It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Understanding Singapore: Home
This guide provides useful information and links to resources on Singapore.
The following information have been carefully selected for your reference. Some resources may have bias perspectives. Please approach the SMU Libraries (firstname.lastname@example.org ) should you have any doubts or need clarifications.
This video gives a brief introduction and the top things to do while you are in Singapore.
Understand more about the cultural etiquette in Singapore.
Cultural Dos and Don’ts
Singapore has its own customs, traditions, and rules for manners. Observe the following etiquette for a great experience:
Do dress for the weather. Singapore's tropical climate and warm temperatures range from 24 (rarely) to 35 degrees at most. Slap on sunscreen, put on a hat and a pair of sunglasses, and you're ready to go. An umbrella comes in handy too, just in case it rains.
Don't litter. Avoid tossing your rubbish anywhere and everywhere. There are bins in every nook and cranny of the city for you to throw them in. Littering can get you in trouble and you may be fined from $300 up to $1,000.
Do stand on the correct side. Standing on the left side of the escalator and walking up the steps on the right side. Strolling on walking paths and not the ones with the yellow bicycle signs.
Do mind your manners. Say 'please', 'thank you', 'sorry' and 'excuse me'. When it comes to volume, try not to shout when talking, and for crying out loud, don't spit in public.
Don't even think about tipping. Ask for the bill and you'll find a fine print that says 'GST' (goods and services tax), as well as 'service charge' which is basically synonymous with tipping.
Don't jaywalk on roads. Stick to the traffic lights and only walk when the green man lights up. Crossing the road during a red light is not only risky, but it may cause you a fine from $20 to $1,000.
Basic Conversational Language
Some phrases in English that are handy to know when visiting Singapore.
How are you doing?
Please to meet you
How much is this?
Lessons are broken down into bite-sized chunks and it feels like you’re playing a game. Duolingo is a great introduction, but it can feel like you’re learning a random mix of information, often through repetition. The more you do, the more robust your vocabulary will be.
The only way to become fluent in a new language is to speak it. Tandem is geared toward conversations with native speakers. The idea is that you can help one another learn new languages via text, audio, and video chat. The app vets you and then helps you to find a partner who shares your interests. They teach you and you teach them.
This section informs the common scams and crimes to look out for when visiting Singapore.
Common Tourist Scams Learn how to protect yourself from these common scams and crimes when visiting Singapore.
Crime & Security
Overall Crime and Safety Report
Find out more information on the common crime threats, areas of concerns, transportation-road safety, and even terrorism threat.
This section lists some recommended readings about Singapore.
Singapore by Cristian BonettoLonely Planet: The world's leading travel guide publisher Lonely Planet Pocket Singaporeis your passport to the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Try the local grub at one of the many hawker centres, join in the national sport and go shopping at Orchard Road, or have breakfast with orang-utans at the Singapore Zoo; all with your trusted travel companion. Get to the heart of Singapore and begin your journey now! Inside Lonely Planet's Pocket Singapore: Full-colourmaps and images throughout Highlightsand itineraries help you tailor your trip to your personal needs and interests Insider tips to save time and money and get around like a local, avoiding crowds and trouble spots Essential infoat your fingertips - hours of operation, phone numbers, websites, transit tips, prices Honest reviews for all budgets - eating, sleeping, sight-seeing, going out, shopping, hidden gems that most guidebooks miss Free, convenient pull-out Singapore map (included in print version), plus over 17 colour neighbourhood maps User-friendly layout with helpful icons, and organised by neighbourhood to help you pick the best spots to spend your time Covers Holland Village, Tanglin Village, Orchard Road, Sentosa, Southwest Singapore, Little India, Kampong Glam, Chinatown, CBD, Tanjong Pagar, Marina Bay, the Quays, the Colonial District, and more The Perfect Choice:Lonely Planet's Pocket Singapore, a colorful, easy-to-use, and handy guide that literally fits in your pocket, provides on-the-go assistance for those seeking only the can't-miss experiences to maximize a quick trip experience. Looking for a comprehensive guide that recommends both popular and offbeat experiences, and extensively covers all of Singapore's neighbourhoods? Check outLonely Planet's Singapore guide. Looking for more extensive coverage? Check outLonely Planet's Malaysia, Singapore & Bruneiguide for a comprehensive look at all the region has to offer orLonely Planet'sDiscover Malaysia & Singaporefor a photo-rich guide to the region's most popular attractions. Authors: Written and researched by Lonely Planet and Cristian Bonetto About Lonely Planet:Since 1973, Lonely Planet has become the world's leading travel media company with guidebooks to every destination, an award-winning website, mobile and digital travel products, and a dedicated traveller community. Lonely Planet covers must-see spots but also enables curious travellers to get off beaten paths to understand more of the culture of the places in which they find themselves.
Call Number: Li Ka Shing Library Newspapers, Magazines & Travel Guides DS608.8 .B66 2015
Publication Date: 2015-03-01
Nature's Colony by Timothy P. BarnardEstablished in 1859, the Singapore Botanic Gardens are arguably the most important colonial botanic gardens in the world. Not only have the Gardens been important as a park for Singaporeans and visitors, they have had a significant role as a scientific institution and as a testing ground for tropical plantation agriculture implemented around the world. As Timothy P. Barnard shows in Nature's Colony, underlying each of these uses is a broader story of the Botanic Gardens as an arena where power and the natural world meet and interact. Initially conceived to exploit nature for the benefit of empire, the Gardens were part of a symbolic struggle by administrators, scientists, and gardeners to assert dominance within Southeast Asia's tropical landscape, reflecting shifting understandings of power, science, and nature among local administrators and distant mentors in Britain. Consequently, as an outpost of imperial science, the Gardens were instrumental in the development of plantation crops, such as rubber and oil palm, which went on to shape landscapes across the globe. Since the independence of Singapore, the Gardens have played a role in the "greening" of the country and have been named as Singapore's first World Heritage Site. Setting the Gardens alongside the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, and botanic gardens in India, Ceylon, Mauritius, and the West Indies, Nature's Colony provide the first in-depth look at the history of this influential institution.
Call Number: This is an E-Book.
Publication Date: 2017-02-15
Global City Futures by Natalie OswinGlobal City Futures offers a queer analysis of urban and national development in Singapore, the Southeast Asian city-state commonly cast as a leading "global city." Much discourse on Singapore focuses on its extraordinary socioeconomic development and on the fact that many city and national governors around the world see it as a developmental model. But counternarratives complicate this success story, pointing out rising income inequalities, the lack of a social safety net, an unjust migrant labor regime, significant restrictions on civil liberties, and more. With Global City Futures Natalie Oswin contributes to such critical perspectives by centering recent debates over the place of homosexuality in the city-state. She extends out from these debates to consider the ways in which the race, class, and gender biases that are already well critiqued in the literature on Singapore (and on other cities around the world) are tied in key ways to efforts to make the city-state into not just a heterosexual space that excludes "queer" subjects but a heteronormative one that "queers" many more than LGBT people. Oswin thus argues for the importance of taking the politics of sexuality and intimacy much more seriously within both Singapore studies and the wider field of urban studies.
Factiva have many content types includes newspapers, magazines, trade journals, blogs, podcasts, websites, and newswires like Dow Jones and Reuters. Search in English, or another language of your choice. Find listed Singapore and international companies information under Companies/Markets.
Use this database to gain access to analyst reports and forecasts for both economic and political aspects. The reports examine and explain issues shaping the countries, including the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and foreign trade and payments.
Use Business Monitor International (BMI) Research to locate SWOT analysis, risk/reward ratings, macroeconomic forecasts and brief company profiles for countries in Asia and the Middle East. Use the data and forecast feature to compare geographies and indicators to perform analysis and generate charts.
The Doing Business project provides objective measures of
business regulations for local firms in 190 economies and selected cities at the subnational level.
This section provides useful links to the Singapore social media.
Passion Made Possible
Acceptable Use Policy
Electronic resources (e.g., databases, datasets, e-journals, e-books and streaming audio/video) provided by the SMU Libraries are governed by license agreements that restrict use to current students, faculty and staff of SMU and the Singapore Copyright Act.