Research Guides: Sociology: Welcome

Library Services

Library Opening Hours
Detailed opening hours of library building and services
Library Services
Contact Us
Email addresses and telephone numbers of SMU Libraries and its various sections
SMU Libraries Search
Search the electronic and print resources of the SMU Libraries.

Key Resources in Sociology

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window SocINDEX with Full Text covers a broad spectrum of sociological studies. The subjects covered include abortion, demography, political sociology, urban sociology, social psychology, sociological history and sociological research. Use SocINDEX to find relevant materials for social research and full text articles from over 350 journals, over 700 books and many conference papers.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window This database indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800 journals, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Use Sociological Abstracts to find relevant articles for sociology and social sciences, including topics on culture, demography, business and education.
Factiva This link opens in a new window Factiva combines more than 35,000 sources from 200 countries in 26 languages. Content type includes newspapers, magazines, trade journals, blogs, podcasts, websites, and newswires like Dow Jones and Reuters. Search in English, or another language of your choice. Find listed Singapore and international companies information under Companies/Markets. Take note that downloading of content for analytics is not permitted.

Google Scholar Because Google Scholar searches the full text of articles, this may be a 'best bet' database for hard to find topics and information. Note that you won't have access to all content.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Ebscohost has a mobile web application at http://m.ebscohost.com/
ICPSR This link opens in a new window The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world’s largest archive of social science data, containing 65,000 data sets from more than 10,000 studies. Users may view documentation, download raw data for analysis, search data-related literature and use training exercises to learn analysis techniques. One-time registration required with SMU email. Account renewal required every 6 months.

Definition

"Sociology is a form of social inquiry that takes wide-ranging forms. It is defined by the study of the relations between the different parts of society. Sociology is the social science devoted to the study of modern society."

Excerpted from Delanty, Gerard. 2007. Sociology. In: Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology. Ritzer, George (ed). Malden: Blackwell.

Librarian

Benedict Yeo

Email Me

Your Feedback

Was this guide useful to you?

Send me your feedback.