Research Guides: Law and Psychology (LAW 477): Welcome

Quick links

Useful Research Guides

Welcome

Welcome! This guide introduces you to resources needed for researching psychological and social sciences literature related to LAW 477 (Law and Psychology).

If you require any additional assistance, please do not hesitate to contact the librarians for this module:

Venki KANNADASAN, Research Librarian, Social Sciences

Rajen MUNOO, Research Librarian, Law

Key Resources in Psychology

Use the following databases to find primary and secondary literature on your topic. There should be full text for many of these resources; if not, click the Find it @ SMU Libraries button in the search results to search the library collection.

PsycINFO Useful starting point to find academic articles in psychology. Comprehensive index for psychology and behavioral sciences literature, from 1887 to current. Includes links to full text articles.
Taylor and Francis Social Sciences and Humanities Search and access journals published by Routledge and Taylor & Francis. The full text of journals of over 1,100 journals in the Social Science and Humanities Collection are available. Subjects covered include in the Economics, Finance, Business & Industry, Area Studies, Behavioural Sciences, Politics, International Relations, Sport and Leisure Management.
Google Scholar Search articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
JSTOR Includes business, economics, history, political science, language & literature, management, mathematics, sociology, statistics and Asian studies.

'Review' articles are literature reviews on a particular topic, and can be a valuable source of information. The following databases allow you to limit your results to the 'review' publication or document type.

PubMed
Exceptional database for the biomedical sciences and psychology. To find fulltext review articles:
1. Perform your search in PubMed (e.g. eyewitness AND memory)
2. Use the 'limits' on the left-hand side of the results page to limit to 'Review' under Article type, and Free Full Text under Text Availability.
Web of Science
Covers high quality journals in psychology and many other subject areas. Useful for checking who has cited a specific article.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature which covers nearly 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers in the areas of Science, Social Science, Technology and Medicine.

Research Librarians

Venki KANNADASAN

Research Librarian, Social Sciences

Rajen MUNOO

Law Librarian