It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Understanding Hong Kong: Home
This guide provides useful information and links to resources on Hong Kong.
The following information have been carefully selected for your reference. Some resources may have bias perspectives. Please approach the SMU Libraries (firstname.lastname@example.org ) should you have any doubts or need clarifications.
This video gives a brief introduction and the top things to do while you are in Hong Kong.
Understand more about the cultural etiquette in Hong Kong.
Cultural Dos and Don’ts
Hong Kong's culture is quite similar to those of Chinese-speaking countries such as Taiwan and China. Observe the following etiquette for a great experience:
Address seniority by the family name followed by an honorific title (family relationship or e.g. 'teacher': laoshi /laow-shrr/), or Mr. (xiansheng /sshyen-shnng/) or Ms. (nvshi /nyoo-shrr/).
Small talk and friendly greetings are not common. Do not be offended if the cashier at a supermarket does not strike up a conversation, or if waiters in non-touristic restaurants do not even say “thank you” when you pay your bill.
If you are invited to someone’s house, you should never show up without a gift. Try to wrap gifts in the lucky colors of gold and red, and make sure you hand it over with both hands.
Be careful to never present four gifts – “four” means “death” in Cantonese – and try to give three (similar to the word “life”), eight (sounding like the word “prosperity”) or nine (another word for “eternity”).
Take Heed of Superstitions. The residents of Hong Kong are extremely superstitious, so it’s best to heed the supernatural if you are planning a stay.
Don’t assume that everyone believes that Hong Kong is part of China. Not everyone identifies as “Chinese” or would say that Hong Kong is part of China.
Don’t ask people why they speak “such good English”. Hong Kong was a British colony for more than 150 years! Many people speak English (or at least basic English), and almost all signs are bilingual.
Never give a clock as a hostess gift, as it is a symbol for death.
Greet people with a light handshake, and observe the Hong Kong culture of lowering your eyes.
Avoid politics and expressing your opinion freely. This may be seen as vulgar.
Always avoid loud and obtrusive public behavior to blend into Hong Kong culture.
Basic Conversational Language
Some phrases in Cantonese that are handy to know when visiting Hong Kong.
néih hóu (Hello)
bāai baai (Goodbye)
néih hóu ma (How are you?)
dò jeh (Thank you) - for something given
m̀hgòi (Thank you) - for a service
... hái bīndouh a? (Where is…?)
hóu hòisàm gindóu néih (Please to meet you)
Nīgo géidō chín a? (How much is this?)
Lessons are broken down into bite-sized chunks and it feels like you’re playing a game. Duolingo is a great introduction, but it can feel like you’re learning a random mix of information, often through repetition. The more you do, the more robust your vocabulary will be.
The only way to become fluent in a new language is to speak it. Tandem is geared toward conversations with native speakers. The idea is that you can help one another learn new languages via text, audio, and video chat. The app vets you and then helps you to find a partner who shares your interests. They teach you and you teach them.
This section informs the common scams and crimes to look out for when visiting Hong Kong.
Common Tourist Scams Learn how to protect yourself from these common scams and crimes when visiting Hong Kong.
Crime & Security
Overall Crime and Safety Report
Find out more information on the common crime threats, areas of concerns, transportation-road safety, and even terrorism threat.
This section lists some recommended readings about Hong Kong.
Hong Kong by Piera ChenLonely Planet: The world's leading travel guide publisher Lonely Planet Hong Kongis your passport to the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Cruise Victoria Harbour aboard the Star Ferry, ride on the Peak Tram for amazing views, or explore the Mong Kok markets; all with your trusted travel companion. Get to the heart of Hong Kong and begin your journey now! Inside Lonely Planet's Hong Kong Travel Guide: Full-colormaps and images throughout Highlightsand itineraries help you tailor your trip to your personal needs and interests Insider tips to save time and money and get around like a local, avoiding crowds and trouble spots Essential infoat your fingertips - hours of operation, phone numbers, websites, transit tips, prices Honest reviews for all budgets - eating, sleeping, sight-seeing, going out, shopping, hidden gems that most guidebooks miss Cultural insights give you a richer, more rewarding travel experience - cuisine, history, arts, cinema, architecture, religion Free, convenient pull-outHong Kong map (included in print version), plus over 40 color maps Covers Hong Kong Island, Aberdeen & the South, Kowloon, New Territories, Outlying Islands, Macau and more The Perfect Choice:Lonely Planet Hong Kong, our most comprehensive guide to Hong Kong, is perfect for both exploring top sights and taking roads less traveled. Looking for just the highlights of Hong Kong? Check outPocket Hong Kong, a handy-sized guide focused on the can't-miss sights for a quick trip. Looking for more extensive coverage? Check outLonely Planet's Chinaguide for a comprehensive look at all the countryhas to offer, orDiscover China, a photo-rich guide to the country's most popular attractions. Authors: Written and researched by Lonely Planet, Piera Chen and Emily Matchar. About Lonely Planet:Since 1973, Lonely Planet has become the world's leading travel media company with guidebooks to every destination, an award-winning website, mobile and digital travel products, and a dedicated traveler community. Lonely Planet covers must-see spots but also enables curious travelers to get off beaten paths to understand more of the culture of the places in which they find themselves.
Call Number: Li Ka Shing Library Lifestyle Collection Level 2 DS796.H73 C44 2015
Hong Kong Land for Hong Kong People by Yue Chim Richard WongHong Kong is one of the world's most densely populated cities. Land supply, property values, and housing provision are inextricably linked with the city's economic growth and questions of economic equality. In Hong Kong Land for Hong Kong People, Yue Chim Richard Wong traces the history of Hong Kong's postwar housing policy. He then discusses current housing problems and their solutions, drawing on examples from around the world. Wong argues that housing policy in Hong Kong, with its multiple, often incompatible objectives, and its focus on supply over demand, can no longer satisfy the needs of a diverse and dynamic population. He recommends three simple low-cost policies to promote homeownership and social mobility sell public rental housing units to the sitting tenants; make subsidized homes more affordable; and reform the public housing program along lines adopted in Singapore, where government-built housing may be resold or leased in a free market. This is the second of Richard Wong's collections of articles on society and economy in Hong Kong. The first, Diversity and Occasional Anarchy, published by Hong Kong University Press in 2013, examines the growing contradictions in Hong Kong's economy predicament in historical context.
Factiva have many content types includes newspapers, magazines, trade journals, blogs, podcasts, websites, and newswires like Dow Jones and Reuters. Search in English, or another language of your choice. Find listed Singapore and international companies information under Companies/Markets.
Use this database to gain access to analyst reports and forecasts for both economic and political aspects. The reports examine and explain issues shaping the countries, including the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and foreign trade and payments.
Use Business Monitor International (BMI) Research to locate SWOT analysis, risk/reward ratings, macroeconomic forecasts and brief company profiles for countries in Asia and the Middle East. Use the data and forecast feature to compare geographies and indicators to perform analysis and generate charts.
Electronic resources (e.g., databases, datasets, e-journals, e-books and streaming audio/video) provided by the SMU Libraries are governed by license agreements that restrict use to current students, faculty and staff of SMU and the Singapore Copyright Act.