| As two of the world's biggest economies, China and the US are sparring over trade tariffs, one country that has emerged as the biggest beneficiary from the trade conflict is Vietnam. Its economy has grown by almost 8 per cent because of the shift in production from overseas as it attempts to escape the heavy tariffs from the US. Vietnam's exports to the US have also jumped by 34.8 per cent in the first nine months of 2019. But the growing trade deficits between the US and Vietnam have now caught the attention of the Trump administration. It has now started to impose selective tariff measures on exports coming from Vietnam. | How did this previously war torn economy turn it all around in the space of thirty years, being the only major Southeast Asian economy to avoid a recession in 2020? To answer this, we need to take a look at what happened to Vietnam’s economy after the Vietnam war. |
This section explores key background of innovation and entrepreneurship that lead to the development of the startup ecosystem in the country. This segment hosts reports or write-ups from several communities in Indonesia.
This section explores information on current players, vertical investors information in the ecoystem. Current SMU students are encouraged to prospect the following databases for company research in the ecosystem.
The following is a list of some of the key community players in Vietnam
This sections provide essential readings on the topics. Resources in the form of online magazine on the subject matter are suggested here as well.
The Business Model: Design, Build and Adapt Models That Drive Business Growth by 
Navigating ASEANnovation The Reservoir Principle and Other Essays on Startups and Innovation in Southeast Asia by This section explores key information on setting up companies in Vietnam as well as laws, country risks, policies, market, and funding etc. (Note: This may have repetitions from the Business and Economics Tab)
This section explores key developments and trends in the ecosystem. It includes information on size of the digital economy, consumer, Internet, Technology Framework et cetera. Current SMU students are encouraged to harness these resources for their research.
Statistics portal covering a wide variety of topics, drawn from private and public sources of information. It contains dossiers (special theme insights), forecasts and industry reports. 170 industry sectors are covered, with additional focus on the digital market and economy. Also included are infographics, reports and results of studies from market research institutions. Includes “Research AI” feature that can extract information from reports found to generate an answer.
Angels, Dragons and Vultures by
In Angels, Dragons and Vultures Simon Acland shares the experience of his successful venture capital career. The book is a guide for entrepreneurs to all aspects of venture capital. Angels, Dragons and Vultures provides advice on whether to start down the venture capital road in the first place. It discusses the pros and cons of different sources of funding, suggests how to raise money successfully, and exposes the implications of different deal structures. Then it tells you how best to manage your new investors and maps out the route to a successful exit. Angels, Dragons and Vultures is essential reading for any entrepreneur who is considering raising venture capital, or who already has and wants help managing their new partner.
Venture Capital Fund Management by
Written by a seasoned practitioner, Venture Capital Fund Management arguably provides the most comprehensive coverage of the entire professional practice of a venture capital firm. Offering in-depth explanations of concepts, practical advice on methodologies, and suggestions of best practices, this book covers topics such as venture capital fund-raising, deal sourcing and screening, due diligence, valuation, deal structuring, deal negotiation, and legal documentation, as well as the post-investment processes of monitoring, adding value, and divestment. This book also provides readers with crucial information surrounding issues that commonly affect venture capital firms, such as corporate governance, public disclosure, corporate structure, corporate qualities, fund performance measures, investor relations, tax, legal, and staffing issues. Furthermore, by applying total quality management concepts to the due diligence process, the author has created a systematic approach to effective due diligence. Venture Capital Fund Management is a comprehensive and integrated book on the venture capital investment practice and is truly an indispensable resource for both practitioners and would-be practitioners alike. The book includes information on: VC Financing, VC Organization, Raising Funds, Limited Partnership Agreement, Deal Sourcing, Non-Disclosure Agreement, Deal Log, Deal Screening, Deal Alert, Due Diligence Basics, Due Diligence of Management, Due Diligence of Marketing & the Market,
Due Diligence of Manufacturing, Due Diligence of Financial & Legal Aspects, Valuation, The Venture Capital Method,
A Spreadsheet Model for the Venture Capital Method,
Investment Securities, Deal Structuring, Term Sheet,
Deal Negotiation, Conditions Precedent, Investment Documentation, Monitoring & Adding Value, Quarterly Monitoring Report, Realizing & Recovering Value,
Fund Performance, Valuation Report, Qualities of a VC Firm, and GP's Letter to Shareholders.
The Business of Venture Capital by
The new edition of the definitive guide for venture capital practitioners--covers the entire process of venture firm formation & management, fund-raising, portfolio construction, value creation, and exit strategies Since its initial publication, The Business of Venture Capital has been hailed as the definitive, most comprehensive book on the subject. Now in its third edition, this market-leading text explains the multiple facets of the business of venture capital, from raising venture funds, to structuring investments, to generating consistent returns, to evaluating exit strategies. Author and VC Mahendra Ramsinghani who has invested in startups and venture funds for over a decade, offers best practices from experts on the front lines of this business. This fully-updated edition includes fresh perspectives on the Softbank effect, career paths for young professionals, case studies and cultural disasters, investment models, epic failures, and more. Readers are guided through each stage of the VC process, supported by a companion website containing tools such as the LP-GP Fund Due Diligence Checklist, the Investment Due Diligence Checklist, an Investment Summary format, and links to white papers and other industry guidelines. Designed for experienced practitioners, angels, devils, and novices alike, this valuable resource: Identifies the key attributes of a VC professional and the arc of an investor's career Covers the art of raising a venture fund, identifying anchor investors, fund due diligence, negotiating fund investment terms with limited partners, and more Examines the distinct aspects of portfolio construction and value creation Balances technical analyses and real-world insights Features interviews, personal stories, anecdotes, and wisdom from leading venture capitalists The Business of Venture Capital, Third Edition is a must-read book for anyone seeking to raise a venture fund or pursue a career in venture capital, as well as practicing venture capitalists, angel investors or devils alike, limited partners, attorneys, start-up entrepreneurs, and MBA students.
