Research Guides: HUMN 017: A cultural introduction to India: Home

Library Services

Library Opening Hours
Detailed opening hours of library building and services
Library Services
Contact Us
Email addresses and telephone numbers of SMU Libraries and its various sections
SMU Libraries Search
Search the electronic and print resources of the SMU Libraries.

Research Pro-tips

BOOKS

Search the SMU Libraries for fulltext ebooks. We have more than 260,000!
When trying to find books, search with general terms first - adding concepts to refine.
If you see a book that looks on topic, open the record and look at the subject headings. You can click on the subject headings to see all the books in that category.

ARTICLES

Choose your keywords wisely! Search the internet, read abstracts, and get familiar with the terminology. Once you know a little bit, you will better understand the keywords you need to use.
Refine your search as needed. If 'Bollywood' gives you too many results, add another concept to refine. If you still have too many results, add another concept, etc.
Some topics might be best expressed by multiple words (e.g. untouchables, Dalits, etc.) Get to know your topic, and use the best words!
You can use the 'Limits' within the database to help you refine your results by subject, date of publication, publication type, etc.

Evaluating Sources for Credibility

View the following three resources. Rank them from least credible to most credible.

SMU Library Search

Articles

Database best bets! Use these databases to start your research, as they cover a wide range of subject areas. For more specialised subject areas, see below.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate is a scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database. Access academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos in subject areas such as Anthropology, Ethnic and multicultural studies, General sciences, Geography, Law, Mathematics, Music, Pharmaceutical sciences, Psychology, Religion and philosophy, Science and technology, Women's studies and Zoology. It features PDF content from over 10,000 active full-text journals and magazines and more than 9,000 active full-text peer-reviewed journals. Searching of cited references is provided for more than 5,000 journals.
Ebscohost has a mobile web application at http://m.ebscohost.com/
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full-text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals. It covers the arts, education, history, literature, philosophy, religion.
Taylor and Francis Social Science & Humanities This link opens in a new window
Search and access journals published by Routledge and Taylor & Francis. The full text of journals of over 1,100 journals in the Social Science and Humanities Collection are available. Subjects covered include in the Economics, Finance, Business & Industry, Area Studies, Behavioural Sciences, Politics, International Relations, Sport and Leisure Management.

Specialised databases - use these resources to find articles with the subject focus of the database listed.

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Business Source Ultimate covers business topics such as marketing, management information systems, accounting, finance, banking, and economics mostly from journals. Use the Company View to find detailed company information on finances, subsidiaries, products, employees and industry specifics for more than 1.1 million of the world’s largest public and private companies. Related content includes case studies, industry profiles, SWOT analyses, articles from business journals, magazines and trade publications, market research reports, product reviews, news articles and country reports. Access over 74,000 videos from the Associated Press. It indexes Harvard Business Review from 1922.
Ebscohost has a mobile web application at http://m.ebscohost.com/
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
The database covers broadcasting, communication arts, communication management, communication sciences, linguistics, marketing, public relations, media. It has the full text from over 400 journals. It provides indexing and abstracts from over 750 journals. It includes biographies, book chapters and reviews, case studies, essays, industry overviews and literary criticisms. Indexes publications from the National Communication Association, Global Media Journal, Association for Education in Journalism & Mass Communication.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete provides full text from over 1,400 journals, books and conference papers, with indexing from a wide range of journals in education. It also covers areas like curriculum instruction, education policy, higher education, and multilingual education.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics are covered. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
This database covers comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-government organizations and political theory. It provides full text for more than 500 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles. It also features over 340 full-text reference books and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800 journals, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Use Sociological Abstracts to find relevant articles for sociology and social sciences, including topics on culture, demography, business and education.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a 'scholarly literature' Google search. You may be prompted to 'pay' for articles. Instead, search for articles you find here at the Libraries' homepage to get access (http://library.smu.edu.sg).

Images

Flickr Creative Commons
Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license. Most images require attribution (citation).

Librarian

Benedict Yeo

Email Me