Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SMU Libraries

My Library Navigator: Navigate The Libraries

One-stop guide for freshmen/exchange students to make the most of SMU Libraries.

My Library

Loan Entitlement

Books

Reserves

Lifestyle Collection

Magazines

Media Collection

UGs

12 items
(1 
Reserves)

21 days

3 hours

28 days

7 days

4 hours /

7 days

 

Books

S$1.00 per day after the date due

S$5.00 per day after the date due (3 day loan)

Items in Reserves

S$1.00 per hour after the time due (3 hour loan)

AV items

S$1.00 per day after the date due

 

Library Collections

Collections Overview

The collection at the Li Ka Shing Library is interdisciplinary and covers the broad fields of business, economics and commerce with special strengths in finance, trade, accounting, management and international business. The collection at the Kwa Geok Choo Law Library covers the resources necessary to support teaching and research in Law.

The Lifestyle collection is located at Li Ka Shing Library, Lounge (Level 2), and includes a selection of close to 1200 leisure titles in fiction (contemporary, classic and regional), travel, food, hobbies, personal development, and health and fitness. Students love to browse through the shelves after class!

The SMU Art Collection comprises over 300 artworks in the university's permanent collection and loan collections, many of which are on long-term display. With its mix of Singapore, Southeast Asia, and international modern and contemporary artworks, the Collection reflects SMU’s vision as a global-city university in Asia. The Collection is made possible through the generosity and commitment of donors, artists and supporters. At Li Ka Shing Library Level 4, there is also a dedicated exhibition space, art@level4, to showcase some of the pieces from the Collection.

Library Facilities

As student, what can I copy?

The Copyright Act has provisions called the "fair dealing" provision for research and study. The “Fair Dealing” principle states that you may copy a "reasonable portion" of a literary, dramatic or musical work for your own research and study. A reasonable portion is set at 10% or one chapter of a book, or one article from any one issue of a journal. Copying a whole textbook would not be considered fair, even if you need it for your course but you think it is too expensive. Learn more from the Copyright Advisory.


Libraries Spaces

SMU Libraries, through its two locations, Li Ka Shing Library and Kwa Geok Choo Law Library, offer a range of spaces to support the SMU community, including an Investment Studio at Li Ka Shing Library, Level 3. You can access finance databases, such as Bloomberg, Eikon, and Wind, from the terminals inside the Investment Studio. Since the databases are in high demand, advanced booking of terminals is recommended!


Library Usage Policy and Code of Conduct Policy

The Libraries are shared spaces. We seek to provide safe and secure learning spaces to the community and expect cooperation from our users. Users are responsible for taking good care of library resources and facilities and are expected to be considerate towards other users. Eating and seat hogging inside the Libraries are not allowed!

The use of electronic resources must comply with the Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy and Singapore Management University Acceptable Use Policy