Research Guides: Alumni Research Navigator: Access Library Databases

SMU Alumni Library Membership - Database Access List

Alumni with the SMU Alumni Library Membership can access to the following electronic resources using the library computer Terminal 17 (except for Business Source Alumni).

ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new window
Use this database to search for articles in the broad areas of business, applied economics and law. It incorporates titles from ProQuest Asian Business, European Business, Accounting & Tax and Banking Information Source databases. It includes trade publications as well as Wall Street Journal (Eastern ed).
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate is a scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database. Access academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos in subject areas such as Anthropology, Ethnic and multicultural studies, General sciences, Geography, Law, Mathematics, Music, Pharmaceutical sciences, Psychology, Religion and philosophy, Science and technology, Women's studies and Zoology. It features PDF content from over 10,000 active full-text journals and magazines and more than 9,000 active full-text peer-reviewed journals. Searching of cited references is provided for more than 5,000 journals.
Ebscohost has a mobile web application at http://m.ebscohost.com/
Business Source Alumni Edition This link opens in a new window
Business Source Alumni Edition caters to the needs of post-college professional. It provides access to more than 1,360 full text business magazines and journals, of which 590 are peer-reviewed. Publications cover almost every area of business such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics, economics. It also contains trade publications, country economic reports, industry reports, market research reports and company profiles.

View the login ID/Password
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Business Source Ultimate covers business topics such as marketing, management information systems, accounting, finance, banking, and economics mostly from journals. Use the Company View to find detailed company information on finances, subsidiaries, products, employees and industry specifics for more than 1.1 million of the world’s largest public and private companies. Related content includes case studies, industry profiles, SWOT analyses, articles from business journals, magazines and trade publications, market research reports, product reviews, news articles and country reports. Access over 74,000 videos from the Associated Press. It indexes Harvard Business Review from 1922.
Ebscohost has a mobile web application at http://m.ebscohost.com/
Cambridge Core Journals This link opens in a new window
Access over 380 peer-reviewed academic journals covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences and science, technology and law. The coverage includes 1.8 million journal articles.
CloudSource OA This link opens in a new window
CloudSource OA provides Open Access material and digital learning objects for teaching, learning, and research, including over 40 million Open Textbooks, journal articles and readings, as well as high quality openly available teaching and educational resources (open educational resources) such as case studies, lecture notes, syllabus, activities/labs, games, and datasets for teaching and self-learning.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
The database covers broadcasting, communication arts, communication management, communication sciences, linguistics, marketing, public relations, media. It has the full text from over 400 journals. It provides indexing and abstracts from over 750 journals. It includes biographies, book chapters and reviews, case studies, essays, industry overviews and literary criticisms. Indexes publications from the National Communication Association, Global Media Journal, Association for Education in Journalism & Mass Communication.
EBSCOHost Databases This link opens in a new window
Search across the EBSCOHost databases which SMU subscribes to and retrieve articles from many subject areas, including business, economics, political science, psychology and sociology. Search multiple databases including Business Source Ultimate, Communication & Mass Media Complete, EconLit, Political Science Complete, PsycINFO and SocINDEX.
Econlit This link opens in a new window
This database provides citations and abstracts to economic research from 1969. It is produced by the American Economic Association. It includes journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers and book reviews. Use EconLit to find relevant articles for all fields in economics, such as econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, finance, monetary theory and urban economics. Check the Classification Codes for EconLit Advanced Search.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Access full-text articles from more than 230 journal titles covering various management subjects areas such as: Accounting and Finance, Marketing, Enterprise and Innovation Strategy, International Business Operations and Logistics Management, Management Science/Management Studies Human Resource Management Organization Studies, Business Ethics and Law, Tourism and Hospitality, Regional Management Studies, Managing Quality Economics, Education, Industry and Public Sector Management Performance Management and Measurement, Environmental Management/Environment.
Emerging Markets Information Service This link opens in a new window
Access this database for company and industry information, macroeconomic analysis, financial markets data, merges and acquisitions, forecasts and news for over 70 countries in Asia, Australia, Europe, Latin America, Africa & the Middle East. Includes some information on private companies. Many news sources are in the local language. It also contains some analyst reports.
EMIS
ISI Emerging Markets
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides full text, abstracts or citations of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.
Firsthand This link opens in a new window
Vault features a collection of industry, career and company guides. It covers a wide range of industries, including accounting, advertising, biotechnology, finance, investment banking, insurance, law, media & entertainment, marketing, real estate, retail, venture capital, etc.
Users including Alumni will need to register for an account using your SMU email address
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR gives access to an archive of the full text articles from scholarly journals, with a moving wall for current articles. Access the complete Arts & Sciences Collections I - X. The Arts & Sciences Collections includes business, economics, history, political science, language & literature, management, mathematics, sociology, statistics and Asian studies.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics are covered. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) This link opens in a new window
This database indexes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports on a wide range of topics related to public policy and political science. Use PAIS to find relevant articles in political topics such as climate change, globalization, gun control, violence.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
This database covers comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-government organizations and political theory. It provides full text for more than 500 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles. It also features over 340 full-text reference books and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
Search across the ProQuest databases which SMU subscribes to and retrieve articles from many subjects like business, psychology, science and social sciences.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central consists of more than 110,000 authoritative ebooks in a wide range of subjects including Business, Economics, Law, Social Sciences, Psychology, Computer Science, education.
The ebooks can be downloaded using the free Adobe Digital Editions software to most devices including iPhone, iPad, and Android devices etc. Click HERE for downloading instructions.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Use this database for general or multidisciplinary topics. It covers a broad range of academic subjects from arts, education, health, humanities, law, military, multicultural, psychology, to social sciences. Includes many full text articles.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of more than 60 psychology journals. The journals are published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. Use PsycARTICLES to find artlcles on general psychology as well as specialized, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology.
Search PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO and PsycBOOKS together.
PsycBooks This link opens in a new window
Use this database to access book chapters from titles published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and other related publishers. It has the full text of many classic books in psychology. Use this database also to find the entries in the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.
Search PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO and PsycBOOKS together.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
This database indexes psychology and behavioral sciences literature, from 1887 to current. Subjects include Education, Linguistics, Medicine, Organizational Behavior, Psychiatry, and Sociology.
Ebscohost has a mobile web application at http://m.ebscohost.com/

Search PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO and PsycBOOKS together.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
Sage Premier includes international, peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 350 scholarly and professional societies. Access over 900 journals published by Sage in the areas of business, economics, management, philosophy, political science, psychology, and sociology from 1999. Access over 280 journals with content back to the first volume.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is Elsevier's full text platform for over 3,000 scholarly journals in business, economics, decision sciences, mathematics, statistics, computer science, social sciences and psychology. Advances in- and Research in- book series in the Business, Management, Economics and Psychology package are also available.
SMU Libraries has access to ScienceDirect API that can be used for text and data mining. More info here.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database is focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. It abstracts over 1,400 journals including dissertations and citations to book reviews. Use Social Services Abstracts to get relevant articles on topics such as aging, family, cultural change, social welfare.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text covers a broad spectrum of sociological studies. The subjects covered include abortion, demography, political sociology, urban sociology, social psychology, sociological history and sociological research. Use SocINDEX to find relevant materials for social research and full text articles from over 350 journals, over 700 books and many conference papers.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800 journals, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Use Sociological Abstracts to find relevant articles for sociology and social sciences, including topics on culture, demography, business and education.
SpringerLINK This link opens in a new window
Access to full text from Springer books and journals. Subject areas covered includes Behavioral Sciences, Business & Economics, Computer Science, Engineering, Humanities & Social Sciences, Law, Mathematics, Statistics and Medicine.
Taylor and Francis Social Science & Humanities This link opens in a new window
Search and access journals published by Routledge and Taylor & Francis. The full text of journals of over 1,100 journals in the Social Science and Humanities Collection are available. Subjects covered include in the Economics, Finance, Business & Industry, Area Studies, Behavioural Sciences, Politics, International Relations, Sport and Leisure Management.
Wiley Social Sciences and Humanities This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of topics, including Agriculture, Aquaculture & Food Science, Architecture & Planning, Art & Applied Arts, Business, Economics, Finance & Accounting, Chemistry, Computer Science & Information Technology, Earth, Space & Environmental Sciences, Humanities, Law & Criminology, Life Sciences, Mathematics & Statistics, Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry & Healthcare, Physical Sciences & Engineering, Psychology, Social & Behavioral Sciences and Veterinary Medicine.