It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following information have been carefully selected for your reference. Some resources may have bias perspectives. Please approach the SMU Libraries (firstname.lastname@example.org ) should you have any doubts or need clarifications.
This video gives a brief introduction and the top things to do while you are in Germany.
Understand more about the cultural etiquette in Germany.
Cultural Dos and Don’ts
Germany has its own customs, traditions, and rules for manners. Observe the following etiquette for a great experience:
DO bring Cash around
DO Be on Time
DO plan ahead
DO take back your empty bottle to the supermarket or the shop
DON'T stand in the cycle lane
DON'T congratulate someone in advance
Basic Conversational Language
Some phrases in German that are handy to know when visiting Germany.
Thank you very much (Danke Sehr)
You're welcome (Bitteschon)
Good Day (Guten Tag)
Good Morning (Guten Morgen)
Good Evening (Guten Abend)
Good-bye (Auf Wiedersehen)
mytaxi is the leading provider of a ride-hailing solution in Germany.
Are you on the move and would like to know when the next S-Bahn train is leaving, how you can get to the other end of the city the fastest or when you have to pick up your friends or family at the station? Then the DB Navigator is your perfect companion! From city buses to ICE trains, from information to arrival - the DB Navigator has the right service for you in every situation.
Alerts and Travel Advisories
Find out more information on the common crime threats, areas of concerns, transportation-road safety, and even terrorism threat.
This section lists some recommended readings about Germany.
GERMANY 8 by Andrea Schulte-PeeversLonely Planet: The world's leading travel guide publisher Lonely Planet Germany is your passport to the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. See storybook castles arise from the Bavarian forest, raise a stein to an oompah band in a Munich beer garden, and take in the vibrant Berlin arts scene; all with your trusted travel companion. Get to the heart of Germany and begin your journey now! Inside Lonely Planet Germany Travel Guide: Colour maps and images throughout Highlights and itineraries help you tailor your trip to your personal needs and interests Insider tips to save time and money and get around like a local, avoiding crowds and trouble spots Essential info at your fingertips - hours of operation, phone numbers, websites, transit tips, prices Honest reviews for all budgets - eating, sleeping, sight-seeing, going out, shopping, hidden gems that most guidebooks miss Cultural insights give you a richer, more rewarding travel experience - including history, art, literature, cinema, theatre, music, architecture, landscapes, wildlife, cuisine, drink, and more Free, convenient pull-out Berlin map (included in print version), plus over 98 local maps Covers Hamburg, Saxony, Bremen, Cologne, Rhineland, Berlin, Frankfurt, Stuttgart, Black Forest, Bavaria, Munich, Central Germany, and more The Perfect Choice: Lonely Planet Germany, our most comprehensive guide to Germany, is perfect for both exploring top sights and taking roads less travelled. Looking for just the highlights of Germany? Check out Lonely Planet Discover Germany, a photo-rich guide to the country's most popular attractions. Looking for a guide focused on Berlin or Munich? Check out our Lonely Planet Berlin guideor Lonely Planet Munich, Bavaria & the Black Forest guide for a comprehensive look at all these cities have to offer, or Pocket Berlin, a handy-sized guide focused on the can't-miss sights for a quick trip. Authors: Written and researched by Lonely Planet. About Lonely Planet: Since 1973, Lonely Planet has become the world's leading travel media company with guidebooks to every destination, an award-winning website, mobile and digital travel products, and a dedicated traveller community. Lonely Planet covers must-see spots but also enables curious travellers to get off beaten paths to understand more of the culture of the places in which they find themselves.
Call Number: Li Ka Shing Library, Magazines & Travel Guides DD16 .G4315 2016
Publication Date: 2016-03-15
Architecture, Politics, and Identity in Divided Berlin by Emily PughOn August 13, 1961, under the cover of darkness, East German authorities sealed the border between East and West Berlin using a hastily constructed barbed wire fence. Over the next twenty-eight years of the Cold War, the Berlin Wall grew to become an ever-present physical and psychological divider in this capital city and a powerful symbol of Cold War tensions. Similarly, stark polarities arose in nearly every aspect of public and private life, including the built environment.In Architecture, Politics, and Identity in Divided Berlin Emily Pugh provides an original comparative analysis of selected works of architecture and urban planning in both halves of Berlin during the Wall era, revealing the importance of these structures to the formation of political, cultural, and social identities. Pugh uncovers the roles played by organizations such as the Foundation for Prussian Cultural Heritage and the Building Academy in conveying the political narrative of their respective states through constructed spaces. She also provides an overview of earlier notable architectural works, to show the precursors for design aesthetics in Berlin at large, and considers projects in the post-Wall period, to demonstrate the ongoing effects of the Cold War.Overall, Pugh offers a compelling case study of a divided city poised between powerful contending political and ideological forces, and she highlights the effort expended by each side to influence public opinion in Europe and around the World through the manipulation of the built environment.
Call Number: Kwa Geok Choo Law Library, Books Level 4 KK4450 .H48 2011
Publication Date: 2014-03-14
Germany 1945 by Richard Bessel"Fascinating....Bessel does an excellent job of evoking the blasted landscape of a conquered Germany." --The New Yorker "A sober yet powerful account." --New York Times Book Review Authoritative and dramatic, Germany 1945 by distinguished British historian Richard Bessel is groundbreaking history that brilliantly explores the devastation and remarkable rebirth of Germany at the end of World War II. Called "a masterly account by a first rate historian," by Ian Kershaw (Hitler), Germany 1945 is sure to become the definitive work on the subject.
Call Number: Li Ka Shing Library, Books Level 4 DD257.B472009
Factiva have many content types includes newspapers, magazines, trade journals, blogs, podcasts, websites, and newswires like Dow Jones and Reuters. Search in English, or another language of your choice. Find listed Singapore and international companies information under Companies/Markets.
Use this database to gain access to analyst reports and forecasts for both economic and political aspects. The reports examine and explain issues shaping the countries, including the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and foreign trade and payments.
Use Business Monitor International (BMI) Research to locate SWOT analysis, risk/reward ratings, macroeconomic forecasts and brief company profiles for countries in Asia and the Middle East. Use the data and forecast feature to compare geographies and indicators to perform analysis and generate charts.
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
The Doing Business project provides objective measures of
business regulations for local firms in 190 economies and selected cities at the subnational level.
This section provides useful links to Germany's social media.
Acceptable Use Policy
Electronic resources (e.g., databases, datasets, e-journals, e-books and streaming audio/video) provided by the SMU Libraries are governed by license agreements that restrict use to current students, faculty and staff of SMU and the Singapore Copyright Act.