Research Guides: Master of IT in Business (Financial Technology &amp; Analytics) Programme: Find Articles and Data

Information Systems Databases subscribed by SMU Libraries

Here are selected useful subject databases. To access more databases please click here.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Use this database to access ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) journals, magazines, transactions, as well as conference proceedings and Special Interest Group (SIGs) newsletters.
IEEE Computer Society Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Use this database to access publications from the IEEE Computer Society (IEEE CS), including full text, online collection of journals from 1988 to the present, and conference proceedings from 1995 to the present produced by the IEEE CS.
Gartner This link opens in a new window
Use Gartner for technology intelligence, market analysis and issues on IT topics. Guide on How do I use Gartner is available.
SpringerLINK This link opens in a new window
Access to full text from Springer books and journals. Subject areas covered includes Behavioral Sciences, Business & Economics, Computer Science, Engineering, Humanities & Social Sciences, Law, Mathematics, Statistics and Medicine.

Accounting and Finance Databases subscribed by SMU Libraries

To access Bloomberg, Datastream, and SDC Platinum, use the dedicated terminals on Level 3 of the Library.

Bloomberg Professional Services This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg provides real-time and historical pricing, indicative and fundamental data, charts and graphs on different topics, customized analytics, and market news. Use this database to obtain financial and business information, including real-time and intra-day data.

Booking instructions: Book a terminal here and use the corresponding Bloomberg computer in the Investment & Data Studio at Level 3. Limited to one booking per user per day.
Login Instructions: Click on the Bloomberg icon on the desktop and login using the Bloomberg login ID & PW. Optional: Create an individual Bloomberg account.
Guides: How do I use Bloomberg, FAQs and Bloomberg Market Concepts.

Important Note: Bloomberg has ceased its extended temporary remote access service with effect from 30 June 2022. For access to Bloomberg, please visit the Investment & Data Studio.
Datastream
Datastream is a financial and economic database of Refinitiv. It provides current and historical time series data on equities, bonds, indices, unit trusts, investment trusts, bonds, exchange rates, interest rates, commodities, derivatives, and economic data.

Access via Datastream alternatively via WRDS (you will need a WRDS account).

Booking instructions: Book an Eikon terminal here and use the corresponding Eikon computer in the Investment & Data Studio at Level 3. Limited to one booking per user per day.
Login instructions: Step 1 > Click the Eikon icon on the desktop and wait for the login details to load automatically. DO NOT click on the login area. Step 2 > At Excel, install the Datastream Excel add-on to access Datastream.
Guides: How do I install Datastream.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva combines more than 35,000 sources from 200 countries in 26 languages. Content type includes newspapers, magazines, trade journals, blogs, podcasts, websites, and newswires like Dow Jones and Reuters. Search in English, or another language of your choice. Find listed Singapore and international companies information under Companies/Markets. Take note that downloading of content for analytics is not permitted.
Eikon This link opens in a new window
Eikon provides real-time and historical pricing, charts and graphs, customized analytics, and market news on markets such as equities, commodities, fixed income, forex.

Booking instructions: Book a terminal here and use the corresponding Eikon computer in the Investment & Data Studio at Level 3. Limited to one booking per user per day.
Login instructions: Click on the Eikon icon on the desktop and wait for the login details to load automatically. DO NOT click on the login area.
Guides: How do I use Eikon.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
WRDS provides access to over 350 terabytes of data across multiple disciplines including Accounting, Banking, Economics, ESG, Finance, Healthcare, Insurance, Marketing, and Statistics. Data delivery options include a web query method, the WRDS Cloud for executing research and strategy development, and the WRDS client server using PCSAS, Matlab, and R.

Registration is required for access to WRDS.

Register for your individual account or obtain a Day Pass access with your SMU email.

About Find Articles

If you have a topic in your mind and need to find articles on your topic the best place to start is the relevant databases.

Databases allow you to search for scholarly journal articles, book chapters and conference papers. Some databases include the full text. Most databases can be accessed from off-campus. Enter your SMU ID and password.

Find Articles in Library Search

If you look for a particular article or if you look for articles on your topic and do not know which database you can use, use the library search box to run a simple search across databases in the Multidisciplinary "Best Bets" and Information Systems sections.

See Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy.

Master of IT in Business (Financial Technology & Analytics) Programme: Find Articles and Data

Information Systems Databases subscribed by SMU Libraries

Accounting and Finance Databases subscribed by SMU Libraries

About Find Articles

Search IEEE Computer Society