Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The use of electronic resources must comply with the Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy and Singapore Management University Acceptable Use Policy
Key Resources for SE Asian History
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years. No other history research tool matches its scholarly standards or comprehensive coverage.
The "Find it @ SMU Libraries" button under each record can be used to retrieve the full-text article.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) is the most comprehensive Western-language bibliographical database for research on East, Southeast and South Asia. It contains nearly 900,000 records on all subjects, especially humanities and social sciences (including but not limited to art, history, language, literature, religion, anthropology, sociology, political science, and economics) pertaining to East, Southeast and South Asia. Coverage is from 1971 to the present.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full-text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals. It covers the arts, education, history, literature, philosophy, religion.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR gives access to an archive of the full text articles from scholarly journals, with a moving wall for current articles. Access the complete Arts & Sciences Collections I - X. The Arts & Sciences Collections includes business, economics, history, political science, language & literature, management, mathematics, sociology, statistics and Asian studies.
Taylor and Francis Social Science & Humanities This link opens in a new window Search and access journals published by Routledge and Taylor & Francis. The full text of journals of over 1,100 journals in the Social Science and Humanities Collection are available. Subjects covered include in the Economics, Finance, Business & Industry, Area Studies, Behavioural Sciences, Politics, International Relations, Sport and Leisure Management.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window Sage Premier includes international, peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 350 scholarly and professional societies. Access over 900 journals published by Sage in the areas of business, economics, management, philosophy, political science, psychology, and sociology from 1999. Access over 280 journals with content back to the first volume.
Wiley Social Sciences and Humanities This link opens in a new window Covers a wide range of topics, including Agriculture, Aquaculture & Food Science, Architecture & Planning, Art & Applied Arts, Business, Economics, Finance & Accounting, Chemistry, Computer Science & Information Technology, Earth, Space & Environmental Sciences, Humanities, Law & Criminology, Life Sciences, Mathematics & Statistics, Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry & Healthcare, Physical Sciences & Engineering, Psychology, Social & Behavioral Sciences and Veterinary Medicine.
Welcome to the Southeast Asian History Research Guide. This guide provides links to resources appropriate for research projects focused on topics in Southeast Asia. There will be additional resources beyond this guide that are relevant for your particular topic. When in doubt, always Ask A Librarian for suggestions on strategies and appropriate resources.
History Research Resources
New to history research? Explore the following links to more about tips and techniques for diving into historical research.