Research Guides: Economics Research Navigator: Find Articles

Databases Intro

Databases allow you to search for scholarly journal articles, book chapters and conference papers. Some databases include the full text. Specialized databases contain financial data, marketing data or statistical data.

See Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy.

Most databases can be accessed from off-campus. Enter your SMU id and password.

Finding Articles on your Topic

If you just have a topic in mind and you need to find articles on your topic, you have 2 options:

1) Use the Library Search box

2) Use relevant databases to do the search.

If you are not sure which databases would be good for your topic, you can

use the Subject List or

Search the relevant databases individually on their own platform and use more specific keywords, Boolean operators, search fields, search limits to get a more targeted and smaller set of results. Use the Help function in individual databases for more information on search functionalities.

Other Databases

Citation Databases

Citation databases provide a way of locating bibliographic citations for highly cited articles in a field of your interest. The search results contain hyperlinks to help you retrieve the full text if available in the Library's subscribed databases or e-Journals.

Here are the citation databases available to the SMU Community:

Scopus
Web of Science (includes Social Sciences Citation Index)

Subscribed Databases

Econlit This link opens in a new window
This database provides citations and abstracts to economic research from 1969. It is produced by the American Economic Association. It includes journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers and book reviews. Use EconLit to find relevant articles for all fields in economics, such as econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, finance, monetary theory and urban economics. Check the Classification Codes for EconLit Advanced Search.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate is a scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database. Access academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos in subject areas such as Anthropology, Ethnic and multicultural studies, General sciences, Geography, Law, Mathematics, Music, Pharmaceutical sciences, Psychology, Religion and philosophy, Science and technology, Women's studies and Zoology. It features PDF content from over 10,000 active full-text journals and magazines and more than 9,000 active full-text peer-reviewed journals. Searching of cited references is provided for more than 5,000 journals.
Ebscohost has a mobile web application at http://m.ebscohost.com/
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Business Source Ultimate covers business topics such as marketing, management information systems, accounting, finance, banking, and economics mostly from journals. Use the Company View to find detailed company information on finances, subsidiaries, products, employees and industry specifics for more than 1.1 million of the world’s largest public and private companies. Related content includes case studies, industry profiles, SWOT analyses, articles from business journals, magazines and trade publications, market research reports, product reviews, news articles and country reports. Access over 74,000 videos from the Associated Press. It indexes Harvard Business Review from 1922.
Ebscohost has a mobile web application at http://m.ebscohost.com/
EBSCOHost Databases This link opens in a new window
Search across the EBSCOHost databases which SMU subscribes to and retrieve articles from many subject areas, including business, economics, political science, psychology and sociology. Search multiple databases including Business Source Ultimate, Communication & Mass Media Complete, EconLit, Political Science Complete, PsycINFO and SocINDEX.
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
Search across the ProQuest databases which SMU subscribes to and retrieve articles from many subjects like business, psychology, science and social sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR gives access to an archive of the full text articles from scholarly journals, with a moving wall for current articles. Access the complete Arts & Sciences Collections I - X. The Arts & Sciences Collections includes business, economics, history, political science, language & literature, management, mathematics, sociology, statistics and Asian studies.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is Elsevier's full text platform for over 3,000 scholarly journals in business, economics, decision sciences, mathematics, statistics, computer science, social sciences and psychology. Advances in- and Research in- book series in the Business, Management, Economics and Psychology package are also available.
SMU Libraries has access to ScienceDirect API that can be used for text and data mining. More info here.
SpringerLINK This link opens in a new window
Access to full text from Springer books and journals. Subject areas covered includes Behavioral Sciences, Business & Economics, Computer Science, Engineering, Humanities & Social Sciences, Law, Mathematics, Statistics and Medicine.

Mobile Friendly Databases

JSTOR

Search and access scholarly full text articles from the broad disciplines of Arts, Business and Social Sciences.

Web App º Free

EBSCOhost

This platform covers diverse topics such as political science, psychology, business, and economics. Please login with your SMU ID/password when prompted and continue by clicking on 'Mobile Interface for Ebscohost'.

Web App º Free

ScienceDirect

Search articles from ScienceDirect which covers business, economics, decision sciences, social sciences and psychology. You need to register with ScienceDirect and follow the authentication steps before you can use the apps.

Android / Blackberry / iPhone / iPad º Free