Research Guides: Dispute Resolution: Alternative Dispute Resolution and Conflict Management

Web Resources

Australian Commercial Disputes Centre
The Australian Commercial Disputes Centre (ACDC) is an independent, not-for-profit organisation committed to advancing a positive approach to conflict by delivering quality Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) education and training.
Centre for Effective Dispute Resolution (CEDR)
An independent non-profit organisation with a public mission and supported by multinational business, law firms and public sector organisations. CEDR work in the UK and internationally tocut the cost of conflict and create a world of choice and capability in conflict prevention and resolution.
Community Justice and Tribunals System
Launched in July 2017, the Community Justice and Tribunals System, part of the State Courts of Singapore, offers parties the convenience of filing and managing claims online. It also provides for electronic negotiation, offering the possibility of settlements without the matter going to court.
International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID)
"ICSID is an autonomous international institution established under the Convention on the Settlement of Investment Disputes between States and Nationals of Other States (the ICSID or the Washington Convention) with over one hundred and forty member States. The Convention sets forth ICSID's mandate, organization and core functions. The primary purpose of ICSID is to provide facilities for conciliation and arbitration of international investment disputes."

more... less...

The ICSID Convention is a multilateral treaty formulated by the Executive Directors of the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD).
International Institute for Conflict Prevention and Resolution (CPR)
The International Institute for Conflict Prevention and Resolution (CPR) is a non-profit think tank that combines a decades-old heritage of thought leadership with the innovation of its diverse and collaborative membership to offer the most cutting edge dispute resolution services and resources available.
Singapore International Commercial Court
Launched on 5 January, 2015 to deal with international commercial dispute resolution.
Includes hearings and judgments
The Tripartite Alliance for Dispute Management (TADM)
The TADM helps help employees and employers manage employment disputes, or self-employed persons manage payment-related disputes.
Unresolved disputes after mediation at TADM may be referred to the Employement Claims Tribunals (ECT) part of the State Courts Singapore.
United States Institute of Peace
The United States Institute of Peace (USIP) provides the analysis, training and tools that help to prevent, manage and end violent international conflicts, promote stability and professionalize the field of peacebuilding.
Opening of the Legal Year 2018 (Sundaresh Menon)
Employment Claims Tribunals (ECT)
The ECT adjudicates employment disputes in a tribunal setting, adopting a low-cost framework with simplified processes. This provides an affordable and expeditious way for resolving such disputes
Using the Community Justice and Tribunals System
About the Small Claims Tribunals
Overview of Alternative Dispute Resolution
Family Justice Courts
The Family Justice Courts is working with the Family Bar to devise a Best Practice Guide for Family Practice.
The Future Law Innovation Programme (FLIP)
An outcome simulator for use in predicting the division of assets in matrimonial proceedings is being developed.
Singapore International Mediation Centre
Singapore International Dispute Resolution Academy (SIDRA)

Dispute resolution journals

Find SMU's Dispute Resolution Journals here.

Selected dispute resolution titles from our collection:

Selected Dispute Resolution titles from Westlaw:

Cardozo Journal of Conflict Resolution (Coverage: Full coverage begins with 1997 (vol. 1))
Dispute Resolution Journal (Coverage: Selected coverage begins with 1993 (vol. 48))
Dispute Resolution Magazine (Coverage: Coverage begins with 1996 (vol. 3))
Journal of Dispute Resolution (Coverage: Selected coverage begins with 1991 (vol. 1991), full coverage begins with 1993 (vol. 1993, no. 2))
Ohio State Journal on Dispute Resolution (Coverage: Selected coverage begins with 1985 (vol. 1), full coverage begins with 1993 (vol. 9))
Pepperdine Dispute Resolution Law Journal (Coverage: Full coverage begins with 2000 (vol. 1))
Willamette Journal of International Law and Dispute Resolution (Coverage: Full coverage begins with 1997 (vol. 5))

ADR Events, Conferences and Symposia

Conflict Resolution Conferences Worldwide

Useful Databases or Research on Dispute Resolution

i-law.com
DISPUTE RESOLUTION on i-law.com
Provides access to Dispute Resolution legal literature such as: Current articles Forms and Documents such as: Civil Procedure Rules and Practice Directions Arbitration Legislation Practice Notes: Dispute Resolution process: and A to Z of common terms, English Arbitration, International Arbitration, Mediation

Note: From April 2022, i-law requires email and password to access the database. For more information on accessing i-law, please refer to the following FAQ.

If you are a full-time faculty, research staff, undergraduate or postgraduate student from YPHSL, your account would have been pre-loaded into the system.

For other users who are active SMU faculty (including adjuncts), staff, undergraduate or postgraduate students, you can click on this link to register for an account by completing the form.

International Trade Centre (ITC) - Juris International
Database on international trade law. Information on commercial arbitration, mediation, conciliation, expertise centres and other alternative dispute resolution centers or services including the full text of their rules and model clauses.

Web of Science
Use this database to identify highly cited articles in a subject area and authors who cite a specific article. Use it to search for articles using keyword and even by institution name.
Web of Science includes Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1900), Science Citation Index Expanded (from 1965), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 2008), and Book Citation Index (2005-2018)

SMU Libraries has access to Web of Science API Lite. More info here.
Kluwer Arbitration
Kluwer Arbitration is a useful international arbitration research resource. It contains commentary and an extensive collection of primary source materials. It provides access to legislation, conventions, bilateral investment treaties, bilateral trade agreements, New York convention decisions, rules, and news. The database is searchable and browseable by category or country.
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
This bibliographic database provides citations of articles from legal periodicals and indexes law books, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications, university publications and open access (OA) journals. It covers all areas of jurisprudence, court decisions, legislation, and original scholarship. Data starts from 1981 to present.
Westlaw
Thomson Reuters Westlaw - This is an online legal research service which provides a unique collection of legal and regulatory information by combining materials from renowned information providers such as Sweet & Maxwell, Carswell and West Group. The collection includes case law, legislation, law reviews, treaties, and directories.

To access non-US materials, click on International Materials before performing a search.

Access: 50 concurrent users.
Take note that excessive downloading of content is strictly prohibited.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
The Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. The Library subscribes to: Accounting Research Network (ARN), Economics Research Network (ERN), Financial Economics Network (FEN), Legal Scholarships Network (LSN), Management Research Network (MRN), Entrepreneurship Research & Policy Network (ERPN) and Corporate Governance Network (CGN).

Access to subscribed articles are restricted to SMU faculty who have registered with SSRN.
Step-by-step registration