. There are more notes and links in the Chinese text version, but the database only provides English translations for the main contents of the Chinese text.
1 concurrent user. Remember to click the Logout button at the end of your session.
ManupatraManupatra provides full text access to Indian judgments from 1932. The courts covered for this period include: Allahabad, Calcutta, Nagpur, Oudh, Federal Court, Privy Council. Bombay High Court covers judgments from 1879 to date and Madras High Court covers judgments from 1867 to date. In terms of legislation, it includes 1100 acts incorporating amendments, subsidiary legislation and repealed legislation. Also included are Bills, Committee Reports, Notifications and Circulars and selected forms.
i-law.comProvides access to law reports, journal articles and texts on the area of Arbitration, Competition, Construction, Financial Crime, Insurance, Re-insurance, Intellectual Property, Maritime & Commercial Law, and Professional Negligence. Key titles included: Lloyds Law Reports, Lloyd's Maritime & Commerical Law Quarterly, Building Law Reports.
When prompted to login, you are only required to enter your email address. Leave the the username and password as it is.
English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1867)The English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1865) online edition delivers exact page-images of the original bound reprint edition, containing more than 100,000 cases, together with the Indexes and Book of Charts. In addition, multiple navigation tools, such as a Case Locator, Chart Tool, and an Advanced Search feature enhance the ease of access to specific cases.