It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Understanding South Korea: Home
This guide provides useful information and links to resources on South Korea.
The following information have been carefully selected for your reference. Some resources may have bias perspectives. Please approach the SMU Libraries (firstname.lastname@example.org ) should you have any doubts or need clarifications.
This video gives a brief introduction and the top things to do while you are in South Korea.
Understand more about the cultural etiquette in South Korea.
Cultural Dos and Don’ts
South Korea has its own customs, traditions, and rules for manners. Observe the following etiquette for a great experience:
Wait until elders to start eating their food. In Korea, you cannot start eating until the elders grab the chopsticks and start eating their own meal.
Do not leave the table until you are done with the meal. It is considered rude to leave the table while eating.
Do not pour your own drink. In Korea, it is considered rude to pour your own shot. Therefore, wait until someone offers to pour for you; this will usually be done by the youngest person.
Never sit in priority seats to let everyone know that these seats need to remain available at all times.
Take your shoes off at someone else home and leave them at the entrance.
Try not to make noise when you chew your food in South Korea. It is considered rude if you do make any noise when chewing, so try to chew with your mouth closed.
Basic Conversational Language
Some phrases in Hangul that are handy to know when visiting South Korea.
ahn-nyong-hee ga-se-yo (Goodbye)
uh-dduh-keh ji-neh-seh-yo? (How are you?)
gahm-sah-hahm-ni-da (Thank you)
sil-le-hahm-ni-da (Excuse me)
bahn-gap-seup-ni-da (Please to meet you)
uhl-mah-eh-yo? (How much is this?)
Lessons are broken down into bite-sized chunks and it feels like you’re playing a game. Duolingo is a great introduction, but it can feel like you’re learning a random mix of information, often through repetition. The more you do, the more robust your vocabulary will be.
The only way to become fluent in a new language is to speak it. Tandem is geared toward conversations with native speakers. The idea is that you can help one another learn new languages via text, audio, and video chat. The app vets you and then helps you to find a partner who shares your interests. They teach you and you teach them.
This section informs the common scams and crimes to look out for when visiting South Korea.
Common Tourist Scams Learn how to protect yourself from these common scams and crimes when visiting South Korea.
Crime & Security
Overall Crime and Safety Report
Find out more information on the common crime threats, areas of concerns, transportation-road safety, and even terrorism threat.
This section lists some recommended readings about South Korea.
South Korea - Insight Guides by Insight Guides StaffOne of the world's most exciting and cutting-edge countries, South Korea is a fascinating East Asian powerhouse, where ancient temples rub up alongside dazzling technology. Be inspired to visit by the new edition of Insight Guide South Korea, a comprehensive full-colour guide to all that's weird and wonderful about the country. Inside Insight Guide South Korea: A new edition by expert authors. Stunning photography that brings this fascinating country and its people to life. Highlights of the country's top attractions, including captivating former capital Gyeongju, the Unesco World Heritage Site of Haein-sa Temple and the still-relevant DMZ in our Best of South Korea. Descriptive region-by-region accounts cover the whole country, from pulsating Seoul to the remote islands of the Jeolla Provinces. Detailed, high-quality maps throughout will help you get around and travel tips give you all the essential information for planning a memorable trip. About Insight Guides: Insight Guides has over 40 years' experience of publishing high-quality, visual travel guides. We produce around 400 full-colour print guide books and maps as well as picture-packed eBooks to meet different travellers' needs. Insight Guides' unique combination of beautiful travel photography and focus on history and culture together create a unique visual reference and planning tool to inspire your next adventure. 'Insight Guides has spawned many imitators but is still the best of its type.' - Wanderlust Magazine
Call Number: Li Ka Shing Library Newspapers, Magazines & Travel Guides DS901.95 .B37 2016
Globalization and Popular Music in South Korea by Michael Fuhr; Hildesheimer Heimat- und Geschichtsverein StaffThis book offers an in-depth study of the globalization of contemporary South Korean idol pop music, or K-Pop, visiting K-Pop and its multiple intersections with political, economic, and cultural formations and transformations. It provides detailed insights into the transformative process in and around the field of Korean pop music since the 1990s, which paved the way for the recent international rise of K-Pop and the Korean Wave. Fuhr examines the conditions and effects of transnational flows, asymmetrical power relations, and the role of the imaginary "other" in K-Pop production and consumption, relating them to the specific aesthetic dimensions and material conditions of K-Pop stars, songs, and videos. Further, the book reveals how K-Pop is deployed for strategies of national identity construction in connection with Korean cultural politics, with transnational music production circuits, and with the transnational mobility of immigrant pop idols. The volume argues that K-Pop is a highly productive cultural arena in which South Korea¿s globalizing and nationalizing forces and imaginations coincide, intermingle, and counteract with each other and in which the tension between both of these poles is played out musically, visually, and discursively. This book examines a vibrant example of contemporary popular music from the non-Anglophone world and provides deeper insight into the structure of popular music and the dynamics of cultural globalization through a combined set of ethnographic, musicological, and cultural analysis. Widening the regional scope of Western-dominated popular music studies and enhancing new areas of ethnomusicology, anthropology, and cultural studies, this book will also be of interest to those studying East Asian popular culture, music globalization, and popular music.
Factiva have many content types includes newspapers, magazines, trade journals, blogs, podcasts, websites, and newswires like Dow Jones and Reuters. Search in English, or another language of your choice. Find listed Singapore and international companies information under Companies/Markets.
Use this database to gain access to analyst reports and forecasts for both economic and political aspects. The reports examine and explain issues shaping the countries, including the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and foreign trade and payments.
Use Business Monitor International (BMI) Research to locate SWOT analysis, risk/reward ratings, macroeconomic forecasts and brief company profiles for countries in Asia and the Middle East. Use the data and forecast feature to compare geographies and indicators to perform analysis and generate charts.
The Doing Business project provides objective measures of
business regulations for local firms in 190 economies and selected cities at the subnational level.
This section provides useful links to the South Korea social media.
Imagine your Korea
Acceptable Use Policy
Electronic resources (e.g., databases, datasets, e-journals, e-books and streaming audio/video) provided by the SMU Libraries are governed by license agreements that restrict use to current students, faculty and staff of SMU and the Singapore Copyright Act.